Sodexo Employee Reviews

Found 6,501 reviews matching the search See all 11,411 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s got its ups and its downs.
Baker (Current Employee) –  Eau Claire, WISeptember 18, 2018
It’s got its ups and its downs. Need to hire more people for jobs and also pay the people that of been there longer than other people more money . Can’t seem to hire any students, students just don’t wanna work like they used to
Pros
One free meal
Cons
Letting people run all over them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff
Catering Assistance (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MASeptember 18, 2018
Overall good experience at this company, solid atmosphere but it was temporary while being a college student. Schedule was balanced enough to generate an income while in school.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great but sometimes lost in translation
Kitchen Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Surprise, AZSeptember 18, 2018
I worked on the school lunch side of Sodexo and while my first GM was awesome the second not so much. The school lunch industry is tricky because you are bound by restrictions. We did the best with what we had.
Pros
Fun, flexible
Cons
no all GM's are created equal
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good for a day job
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  Plano, TXSeptember 18, 2018
Good Place to work if you want a day job in the food service industry. Lots of moving parts involved so it is was easy for things to get lost in the shuffle.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good job but bad pay
Cook (Current Employee) –  Philadelphia, PASeptember 18, 2018
In the beginning i was very passionate about helping older people. The pay wasn't good but i was happy know that i was doing a good deed but helping take care of the residents when they're family members was not around. The one downside About this job is the hours fluctuate when there are a low number of residents in the building. So when is low our hours get cut drastically.
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Short breaks, low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun cleaning beds
Trash Tech (outside trash) (Current Employee) –  Torrance, CA 90509September 18, 2018
My typical day is starting by checking who has been discharge to clean rooms, then clean restroom for waiting area and hallways then clean rooms and vacuum rooms and pull trash and linen. hardest part of my job is curtain change and OR Terminal cleaning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Time to move on
Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Fairfield, CTSeptember 18, 2018
Worked for sodexo @ fairfield University for 10 yrs and still working nights still fighting for 1st shift hours after 10 yrs. work becomes stressful at times and if in union there isn't any advancement just the shifts and positions assigned to union workers. supervisors and managers come and go and rules and guild lines steady changing
money is good during work months but there are many layoff periods even after working 10+ yrs
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Culture can be challenging; senior guidance questionable
Director, Information Systems (Former Employee) –  Buffalo, NYSeptember 18, 2018
Environment is fast-paced. Deadlines are many times too aggressive resulting in long work weeks. People are great to work with. Global senior management provides questionable guidance and are somewhat disconnected. Culture is somewhat paranoid and HR is extremely risk adverse, due to previous labor lawsuits over time,
Pros
Global program, good people
Cons
Culture, group leadership is questionable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s a slow paced and chill job.
Stocker (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2018
Working here wasn’t furthering my career and I need more hours than what they gave me. They never let me work overtime and fired me when I asked for overtime.
Pros
As many bathroom breaks as you need.
Cons
Short lunch breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working there
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  Memphis, TNSeptember 17, 2018
loved working there good company manager unstablr but employee good enough to get by like the uniforms loved my former director one of the best I ever met
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical work day
Minnesota - Barista (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 17, 2018
It was very busy daily but tend the to slow down as the day progressed. Management was pretty difficult to work with but the people I worked with everyday got me through it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You get to meet alot a frie dly ppl
Head cashier/ shift leader/ barista (Current Employee) –  7600 beechnut houston tx 77074September 17, 2018
Love the company.managers are so nice and help you with everything they can.they also answer all questions and help you w personal issues. They listen to you and do everythi g they can for us to be comfortable.
Pros
10% off you lunch free drinks
Cons
Short bteaks when busy days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it is recommended
STUDENT WORKER (Current Employee) –  Moorhead, MNSeptember 16, 2018
This is a place you'll want to work if you have different jobs or you are a student and want to work as well as studying. Things are very flexible here and easy to handle.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Utility worker
utility worker (Current Employee) –  Gary, INSeptember 16, 2018
It’s very hard work for extremely little pay they talk to us like we’re thier child they have no consideration for your own family life and they except you to do way to much if u tell them they tell you that y can be replaced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Descent job, but not very good pay for the type of work.
Custodian/Maintenance (Former Employee) –  Sullivan, INSeptember 16, 2018
The people and general management were great. But you were just a number to upper management. The pay was low for the type of work xpected of you. The work location (Sullivan Elementary) was a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Being apart of management.
Cook (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 15, 2018
I was apart of management so I played a major role when it came to affecting others lives. I assured my employees that it was always room for growth to better themselves.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The culture is attractive
Lead/Relief Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZSeptember 15, 2018
I would recommend whoever is chooses Sodexo to expect growth which is mostly driven by personnel commitment to work.
I had two impressive managers. I started as a trash technician for more than 6 months before. Then, a position was posted and I just jumped on it. I was selected and I enjoyed best training to make me read in leadership role.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They was a good company it just poor Communication
Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NCSeptember 15, 2018
They was a good company to work for it just the did not Communicate that I felt it was sort chaotic at time it could have did better it the management had been working
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very poor and i dont recommend this company
Housekeeper (Former Employee) –  Alma, MISeptember 15, 2018
the employees are very unfriendly and they treat you much differently then they should. Management is just as bad and possibly even worse.the pay is not competitive at all. 9.25 hourly plus you get treated so poorly. I left this company due to being harassed by management and leads. Just know going in that this company isnt the way it seems.. Good luck
Pros
paycheck.
Cons
short breaks, micromanagement. you have no voice.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very product work place to work at
Food Service Worker (Former Employee) –  New Orleans, LASeptember 14, 2018
It’s very good work place to work for and every one have Excellent team work and everyone was great to work with and I enjoyed the work and helping the customer
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Good health care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sodexo. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 11,414 reviews
53.9K
43.5K
32.5K
2822
1678

See reviews about

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.5Personal Development

3.3Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight