Solenis Employee Reviews

3.0
Overall rating
Based on 25 reviews
Ratings breakdown
52
49
35
24
15
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 20 reviews matching the search See all 25 reviews
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stressful and chaotic place to work
Product Manager (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DEMay 22, 2018
Workload increasing for years but few new hires are not enough to replace those laid off fired or moved on, in all departments, resulting in more work for fewer people. "Raises" don't cover inflation, even with positive performance reviews. Metrics for bonus and changing goalposts mid-year make payout essentially impossible, demotivating employees. Burnout is common, very high sales turnover and lost business, chaotic focus on too many things desperate for a win. Too many internal meetings, leadership team is inexperienced in industrial water and don't have vision beyond copying major competitors. No opportunities for advancement, very discouraging environment and low morale, I do not recommend working here.
Pros
there are still some good people here, fewer each year
Cons
bad healthcare, no raises, unrealistic expectations, unfair metrics
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging, but could be rewarding
Sales Account Manager (Current Employee) –  TXMay 6, 2018
Pros & Cons, but generally a good place.
Long hours if you want to be effective
Management is sometimes distant
Fairly well rewarded for efforts, yet not good recognition of day to day efforts
Pros
Job perks
Cons
not good work/life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Most of my years there were fun and productive. With time for volunteerism
Senior Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEMarch 31, 2018
Solenis is a good company to work for. I was in some of the best groups to work with and for. Many innovative formulations and procedures. While at Solenis (formally Hercules and Ashland) I worked for some of the smartest people in my lifetime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solenis is a very professional company.
Account Manager, Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEJanuary 17, 2018
Solenis is a very professional company. The majority of the sales team have an engineering or chemical background. While they are focused on increasing sales for the company it is through production solutions with Solenis products not just volume selling.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management
Chemical operator 111 (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCNovember 27, 2017
management makes your work harder then it should be, because they don't know what there doing ///////////////,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,,''''''''''''''I have nothing else to say
Pros
the pay
Cons
everthing else
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Stress, Little Reward
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DENovember 20, 2017
I have been in this position for a year and a half now, and can say there is no advancement opportunities in sight. The company's upper management is solely concerned with going public, with little care about its workers as it gets to that goal. Their mismanagement causes many issues with sales and the supply chain, and unfortunately, Customer Service bears the brunt of the backlash. This has caused a high turnover rate in both Customer Service and sales.
Pros
good benefits/pay
Cons
High Stress, Negative culture.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, good salary & benefits
Production Planner (Former Employee) –  Greensboro, NCOctober 26, 2017
Overall good place to work. The salary & benefits were good. Hours were long & lack of lead time & last minute changes made the job stressful. Also, the job was way too manual which contributed to the long hours.
Pros
Salary, benefits
Cons
Long hours, high stress
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Budget Analyst
Client Account Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, DEOctober 22, 2017
My function was to contact vendors & update contracts to prevent from exceeding their IT department's budget.

I was charged to work with minimal supervision but was able to complete the contract assignment before schedule.
Pros
None
Cons
Management & Lack of direction
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
My daily work.
ServiceNow Developer/Admin (Current Employee) –  Wilmington, DESeptember 25, 2017
Office work comprised of helping my supervisor with information passage. All my collaborators were extremely friendly. The activity was never excessively troublesome insofar as you're not hesitant to make inquiries. As a part of developing modules and to meet the requirements we need to interact with employers. Working with the mine destinations and their various rules and regulations was the most troublesome part.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly coworkers and interesting work experiences
Intern (Former Employee) –  Elko, NVAugust 5, 2017
The typical day alternated between office work and field work. Office work consisted of assisting my supervisor with data entry. All my coworkers were extremely friendly. Field work involved taking water samples and selling products to the mine sites. The job was never too difficult as long as you're not afraid to ask questions. The people were definitely the best part of the job. Working with the mine sites and their numerous rules and regulations was the most difficult part.
Pros
Flexible hours, company provided lunch
Cons
Often working in extreme climates
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Employees
Operator (Former Employee) –  Courtland, VAMay 11, 2017
Good employees. Nice work environment. The employees know their job and are willing to help in any way that they can. Great location. Hours of work were flexible
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in Dublin.
N/A (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHMay 2, 2017
Solenis is the Water Division that was formerly a part of Ashland Inc. Not much to say. They did a mass lay- off and jobs were relocated globally. I feel like the last two years were a waste of time. From what I understand the power that be never planned on staying in Dublin from the get go. So much of the talented staff 's time wasted.
Pros
Great for self-starter, laid back environment, great work/life balance.
Cons
Closed Dublin Campus, high insurance deductables.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
blah
accounting (Current Employee) –  Dublin, OHFebruary 22, 2017
Solenis is in the process of outsourcing jobs to India and Poland. Riddled with nothing but errors and issues. They claim this wasn't to save money - which i guess it couldn't have been considering they are so incredibly top heavy in the corporate office now. Look elsewhere!
Pros
nothing
Cons
literally everything. sinking ship
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working for the future
Business Analyst (Former Employee) –  Ringwood, NJFebruary 11, 2017
They are looking to expand sales and continue to organize the business to achieve their goals. I do feel that they will get there but there were several reorganizations and management changes that created time and effort on getting people on board or replacing them as needed. I believe this caused some very talented and valuable people to leave the company but was seeing new leadership and ideas being brought in. A good balance was still being worked on.
Pros
Compensation
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Summer Experience
Technical Sales Account Intern (Former Employee) –  Longview, TXFebruary 10, 2017
I was an intern for Solenis and they had a great program to develop skills and learn under qualified employees. I learned a lot and the account manager was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fine
Sales Engineer (Current Employee) –  Augusta, GAOctober 18, 2016
Fine work. Similar to all technical sales rolls. Enjoyed my time with solenis. Location was the main reason for switching companies
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management very unfair
North America Field Service Technician (Former Employee) –  Russellville, ARAugust 5, 2016
The people and customers you get to meet are great. The management of the company was very unfair and was very one sided. A person can work their way up in the company fast and loose it all in one day.
Pros
Good costumer based people
Cons
Management is very unfair
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Customer Care Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dublin, OHMay 26, 2016
Maintain Customer Accounts
Maintain over 200 order count
Involved in several account cleanup projects for the team
Research customer’s over/short payments
Pros
Working with the customer
Cons
Breaks, Health Care
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solenis LLC Review
Import Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dublin, OHMarch 21, 2016
Mostly Emails
Compliance Issues
Management Very Unfair
Excellent Team Members
Hardest part Auditing and Paying Invoices
Working with co-workers, learning
.
Pros
Knowlege of the Import Industry
Cons
Unfair Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 6Report

See more Solenis reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Solenis. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.6Personal Development

2.6Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight