SMS International Shore Operations Pay & Benefits reviews

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 26 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great if you like working for customer service
Pier Agent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLNovember 24, 2018
This is a good job to start out with customer service. You have face to face conversation with users and you learn quickly. They don’t provide training on the first day of working there so it gets confusing at first but they will set you up to train. Management is ok, but they have their cliques with the agents that they like. The pay is not enough to pay the bills and they only give you 2-4 days depending on how many ships are sailing that week. There are no benefits unless you are a supervisor or lead. When it comes to advancements, it’s very slim unless someone quits so they have to fill in the spot.
Pros
Free parking
Cons
No benefits, no advancement, not enough hours, minimum wage
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with but limited in what you can do
Ambassador for SMS International Shore Operations (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WASeptember 28, 2018
This was a part-time job and in my experience you can't really turn it into a full-time job. I personally liked the people I worked with both at SMS and the cruise ship workers. Most guests are nice, some are terrible. The job is repetitive and boring at times and as it becomes more automated there will be less and less hours to work. It really depends what you are looking for, if you just want some extra money for your pocket it's fine but I recommend you live close by because if you live far it's not worth your time as you might only work four hours per shift.
Pros
Free coffee and food, good group people to work with
Cons
repetitive work, no real advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast-paced
Pier Agent (Former Employee) –  Port of Miami, FLSeptember 20, 2018
SMS International is very fast-paced job alot of tourist are there you have to be respectful to the elders and have patience. The job is a good job but transportation to get there was difficult and the paying rate was very low due to the hours we were getting especially as minors they paying sucked.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMS Job Review
Pier Agent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLSeptember 20, 2018
Great place to work. Very flexible if you are a student. The most enjoyable part of the job is that you get to meet different people and work as a team.
Pros
Upper management plan employee appreciation parties They are lots of fun and prizes are always given
Cons
No cruising benefits, standing for long periods of time
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a good job
Pier Agent (Current Employee) –  Port of Miami, FLJuly 14, 2018
It's a good job to start if u in highschool or going to school cause it allows u to balance your life correctly . But the down side is no hours or pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would not recommend this company
Pier Agent (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 2, 2017
Work not consistent
Pay is alright
work place is awesome
managers have favoritism and only offer long hours to superior company heads family
lazy
Was this review helpful?Yes 14No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
work is short from 8-1:00
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CADecember 14, 2016
standing for long periods of time , usually customers have good are in a good mood considering they are traveling. however i would suggest working at the pier location because the lax location has some of the most rude and highly disrespectful managers ever.
Pros
work alone
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SMS sucks.
Pier Agent (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 25, 2016
Please look somewhere else to work.

You do not get paid enough. The pay sucks.

This job is extremely high-energy and stressful with the positions you are asked to work in. On top of that, you have anywhere from 5 to 10 supervisors and assistant supervisors and leads yelling at you and giving you different directions. They are extremely rude and awful to work with. The management should be changed!!

There is no organization and a lack of communication among the company.

A lot of standing and being out in the sun. Many unnecessary positions where you do nothing all day except stand in the heat. Occasionally denied breaks.
Pros
None
Cons
Low Salary, Stressful Environment, Disrespectful Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible!
Pier Agent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 24, 2016
Trust me when I tell you this is the worst job! You get paid nothing, the porters have a better salary than you do. The pay is so bad that you get dozens of staff calling out from work "sick" every day!
Onto of the TERRIBLE pay, you need to obey orders from the worst group of supervisors and managers I have ever seen in any work environment in my long life!
One day one young lady supervisor at Carnival, yelled at me for following her instructions after her supervisor told her it was wrong. She blamed me for the mistake, when she clearly told me to do it. Even the guest was backing me up. The head supervisor then yells and cusses at me! OH! That's the other part they will yell at you and order you around like a slave in front of guests who just want to get on their cruise ship.
I am sure that these are not the people Carnival, MSC, Disney and Norwegian Cruise Lines want representing their companies in the port of Miami!
It's awful, awful, awful! I wake up and don't want to go to work, and cry every day because of the way I am treated. No one will listen to you because they don't care.
Pros
flexible
Cons
Terrible work environment, rude supervisor, unfriendly management, LOW pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Whatever You Do, Don't Work Here!
Pier Agent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 22, 2016
There are some positives to this job, they can be very accommodating to your availability. It is an extremely flexible job for students or for those with other jobs.
You also get to meet guests from all over the world, who can be very nice. This teaches you a great deal of how to communicate with people. Finally, the staff at the office are wonderful (HR, Scheduling), they are extremely friendly and helpful.

Everything else from here goes downhill! To begin with, the pay here at SMS is disgraceful for the amount of the work they expect you to put into your task. The company makes MILLIONS of dollars from the contracts, yet can't even afford a $ 0.50 raise.
Notwithstanding, the supervisors at the terminals, especially those for the Carnival terminals are downright rude, demeaning and ungrateful. They will blame you when something goes wrong although they ordered you to conduct such task. They will also discipline you in front of ALL guests. They are humiliating and downright disrespectful. Of course not all supervisors and leads are like this awful. But most are!
There is a lack of communication between all the operations within SMS, from the headquarters, to the management at the pier. They don't seem to communicate very well with the staff. They live in their own bubbles and care very little for their employees, unless you make a mistake, which they are quick to communicate.
Also, when you sign the contract, you are guaranteed a 15 minute paid break, however some supervisors and leads will refuse to give you a break after standing for over 6 hours since very early in
  more... the morning. They have no consideration for their employees wellbeing and should definitely be investigated for this.
Some employees do nothing at all, sit around or walk around all day avoiding to do any work, but have befriended the management and are able to get away. Hard working agents are left to do double the amount of work to not even receive a "thank you."
They expect you to carry and lift signs and poles that can weigh over twenty pounds, and stand in the sun with your heavy uniform for over six hours, regardless of gender or age.

Suggestions:
SMS needs to reshuffle their management within the terminals, especially in Carnival, and definitely not offer immunity to them when they mess up. Many should be fired!
Offer a better method, other than a shoe box, for suggestions to management and operations.
Lighter uniforms!!!! (Polo Shirts)
A raise to the pier agents (not supervisors) is extremely overdue for all the hard work they do on a daily basis (at least round up to 10, or 11).
Train staff to learn how to handle situations with guests and be able to operate at every single position available. Also, train management on how to properly treat their co-workers.
FIRE any employees who do not do their jobs, regardless of how long they have been working there! Many people who should not be working here are working!
SMS is slacking and Carnival should definitely reconsider their contract with them.
Intercruises is not only beginning to pay better, but treat their employees with dignity and respect.

This is what everyone is thinking but is afraid to say because they know if they say it, they will get fired.
  less
Pros
Flexibility in Hours
Cons
Disrespectful Management, Awful Pay, No Benefits, A LOT of Work
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great experience and flexible scheduling
Pier Agent (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLFebruary 9, 2016
This Job, although sometimes stressful, was a great experience. I learned how far initiative can take you and how to properly communicate with someone even if i do not understand the language they speak. This job required focus and professionalism to which I feel I accomplished well. The managers were understanding, professional, and did not accept anything less than the best. The hardest part was dealing with clients who did not have any passport or visa information but the most enjoyable part was to work alongside a great team and to see the customers happy to breeze by us straight into the cruise ship. The only reason I left was because the company switched from private to government contract which significantly lowered my salary.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Pier Terminal Agent (Current Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 31, 2015
This company is great the only dowmfall is it is part time only. They are very flexible with the schedule and all the staff is very friendly and nice
Cons
No health insurance short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report

See more SMS International Shore Operations reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SMS International Shore Operations. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.1
Based on 26 reviews
57
45
35
21
18

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
2.5Compensation/Benefits
2.4Job Security/Advancement
2.6Management
3.0Culture

SMS International Shore Operations Reviews by Location