Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM)

Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization and mission
Director (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 19, 2018
SHRM is a great organization, and the people across the the department and organization are wonderful. There was often a good deal of autonomy, however, many hours were spent in meetings. There is a new CEO (as of Dec 2017) with a new strategic vision, so there is some uncertainty as with any reorganization.
Pros
great people, decent total rewards package, wonderful and appreciative members
Cons
burnout and sometimes stressful environment with shifting priorities
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Former Employee
Employee (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAJune 2, 2018
Some departments need to remember to provide more work-life balance for your staff, not everyone wants to work overtime. Staff are people with lives and families.
Pros
Good pay and benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun learning environment
VP of Career and Development (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAMay 25, 2018
I was the VP of Career and Development. I learned a lot and this experience helped me advance my career. I would highly recommend this wonderful internship.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Inbound and Outbound Member Care Representative (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMarch 14, 2018
Loved working for SHRM Out bound member care representative, small call center with great employess very diverse company that offered great incentives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be great but now it's all about profit and layoffs
Manager (Former Employee) –  AlexandriaMarch 9, 2018
For a not-for-profit SHRM is focused far too much on spending the revenue they generate from holding the same conference every year and from charging way too much for other programs and services. That might be why they have held at least 3 or 4 layoffs in the last couple of years.

Their members would be shocked at how bad their HR practices are.
Pros
Nice people - as long as they don't quit or get laid off
Cons
Leadership - a lot of little fish in a little pond who think they are smarter than they are
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly
Purchasing Manager (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAMarch 6, 2018
It's the employees that make the company. There really is a zeal to assist the members. The conferences in which SHRM sponsors are excellent! The attendance at the conferences, most times exceeds the expectations of the members. We enjoyed working at the conferences even though the work was hard and the days are long.
Pros
Family
Cons
Advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am a member of this society
Member (Former Employee) –  Hamden, CTMarch 1, 2018
I have been a member of the Society for Human Resource Management for four years now. I have never worked for the society, but I have enjoyed being a member and all of the benefits that come with it.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits, risk-adverse culture
VICE PRESIDENT (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 24, 2018
Very good compensation and benefits packages as well as work life balance. Operates like a business rather than a non-profit. Many hard working and dedicated people. The membership is open, warm and passionate about their profession. The members are wonderful.
Pros
work life balance, great benefits
Cons
risk adverse culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New CEO and changing direction
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 22, 2018
Excellent individual contributors who work hard, have passion for HR and enjoy collaboration. Friendly culture with good benefits like healthcare, vacation, parental leave, retirement, etc. There have been lots of changes in upper management and the direction/vision for the organization with the new CEO.
Pros
Employees and benefits
Cons
Uncertain leadership in vision and direction
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible
Individual Contributor (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 20, 2018
Secretive management, bully bosses in multiple departments, long-term outstanding employees are fired or forced to quit, staff in some departments live in fear of being let go over minor or fabricated issues, very political. People can do very little work and move up the ladder if they are liked by their bosses, and others can work hard with little positive feedback or promotion. Management doesn't know how to manage employees, HR is worse than any place I've ever worked. SHRM doesn't walk the talk. What is recommended to members is not practiced. Job security is low. It's all about the money, not the members. Cube farm environment; very little upward mobility.
Pros
Close to Metro station and Starbucks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The most unprofessional workplace
Member Services Representative (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 15, 2018
Poor Management and favoritism
High school like behavior
No opportunities for growth/promotion
Don't appreciate the employees who go above and beyond
Customer Service Dept has high turn over rate and cant keep a full staff.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Laid off
Manager (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 12, 2018
I was laid off without any other options presented to me. Some people got demoted and I would have accepted if they would have offered to me too. I really enjoyed working for SHRM.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
People
Purchasing Manager (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAFebruary 12, 2018
The best quality for SHRM is their employees. This is the reason for coming to work daily. The collaboration with the different department and people is awesome. Working for the common goal (conferences - SHRM sponsored) was fast pace and fun.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Iusb shrm chapter
Vice President (Former Employee) –  South Bend, INJanuary 20, 2018
I was the Vice President of the SHRM Chapter at IUSB and worked very closely with the president and the other staff members of the then-growing club at IUSB.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyed this club
Director of Social Media (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNJanuary 15, 2018
i took part in this club while attending the University of Tennessee at Chattanooga. I met great people and learned alot about networking to help advance my career
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Member
Member (Former Employee) –  On campusJanuary 3, 2018
I liked how I got to experience a lot of different kinds of roles while being a member of this organization. Every week there would be a speaker come in and present a different area of human resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great organization
Student Chapter President (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVNovember 30, 2017
The student Chapter provides many opportunities for students to learn more about the industry from the industry professionals as well as acquire some leadership skills
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun working environment
Bookstore Sales Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VANovember 29, 2017
A typical day at work is fast paced.
I learned a lot about HR and the products that SHRM has.
Management was great understanding easy to get along with.
Work place culture was excellent.
The hardest part of the job was leaving because it was a contractor position.
The most enjoyable part was the people.
Pros
Flexible work hours
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Organization
(Member) SHRM (Current Employee) –  Mount Arlington, NJOctober 27, 2017
I have learned a lot from SHRM. It is a great organization to be a member of. If you are in the HR field it is a great place to learn more and ask questions of.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice place to work
Member Care Representative (Current Employee) –  Alexandria, VAOctober 18, 2017
I was able to attend a conference and many seminars however hard to apply what you have learned because I am in a department that is very routine. I would like to advance to another department
Pros
work life balance is great
Cons
hours / advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM). Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.1
Based on 70 reviews
531
422
311
26
10

Ratings by category

4.2Work/Life Balance
4.0Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.7Culture

Society for Human Resource Management (SHRM) Reviews by Location