Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill Employee Reviews

Found 489 reviews matching the search See all 492 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Server (Former Employee) –  Grove City, OHOctober 18, 2019
Management definitely had their favorites and that's who they would schedule for the money making shifts. The GM was so rude and condescending. There was 1 female manager and the others were very disrespectful to her. However, it wasn't always this way. It didn't get bad until my last year or so there.
Pros
The customers
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad Overall Experience
Server/Hostess (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCOctober 13, 2019
Smokey Bones was a great job when I started, but the rate of pay along with management made me reconsider my position. The serving team were not collaborative with each other. It was a very stressful work environment, and also was not allowing me to pay my bills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Server
Server (Former Employee) –  York, PAOctober 12, 2019
Poor management. They consistently contradict themselves. Servers who are favored cheat on their surveys and management knows this. It’s a giant popularity contest.
Cons
Lots of side work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great serving job
Server (Former Employee) –  Clay, NYOctober 3, 2019
Smokey Bones overall good job and atmosphere. Management is less than adequate, not guest friendly/helpful. Co-workers are up beat and laid back. Great part time job if your a good worker who needs little supervision.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Boardman, OHSeptember 28, 2019
Was a really good company to work for and still has good food. Don't suggest going into management as the CEO is not someone I would care to work for ever again.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work with fun people
Line Cook (Former Employee) –  Fayetteville, NCSeptember 24, 2019
Worked here for over 2 years and enjoyed almost every day just needed more money and more hours overall was a great job experience for a first job would go back for better pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management
Server (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYSeptember 23, 2019
Very poor management Disgusting food with bugs being served plastic etc. Horrible wait times. Very poorly run. Not clean at all Noone regularly cleans
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smokey Bones is a fast paced place yet great for career advancement
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Colonie, NYSeptember 22, 2019
I worked eight plus hours each day on a fast paced level each day and was promoted within a short period of time. General Manager was not a trusting person as he said one thing yet did another.
Pros
received a discount on meals when family was brought into the restaurant
Cons
no trust with the General Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Greeter (Former Employee) –  Robinson Township, PASeptember 22, 2019
Smokey Bones was a good company to work for. I only worked weekends but the management, especially the general manager and one of the service manager were very nice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production is fun we're place is awesome
Line Cook (Current Employee) –  Norfolk, VASeptember 19, 2019
I wish pay was better but I enjoy working there teach and show you how to do plenty of things wish I could work more hours that's the reason why I'm looking for a second job
Pros
Discount on food
Cons
Don't think they have Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Energetic Atmosphere great place to work. The food is delicious
Server (Current Employee) –  8020 Citrus Park Dr. Tampa, Fl. 33625September 16, 2019
I have really enjoyed my time at Smokey Bones. It has allowed me a full time opportunity to work and support two kids on my own and help put them through college.. I have met and served many of the same clientele throughout the years and I have grown as a person and mentor to some of the employees there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dont waste you time
Server (Former Employee) –  Grand Rapids, MISeptember 9, 2019
The management is awful! They have a high turn around rate on the management side. Idk how so many of them have stuck it out so long. The money is there but so are the customers that belittle you and are overly disrespectful. Yet manager will comp whole meal. Also wasn't allowed to bartend due to my weight....
Pros
Good money
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great stuff
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Cheektowaga, NYSeptember 8, 2019
I loved it here. Great food, drinks, and schedule. Was somewhat short-staffed but that worked for me at the time. Ability to move up although I did not get to stay too long due to medical circumstances. I'd absolutely go back.
Pros
Food, schedule, mall.
Cons
management changing often
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly work staff
Bartender/Server (Current Employee) –  Colonie, NYSeptember 7, 2019
Management is a complete joke to say the least. The GM is nice but gets absolutely nothing done. Just enough to not get hisself fired. One in particular staff member has practical power of a manager even though they clearly suck as an employee, work wise and have a poor attitude. She’s controlling and neurotic and pretty sure she sleeps with her bosses which is why she gets what she wants all the time and does manager duties
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job
Dishwasher (Former Employee) –  Rockford, ILSeptember 6, 2019
Smokey Bones management team stinks. I hated working there, moody GM who played with everyone's checks and took half of our money for herself. And the food is trash
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great!
Server (Current Employee) –  Clearwater, FLAugust 30, 2019
My job experience at Smokey Bones was incredible! I loved my coworkers and the customers. The energy was high impact and positive. A great jump into serving.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable part of the job
Server/Bartender (Current Employee) –  Mount Prospect, ILAugust 19, 2019
Everyone that works there is super friendly and helpful. Everyone is big on teamwork and helping each other out. Management is understanding with time off and personal issues.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A learning experience
Server (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLAugust 16, 2019
I have worked in all types of restaurants but Smokey Bones was very unorganized the kitchen staff always had headphones in so therefore it made communicating with them very difficult.
Pros
I made good money
Cons
A difficult work environment especially when the air conditioning has been out since May
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job
Server/Bartender (Former Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILAugust 14, 2019
Great first job
handling a face paced environment
keeping up with the business
working independently
cleaning
management was not up to par. Many violations occurred throughout my experience
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its an pretty good company
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Buford, GAAugust 2, 2019
It was a slow business and had to try and get people to come in and dine with us... had to work hard on getting ticket times down and giving great service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Smokey Bones Bar & Fire Grill. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 492 reviews
5131
4143
3119
251
148

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.9Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.2Personal Development

3.7Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight