SNC-Lavalin Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Management, No Room for Growth
Project Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 3, 2018
I work out of town, I barely see my wife, and we are trying to start a family soon. I have made my concerns known to my manager, who told me that an effort would be made toward getting me home, even if in another division. Months later, I have heard nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
received one promotion while I was at SNC-Lavalin
Payroll Administrator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 1, 2018
I received one promotion while I was at SNC-Lavalin; I really enjoyed working for my department manager and all of the upper management staff; there was a cafeteria in the building which was really a nice convenience.
Pros
excellent management staff
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
East coast environment
Staff Accountant (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WAMarch 6, 2018
Business casual except on Fridays. Long work hours. Compensation is okay, but not much growth or advancement available.Great team chemistry, but all work and not much interaction available. Way too many meetings.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoy the Construction work and environment
Manager, Freight & Logistics (Current Employee) –  Bothell, WAFebruary 21, 2018
Able to feel like I have participated in accomplishing something important for the project and for the company and most important for the client.
The culture is somewhat disconnected between operations and corporate which often creates silos or wall that have to be overcome.
It's all challenging but engaging.
Pros
Measureable achievements
Cons
Philosophy differences between HQ, Corporate and physical job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great staff
Sr. QA (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 7, 2018
Had the opportunity to work with a great company. The management team was very professional and I would love to work for them again. They seem to have plenty of work in various locations
Pros
R/R time off
Cons
Lack of what’s in the future jobs
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good construction work site for a grassroot project
Project Construction Superintendent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 6, 2018
7:00 a.m. to 5:00 p.m.
Required job site reporting
Management for the project was enjoyable to work with
Working in a major operational site
Getting into the parking area on site
Working with fellow workers
Pros
Site meetings with subcontract personnel
Cons
Working inside an operational facility
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is nice to work with SNC Lavalin
Fire Alarm & Control Engineer (Current Employee) –  Arabia, RiyadhNovember 26, 2017
KAPSARC received the first Leadership in Energy and Environmental Design (LEED) for Homes certification outside of North America, and it is the largest residential development project to earn the certification in the world.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company
Document Controller (Former Employee) –  Welch, MNNovember 21, 2017
This was a fast paced job that was extremely email driven and with little or no supervision. Only bothered management if I had questions or needed some help in prioritizing my day.
Pros
Always busy
Cons
Didn't last long enough
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Instrumentation Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Gila Bend, AZOctober 17, 2017
Enjoyed working for this company, they took over the job from Nepco a subsidiary of Enron. Good job, good pay for that time period in the industry. Learned a lot.
Pros
Good management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Business model flawed
Staff Mechanical Designer (Current Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PAOctober 9, 2017
Corporate does not know what capabilities of local offices are. Upper management more concerned w/ bigger projects that can't be supported by local offices. Attempt at work share between offices not embraced by customers
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a good firm to work.
Civil/Structural Engineer (Current Employee) –  Rochester, NYSeptember 25, 2017
Its a good company to work with especially T&D department. Management is supportive to employees as well. However it does not organizes any employees advance training classes.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it used to be better but its not bad
engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 22, 2017
If you are used to the corporate lifestyle it is a great place to work, but if you are used to the more laidback (mom and pop) style of management and the ability to really excel and be seen for your work performance/accomplishments than this is not the place for you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work.
Piping Designer (Current Employee) –  Piping DesignerAugust 14, 2017
Good place to work. Fasted pace at times with tight engineering schedules. Construction usually blames engineering on site failures. Overall it's a good place for career advancement and learning.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Project Engineer (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXAugust 12, 2017
It is a good company to work for. Good work/life balance. Great benefits. Need more projects to stay stable and avoid more layoffs. Management needs to identify the needs of the common employee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible experience
Time Keeper, (Former Employee) –  MarylandAugust 7, 2017
My time with SNC Lavalin was not great. This company treated there employees with no respect and overall each day I worked was only because I needed to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at work
AP Administration Assistant (Current Employee) –  New York, NYJuly 27, 2017
My day always starts off with opening my emails to retrieve expenses worksheets from employees for reimbursements.

A lot of time with online meetings on SKYPE with employees.

Making check deposits and any other administrative duties as needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent company to learn and grow
Project and Contracts Manager (Former Employee) –  OntarioJuly 26, 2017
Great company to join after graduation, learn and grow with them. They have formal process for progression planning and mentoring. Benefits are great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and growing Company with a friendly atmosphere
Team member/ Part Runner (Current Employee) –  Sealy, TXJuly 17, 2017
Its a good environment with great staff. Everyone is very friendly and easy to work with. There's many cultures in one building and it makes it fun to work in.
Pros
Long breaks, close to home
Cons
Unorganized
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great opportunity
Project Engineer II (Refinery and Petrochemicals) (Former Employee) –  Baytown, TXJuly 6, 2017
Good opportunity in the petrochemical industry, great support from management, overall a good project engineering / project management opportunity. I highly recommend this company.
Pros
Paid time worked over 40 hours
Cons
Benefits weak
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced temporary employment
Buyer (Procurement Specialist) (Current Employee) –  Waldorf, MDJune 24, 2017
SNC Lavalin Constructors is a good place to work on a temporary basis. I've learned many things over my two years working for the company and enjoy every minute of it. The Project and Construction Managers are respectful, hard working individuals. Construction sites are very stressful environments, but can be the most enjoyable if you are able to adapt. We work long hours to meet milestones, but to be able to witness the Power Plants rise from the ground is amazing.
Pros
Health, dental and vision coverage
Cons
No paid time off
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SNC-Lavalin. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 926 reviews
5361
4322
3158
253
132

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.8Culture