Solvay Employee Reviews

3.9
Overall rating
Based on 207 reviews
Ratings breakdown
565
494
326
214
18
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Found 87 reviews matching the search See all 206 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful long hours....
Technician (Current Employee) –  Piedmont, SCApril 22, 2018
Company didn't listen to their employees on a regular basis. Favoritism was the main reason I would not suggest this company to a friend. If they ever invest in a better manager they company could thrive.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very productive and great people
Process Technician (Former Employee) –  Green River, WY 82935April 12, 2018
Very great managment and team work! great training and very safety oriented! I would have loved to be a full time employee instead of a temp. Everything about that plant was amazing
Pros
safety
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Multi-Site Human Resources Manager (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCMarch 31, 2018
Solvay is a great place to work. I greatly miss being part of such a collaborative, educated and knowledgeable management team. If offered the opportunity, I would return.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to learn
Level A Chemical Operator (Former Employee) –  University Park, ILMarch 23, 2018
I learn so much here about chemicals, safety reactions state and local laws dealing with chemicals and how they work in the environment I also learn different machinery but most of all I learn how to be great!!!!!
Pros
U 2stch over yourself alot
Cons
Switching from night to days every month
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good working there. Management not good
Operator (Former Employee) –  Winona, MNFebruary 18, 2018
Management not friendly. If they want you there they will keep you. If they want you out they will find a way to get rid you. Love the fellow employees and they feel like family which is good. Management not friendly!!!!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and centered around chemicals
Executive Secretary (Former Employee) –  Cranbury, NJ 08512February 3, 2018
Work place is scientific oriented. I sat with the secretaries who made travle arrangements for the scientists. I arranged a retirment lunch and telephonic interview. I also worked in the accounting department.
Pros
I was surrounded by so many friendly and courteous people
Cons
I worked in an old buildkng
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
Resin mix. (Former Employee) –  Greenville, TXFebruary 1, 2018
Management needs to be more involved in
every day operations. Need some kind of structure within the workplace. Overall the people within the work place, well the employees not Management seem to have more knowledge and understanding of what is going on with everyday operations.
Pros
Breaks
Cons
Lot of hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work with great benefits.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Green River, WYJanuary 27, 2018
Good place to work with great benefits.felt like a place to retire from.great people. Needed to relocate to my hometown to assist my parents and grandparents.
Pros
wages and benefits
Cons
long work days
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A friendly place to work
Technical Service Intern (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CAJanuary 27, 2018
get to work, make coffee, say hi to all the engineers i work under.
I learned almost everything there is for a resite engineer in my position. I completed work that surpassed my manager's expectations.
Pros
Freindly environment, team goes out to a paid lunch minimum of 2 times a year.
Cons
As an intern i didn't receive benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People, fast paced enviroment
Salary Exempt Employee (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CAJanuary 21, 2018
Union makes it very difficult to want to work there.
The fact that it is 24/7 and have to be available at all hours makes it difficult to have a personal life.
Pros
Flexibility with work schedule, great benefits package
Cons
Union Enviroment, constant change on management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solvay has a great focus on people
Maintenance Excellence Leader (Current Employee) –  Princeton, NJJanuary 20, 2018
Solvay is a very people focused company. It is and international company with good benefits. IN my position, I learn continuously and work with excellent people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo
Ing. Planeador y Programador de mantenimiento (Current Employee) –  Nuevo LeónJanuary 17, 2018
Es bueno desde el punto de vista operativo aprendes demasiado de las personas en cuanto tecnica.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company is no longer in the Pharma sector
Professional Sales Representative (Former Employee) –  TennesseeJanuary 17, 2018
This review is moot since the company no longer exists in healthcare and I do not have insight into the other sectors that Solvay is involved in. At the time, they were the best.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok
Sales Specialist (Current Employee) –  Tulsa, OKJanuary 3, 2018
Nice people but for me I have reached my limit and don't see me moving up the chain. I think for me it is time to move on because I am not getting the pay I should but I am getting more work.
Pros
the people and location
Cons
not able to move up
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
competitive
Maintenance Electrician/Instrumentation (Former Employee) –  Chicago Heights, ILDecember 28, 2017
They have a competitive attitude to new people and new management. The established work crews have been there a long time and view new or replacement people as a treat to there jobs. Effeminately some portions of management have created clicks with workers.
Pros
Good Pay
Cons
Particular clicks with high union and certain management
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Surface Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Green River, WYDecember 26, 2017
Solvay is a great company and they take great care of there employees. Work is a pretty laid back environment and management give you a job and they expect you to get it done safe and in a timely manner.
Pros
Pay, Vacation
Cons
Location, Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
CSA Temp Service (Former Employee) –  Green River, WYDecember 15, 2017
worked with good people and job was an experience.
worked under ground on shaft work
shifts where afternoon and graveyards.
People where friendly and good to get along with.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work/Life Balance
Quality Assurance/Receiving (Current Employee) –  Anaheim, CADecember 15, 2017
Solvay is a great company. Work/Life balance is great. Pay is great as long as your willing to work hard to get your raises. Benefits are awesome. I don't want to leave but there is no room for growth at the location I am at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Extruder Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Greenville, SCDecember 6, 2017
A great place to work. Management was very professional and up to date. Long hours and a lack to be put on payroll was my reason to leave. I would however, return to work there if given the opportunity.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
CHEMICAL OPERATOR (Former Employee) –  Piedmont, SCNovember 29, 2017
I really enjoyed working there Job was easy laid back on most days. People was great and very helpful It was truly like a family. Pay and benefits was amazing.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report