Sonic Drive-In Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working here.
Carhop/Cook (Former Employee) –  Houma, LAJanuary 16, 2018
I worked at the Sonic in Houma LA, and I loved every minute of it. the customers are great and the crew worked hard together. Working at this sonic was a great experience.
Pros
One free lunch/paid vacation
Cons
It gets very hot in the summer time and very cold in the winter.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good experience starter
Shift Manager (full-time) (Former Employee) –  Tacoma, WAJanuary 15, 2018
I found sonic to be a great temporary job coming out of high school. Gained a lot of knowledge on the company overall. Definitely a fast paced job. Learned a lot which led to promotions. Flexible with time off to an extent.
Pros
Discounted meals
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Pay isnt worth the fast paced rush hours
Cook (Former Employee) –  Fairhope, ALJanuary 15, 2018
Not a job I would ever recommend unless it was last resort. The kitchen was fairly easy to learn and catch on. Work hours were always out of wack. If someone didn't come in to work, it affected all coworkers.
Pros
Snack on food throughout the day
Cons
Low pay, very stressful rush hour
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job
Sonic Carhop (Former Employee) –  Poplar Bluff, MOJanuary 15, 2018
I loved working for sonic they have a great team they encourage everyone I liked their fast pace they were like family I enjoyed the customers they always tipped well.
Pros
None
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast- pace work environment, enjoyable
Car Hop/Drive Thru (Former Employee) –  Victoria, TXJanuary 15, 2018
Working at Sonic was up beat, working together as a team helped the system extremely smooth. Management are understanding and work well with scheduling. The hardest part was trying to get the food out at decent time and having the correct items in the bag. The most enjoyable part of the job were making the customers happy and working as a team getting along and having management be happy with our work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
summary
crew car hop (Former Employee) –  Winter Haven, FLJanuary 15, 2018
I loved working there. Great people . the managers were amazing . it got stressful at times. it was very fast passed but was a good job over all. loved it there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Environment
Grill Cook (Former Employee) –  Columbia, KYJanuary 15, 2018
I think this was a very good place to work and a great environment. I enjoyed the co-workers as well as the management. If there is any option for you getting a job there i think its a great place to start.
Pros
Great Environment, Great Management
Cons
Minimum Wage Start
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High Volume
Carhop/Crew Leader (Current Employee) –  Del Valle, TXJanuary 15, 2018
Very High Pace environment. Customer service is great. Employees are great and friendly. It very busy and you will work hard on daily. Its a nice place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Carhop/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mesa, AZJanuary 15, 2018
Depending on the location your working at some are very professional and some are just not at all. I’ve had the experience to work at 2 locations and both were good experiences the co- workers were great and some of the management were fine and some not so fine some ignore you and no help at all and then some are great, understandable , professional and spirit was great. I enjoyed working there just at one point I felt it wasn’t 100% worth the stress with less hours and too much work discounts were great, but no benefits nor time off ya a great setting at times more of a job in the summer & while your in school mostly
Pros
Food, discounts
Cons
Short hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Somic
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Baton Rouge, LAJanuary 15, 2018
A typical day at Sonic was okay. I learned how to make the drinks and ice cream, and take orders. Management was quite good for me because she understood I was in school and to her education was more important. The hardest part was taking orders at times because some people would have coupons. The most enjoyable part abt it was making and mixing drinks together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast-paced with great co-workers
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Saint Joseph, MOJanuary 15, 2018
I enjoyed my time at Sonic Drive In. I had a wonderful manager and co-workers that were willing to help me with anything I needed! I enjoyed the environment as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful but good pay for carhops
Carhop, server (Former Employee) –  Monroe, MIJanuary 15, 2018
The job can be fun especially and laid back as a carhop, but during happy hour can become stressful when the lot is full and you're the only carhop on the shift. Typically it is one carhop per shift. This also means you get more tips which makes it worth it.
Pros
Fun
Cons
Fast-paced
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sonic
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Panama City, FL 32401January 15, 2018
A great place to work, learn and grow with a company... You will meet so many wonderful people of all ages and you will grow with this company if you choose too..
Pros
Can Grow
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's very stressful environment at times and managers should be looked over.
Drive Thru (Former Employee) –  Hagerstown, MDJanuary 15, 2018
It was a nice place to work at first. Our general manager I think should definitely be looked over. It was an unfair place to work bad hours and very stressful over all work and short staff.
Pros
None
Cons
Bad hours, poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It Payed The Bills
Cook (Former Employee) –  Lowell, ARJanuary 15, 2018
A typical day at work was cooking for the guests and cleaning the kitchen.
I learned more aspects of the Food Service Industry.
The management was good but I think it could get better.
The workplace culture was dynamic.
The hardest part of the job was serving the guest.
The most enjoyable part of the job was serving the guests.
Pros
paycheck
Cons
grease
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Eh. It was an okay first job.
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Hamilton, OHJanuary 15, 2018
Honestly, I didn't like it. I used to love my job. However, management began stealing money from my drawer. Nobody believed me until I had them check the cameras. There were too many shady characters working there and I did not appreciate how I was treated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sonic is a very poor rated fast food business
Car Hopper (Former Employee) –  Jeffersonville, INJanuary 15, 2018
Sonic employers employees district manager general manager were all too young and very in educated to know how to run a business to many complaints from customers about management at Sonic Drive-IN
Pros
Free food
Cons
very low pay and hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced environment but fun place to work
Cook (Former Employee) –  Durant, OKJanuary 15, 2018
Fast paced environment as any fast food restaurant is but it is a bit easier to work than most. Very laid back management who is also very understanding.
Pros
Discounted lunch
Cons
Understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its ok
Carhop/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Clovis, NMJanuary 14, 2018
The people who work there are what make it stressful. pay could be better. People should be more professional and less into others business. more employees needed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly
Crew Member (Former Employee) –  Stockbridge, GAJanuary 14, 2018
Everyday at work was a very great day for me. I spent time helping other coworkers and also training. I would also have a great relationship with all of the customers. I also multi tasked a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sonic Drive-In. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 8,720 reviews
5 stars
4 stars
3 stars
2 stars
1 star

Ratings by category

Work/Life Balance
3.4
Compensation/Benefits
2.7
Job Security/Advancement
3.0
Management
3.3
Culture
3.4