Sonic Automotive Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Leading car company
Service Director (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 11, 2018
The best publicly owned automotive groups in the united states to work for and best fixed operations Mangers and President in the car company with leading in creating new roads in the automotive world.
Pros
Great Car Company
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was great at one time.
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 30, 2018
Great company to work for when you have the right management staff in place. I've worked for multiple dealerships withing the organization. When I started at my first dealership, the environment and culture was awesome. Through the years, corporate had let great people go and everything changed, which is why I left.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company to work for
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  VirginiaMarch 26, 2018
GM excellent to work for, management is outstanding, good policies and procedures, fallow compliance in every deal. Busy but fun to work environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Accounting Clerk (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 26, 2018
Great work place
management is great
great people
great service
i enjoy coming to work
very helpful staff
i have learned a lot of new skills here
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lack of drive nd moviation
Parts Clerk (Current Employee) –  Lone star fordMarch 12, 2018
No one has the drive to sale or work
Phones never get answered
Having ugly additue n wanting to fight
Just unacceptable
Every one here has a negative comment not one happy soul
Pros
Paid lunches on saturday wifi a/c n heated shop
Cons
No lunch break on saturdays, a/c doesn't work, pay is not worth it management sucks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMarch 8, 2018
Very good company to work, great benefits, training. Very good company to work for. Company based out of North Carolina and has over 100 locations. Management team are strong and people oriented.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Corporate Gig
Used Car Manager/Buyer (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaFebruary 19, 2018
Great place to learn and cut your teeth, Especially as a manager. Pay plan was based on 10-12 different matrix and was impossible to determine what your pay would be month to month as a manager. 10% of your pay was based on retention. So you keep your pay you ended up keeping people that you should have managed out. Good idea on paper but not so much in practice
Pros
Great Learning Experience q
Cons
Absolutely Zero Work Life Balance. You are a slave to the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging and fast paced
Staff Accountant (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJanuary 20, 2018
sonic provided a very challenging and educating place to work. i like that they provide a place that an employee an continue to grow and learn in their field.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company
Service Advisor (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALDecember 24, 2017
Manager at this location refused to pay certain spiffs. Sonic is g9od company just had a selfish manager at this location. Company itself is employee friendly
Pros
People
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun enviroment but no security
Regional Marketing Director TN/OH/DC (Former Employee) –  Nashville, TNDecember 21, 2017
Great job when thing were going good but the at the first sign of a car not being sold the whole environment was toxic. Corporate officers speak of changing the way cars are sold but are not taking the necessary steps to do so.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Corporate still ran by old school car dealer principles
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive place to work
Finance manager (Current Employee) –  Stone Mountain, GANovember 7, 2017
fun place to work and shop. good work environment , great leaders, very understanding, family oriented listen to family issues and give emergency time off when needed dealership was recently sold and we are to find new employment.
productive place, enjoy working there for 10 years. i world continue working for sonic but need to stay in the Atlanta area because of family
Pros
free lunches on saturdays
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Porter (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 6, 2017
fun easy to do and they understand if you are a college student, and will work your schedule. get to drive nice cars and the day is mostly relaxed, good for a side gig
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somic Automotove
Fast Track Program to become a General Manager (Former Employee) –  Pineville, NCNovember 6, 2017
They are losing money, and will lay off employees first. TheCEO makes $26.2 million a year and will not take a pay cut to save the workers. I do not recommend anyone to work there
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pathetic Leadership in dealerships
Technician (Former Employee) –  Columbus, OHNovember 1, 2017
I worked at one of the dealerships in an auto mall owned by Sonic Automotive. Nearly all i heard about the other stores was that it was varying degrees of a nightmare to work there and i can say firsthand that the store i worked at had worse management than the management at the Taco Bell i worked at.
Pros
Excellent Benefits
Cons
Poor management, poor work environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Constantly on the go
Customer Relations Manager (Former Employee) –  Walnut Creek, CAOctober 19, 2017
Days can be easy going or very stressful. Your workload is determined by how your previous day ended. Commission is the key. If you do your job, well enough, you will be compensated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced enviroment
Quality Control Specialist (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCSeptember 27, 2017
Learned to keep up and pay closer attention to detail. Took quality care of the appearance of the parts and automobile. Exceeded customers satisfaction on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would work with them but needing less hours
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 20, 2017
I worked with this company for many years. It was my home away from home. Had many years invested until they appointed a general manager that did not have our store as his best interest. Out of frustration I left the company and went to work somewhere else that ended up taking way too much of a toll on me. 65 miles away from home, each way, and a minimum of an hour on the road each way to travel.
Pros
Stable company
Cons
Too many hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
looking for better job security and advancement.
Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALSeptember 11, 2017
enjoy working at sonic. do not like the job insecurity of big corporation.Like the people I work with . I like working in finance because of the responsibility of the job and seeing the deal until it gets funded. Like working with all the lenders to maximize every deal.
Pros
good training
Cons
no job security
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No comment
Finance Manager (Current Employee) –  Los Angeles, CASeptember 5, 2017
If there is good General Manager you can work as much as you handle the job, but with bad General Manager is almost impossible to work, I have worked with good GM.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall great experience
Manager (Former Employee) –  Charlotte, NCAugust 28, 2017
I learned a lot and had great advancement while working at Sonic. The people I worked with were tops. Unfortunately, there was a pretty major cut back, so I and a host of others were cut.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sonic Automotive. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 107 reviews
536
423
325
28
115

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.3

2.2Personal Development

2.8Career Opportunities

2.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight