SmithGroup Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work environment that supports professional development
Architectural Designer (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXAugust 12, 2019
This was by far one of the best companies I've worked for from a skills development and culture perspective! My managers were supportive of me and I exponentially increased my architectural skills while there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful work environment.
Accounts Payable Coordinator (Current Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJuly 19, 2018
Wonderful Accounting Team. Flexible Hours. Enjoyable place to work. The most enjoyable part of my job is my work is my own and my own responsibility. I am able to work from home and work commute in the office. I am able to balance both personal and work related responsibilities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No career advancement
Regional BIM Implementer - Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCApril 28, 2018
You are hired at your position and maybe if you stay 15 years or more you will get promoted.

Beside this the hours on the job exceed 60 hours per week.
Pros
Every other Friday between March and November is off
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Experienced Design Firm
Intern Architect - Duties (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 26, 2018
Smith Group has a good variety of project types, including landscaping, educational, and institutional. They have good opportunities for architects in training.
Pros
Great location downtown Chicago
Cons
The working environment could use more positivity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sgjjr
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 15, 2017
great personalities
awesome location in the heart of downtown
fast paced
changing management so its a little different now
learned a lot just not any room for improvement
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great company
Civil/Site Engineer (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILAugust 20, 2017
The company is fast-paced and you can expect to be exposed to many unique, high-profile, and interesting projects. Good culture and wonderful co-workers. However, expect to work long and unpredictable hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Often left unchallenged and unfulfilled
Associate and Senior Project Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 6, 2017
I could and should have been doing so much more there. I had a tough client who would not start there project and I became the fall guy for that despite me calling that client every week urging them to get started. I even got them to double the scope and fee for the project without objection. So I am gone and to my knowledge the project is still not started.
Pros
Nice office, nice colleagues
Cons
Finger pointing, inability to see full value, inability to recognize own faults
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Short but sweet
Designer/Draftsman (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 6, 2017
This was a short term assignment but I learned quite a bit in that short time. I wasn't there for a specific project but helped with several. The people I worked with were quite nice and willing to help as needed. I still use some of the ideas and techniques, as well as information obtained, in my current position. These things will always be part of my repertoire.
Pros
Good learning experience, downtown
Cons
No problems
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SmithGroup
Desktop Administrator (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 15, 2015
Great time working at at Smithgroup. They provided lots of free food with open fully stocked refrigerator. Very laid back environment. We worked collaboratively on all projects.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Company
Associate (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAJune 11, 2014
Terrific co-workers. Much pressure, little if no support from upper management.
Pros
Free bagels on Mondays.
Cons
Rather not give negative reviews.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Accounts Payable
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Detroit, MIApril 6, 2014
Great company, but limited chance for advancement. Very good starting company for individuals who want to get involved with corporate accounting.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Demanding day to day activities
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCFebruary 11, 2014
Stocking 4 floors with miscellaneous supplies(Kitchen, Equipment, Supplies etc.) Managing Mail room/ Copy room
Hard work, Consistency
Great set of co-workers, diverse nationalities/cultures
The day to day operations constantly changing depending on projects/clientele
The interaction with my staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Every other Friday off from March to November
Regional BIM Implementer - Senior Associate (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCMay 13, 2013

Great place to work. Great people especially in DC and Durham Offices.
Pros
Every Friday free breakfast
Cons
too may managers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SmithGroup. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 14 reviews
52
46
32
23
11

Ratings by category

3.8Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

3.2InHerSight Score

3.2Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight