SMX/Amazon Employee Reviews

Found 211 reviews matching the search See all 217 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Clean and safe place to work.
FC Associate 1 (Current Employee) –  Hebron, KYAugust 14, 2019
I felt like Amazon CVG1 is a clean, safe and relaxing place. Very easy work. However it is not for the right career path for everyone. I've been there just over 5 years and feel like it's time to move on.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Fast pace
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  South San Francisco, CAJuly 24, 2019
It was a temporary job working for Amazon. A lot of lifting, scanning, moving and fast pace job. The purpose of this job is basically we our processing items that our coming in and than set everything up for the drivers to deliver the packages.
Pros
Free linchews
Cons
Mangment
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cool
Sortation Associate (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILApril 19, 2019
the job was ok. it fit my life style at the time allowed me to still part take in my kids life.
Amazon could be better with better leadership who listen to there employees.
Pros
good for school kids
Cons
management suck no communication across the board
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAMarch 26, 2019
I worked seasonal, so i cant really say much about the work place. However, i found the work simple, a lot of walking, but not too demanding.
ps: this part is extra just needed to pass 150 characters.
Pros
nice break rooms/ cafeterias.
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Looking for Temporary to Permanent Employment
Associate Inbound Receive (Former Employee) –  West Columbia, SCMarch 19, 2019
If you are looking for temporary work this is the place for you. The hours are good and the staff is willing to work with your schedule as best they can.
Pros
Great staff, great hours, weekly pay
Cons
Lot of walking, short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazon was career oriented and a great job.
Packaging Associate (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYDecember 18, 2018
Typically we did our stretches and then we loaded boxes onto a skid or put them on the correct lines. The management was nice and provided what was needed.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment
ASSEMBLER (Current Employee) –  Columbia, SCDecember 11, 2018
Although I am a Temp, It would be nice if they would hire the temps- offer them a fulltime position and benefits. As a packer, I loved it, I was one of the ones who was a fast paced packer. I got my number and more.
Pros
Good work
Cons
When you are sick, you are not offered sick time due to being a temp
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work place with good equipments
Inventory checker (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXDecember 10, 2018
I was typically working eight hours a day and five days a week; that is what they called it regular hours. i enjoyed it, but it had to relocate. most likely i would like to recommend it to a friend who lives near it.
Pros
It had overtime hours
Cons
It lays off temporary workers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recieving
Production Associate (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCOctober 24, 2018
A typical work day is pretty busy. Learn how to receive the proper way and how to ship out the shipment. Management was alright the workplace was steady.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ineffectual
Picker (Former Employee) –  Lebanon, TNAugust 23, 2018
Got payed less with no benefits for same work as nonsmx employees. Coworkers were awesome people. Aside from the above mentioned issues, I had a great time working there, but lack of any benefits and the low pay made life difficult.
Pros
Friendly coworkers
Cons
No benefits low pay, break neck pace.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
option to work overtime
Scanner Operator (Former Employee) –  Charleston, SCAugust 21, 2018
Great day, fast pace, great learning experience. Counting thousandth of books daily. Shipping department is the best part of the job. the workplace is great.
Pros
over time
Cons
flooding
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast pace and worked hard
Fulfillment Center Associate (Picker) (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAAugust 11, 2018
They show little sympathy only go there if you are ready to work hard day in and day out. Seasonal employees get treated like they are less than the permanent employees so be ready for that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy during peak season
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  San Bernardino, CAAugust 5, 2018
it gets really busy and exciting at the same time . very tiring but worth it when it came down to pay day . working there in peak season is the time i worked there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
met some nice people
Picker/Packer (Former Employee) –  Murfreesboro, TNJuly 31, 2018
I liked working fast paced and met new friends, but they use you and promise to hire you, then let you go after their busy season...I went through the whole hiring process along with several others and got down to picking shift , hours etc...then got a call they freezed the hiring pool....very disappointed in them.
Pros
new friends
Cons
have to keep looking for job when they let you go
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its really not for everyone
Coach/ Safety Coach (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAJuly 6, 2018
while i have been at amazon for going on 4 years , it really isn't for everyone. Know your personal work ethic before applying . very tedious work. long hours will definitely have your body aching for a massage. making friends is a good way to get through the 10 hour some times 11 hour shifts depending if its prime or peak season. most managers are there as a first time job and are general y very young.
Pros
guarenteed hours
Cons
short breaks, long hours, strict rules, micro-management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temporary only
Warehouse Fulfillment Associate (Former Employee) –  Carlisle, PAJuly 1, 2018
Benefits nonexistent, pay too far below average, management were not always available to resolve issues, Most of the work is completed in a stressful environment.
Pros
It's a job
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a job
Customer Returns PA (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYMay 9, 2018
The benefits are nice and the wages don't completely suck. Management comes and goes. The standards aren't what they once were. I did eventually go back when the job I left this for didn't work out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Warehouse Associate (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAApril 14, 2018
The work environment was nice. People were enjoyable to work with. Things were fast paced and that made time go faster. Hardest part was sometimes on the 5th day, if things were fast, you would feel worn after.
Pros
Enjoyable Environment
Cons
No Job Security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hope you dont have a single off day
Floor Associate (Former Employee) –  Hebron, KYApril 5, 2018
You have to maintain 100% all the time unless there isn't enough product to keep it that. The 10 hour shifts did allow you to still have time to do activities outside of work
Cons
Too easy to get fired
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-Paced and demanding
Picker (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CAMarch 21, 2018
Fast-Paced and demanding job that would not allow me to have time to walk to the front of the warehouse to enjoy my break before continuing to run around searching for products to be shipped out.
Pros
paid weekly
Cons
No time for breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport