SMOC Employee Reviews

Found 17 reviews matching the search See all 18 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMOC is a large, non-profit organization which cares greatly for what some may consider a challenging population.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAMarch 11, 2018
Manage 25-35 case load.
Work with homeless, dually diagnosed population.
Caring Management Team.
Workplace culture requires a bit tolerance:)
Enjoy the challenge of helping clients.
SMOC offers employment opportunities to previous clients.
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place
Lead Teacher (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAJanuary 25, 2018
Looking to stay within the company just want a different position. Love working with children have been working with children for 8 years now. Infants and toddlers but want the experience of working with preschool.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Day and week
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAOctober 19, 2017
Experience with homeless families
Presently working at SMOC as family Case manager
Transporting families to different location for services
Help them wit jobs, doctor Visits and any daily need
Maintain data on each case.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Well meaning bunch of people need funds.
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAJuly 6, 2017
SMOC is a great concept and has many wonderful people working for it. Most of the supervisors have a great deal of work to do and little funds to do it with. A great place for those who do not need the money but want to help.
Pros
great people to work with
Cons
very low pay and low funds to help with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Data Entry/Receptionist (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAJune 26, 2017
great place. fun . depend who you work with good vibes. good pay for a summer job i recommend it personalty. great break room coozy little home and make you feel like family.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive fun workplace
Maintenance Technician (Former Employee) –  Worcester County, MAApril 12, 2017
I am very ambitious and a quick learner anything you show me how to do all I need to be is shown once and the job will be done in a safe and productive manner. I get along with everyone I have good costumer service skills and get along with my co workers
Pros
Get beeper on holidays
Cons
Lunch is not long enough
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe place to work
Program Advocate (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAMarch 30, 2017
Overall it is a place provides services to disadvantaged people. So if you like to help people it is a place for you. As it is a "dealing with troubled people" job, certainly comes with occasional extreme spikes in stress level. Consider it like a job at the firehouse....when there is no fire nor any other trouble, the guys just sitting around and do maintenance etc. Then the alarm goes off and you have to jump. Well it is not at all describing other positions at the company of course, but at my place of employment. It is a necessary service what not to many people or companies are willing to do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Recovery Specialist (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAMarch 9, 2017
The job was pretty good until we received a new program manager who did not know a thing regarding substance abuse recovery and the clients pretty much realized this and became out of control
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Unruly clients
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
helping the residents.
Program Specialist (Current Employee) –  Hudson, MAMarch 11, 2016
I love working at smoc it show their are here to help people and will like to become a case manager there. and I have a great heart
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job
Assistant House Manager (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MADecember 7, 2015
Collected urine samples, coordinated weekly house meetings among tenants, collected house dues and purchased home needs with them.
Pros
Free rent
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smoc in massachusets
Recovery specialist (Former Employee) –  Hopkinton MassachusettsOctober 26, 2015
lived in the program as a house manager worked as a supervisor for clients provided assistant and crisis intervention situations conducted Klein enrollment and disenrollment maintain monitoring of medications provided transportation for clients when needed maintain accurate records and found her paperwork also data entry and keeping records for clients coming and goings
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and beneficial
Internship (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAMay 22, 2014
I was always busy and running errands. I answered the phone constantly and the people were very friendly. I enjoyed working with my supervisor and coworkers. I enjoyed helping others find jobs and start their new careers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for me. I learned alot.
South Middlesex Opportunity Counsel (Former Employee) –  Framingham MAMay 13, 2014
It was part time. Sometimes hectic for I also managed sober houses so sometimes it would get a little pressurized
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Productive
Internship (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MANovember 1, 2013
A Typical day at work would be filing data in the company's system, making binders and handouts for group meetings, asnwering the phone and taking down messages. I also ran alot of errands for my bosses. It was a very oroductive work place, i was always on my feet and ready to go. I learned alot about individual work, such as i woul sometimes be left alone and i would have to figure out what needs to be done base for the day or the following days to come.
Pros
benifts such as health care
Cons
No dental insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 9NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Social Services
Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MASeptember 20, 2012
Company that provides assistance to jomeless individual adults of Worcester County.
Pros
homeless individual adults can come for triage services
Cons
individuals are homeless
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable job, plenty of work
Technician (Former Employee) –  MAJuly 10, 2012
Steady work, days usually went at good clip. Some changes came about at very slow pace. Great benefits and time off, raises hard to come by. Co-workers good for most part.
Pros
self manage
Cons
accountability
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport

See more SMOC reviews

You may want to try:

Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SMOC. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 18 reviews
57
46
33
21
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.8Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture