Sonic Drive-In Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved Working For Sonic
Carhop (Former Employee) –  Cordell, OKApril 19, 2018
I enjoyed sonic very much and if there was one near by I would try to work there again. The customers, co-workers and everyone else was fantastic to be around.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
easy workplace
Carhop (Former Employee) –  Wichita Falls, TXApril 19, 2018
Very easy job to work at. They teach you everything you need to know. Very fast pace work place but can be a good thing because it makes the time go by way faster. If you like fun and easy work this would be the perfect start.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to work
Carhop/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Rome, GAApril 19, 2018
It is a good place to work, the co workers are typically nice. The hardest part of the job was lifting some of the heavier things and also keeping up with orders when it got super busy at times.
Pros
50 percent off food while on cloock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall fun
Chef (Former Employee) –  Eufaula, ALApril 19, 2018
The pay was not good enough but I felt like as a whole I was an important aspect to the business as we were doing numbers over 2,000 for lunch alone. A+++
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Waitress (Former Employee) –  Denver, COApril 19, 2018
There is nothing good about this job there was never an oppertunity to do anything different and they did not explain anything well. I did not like anything about how people treated me in the enviorement.
Pros
n/a
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work and easy money
Team Member (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAApril 19, 2018
Fast food made easy. I loved working here but the pay wasn't enough . I really enjoyed working with coworkers and the returning customers. the hardest part about working there was making onion rings.
Pros
reduce lunch
Cons
lack of promotion
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's fast food, what would you expect?
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Gilbert, AZApril 19, 2018
This is a temporary, get back on your feet kinda job, not a career. Or you're 16 and this is your first job. They don't prioritize employees because they are expendable.
Pros
the expectations are low so you don't have to do much
Cons
no benefits, no breaks, no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Ice cream specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 18, 2018
Good place to work I wish I still had my job but I had to relocate and that messed up my hours so they let me go. I would love to work there still though
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an amazing experience
Tn - GENERAL MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Loudon, TNApril 18, 2018
Great experience overall fun environment fast paced good training the franshise was ok but not the best most are owned by corporate so I'm sure a whole different environment for the better
Pros
Health insurance
Cons
Would rather not
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive!
Car Hop/Drive Thru (Former Employee) –  Hollister, CAApril 18, 2018
I love sonic! I'm actually wanting to work at a sonic in California! It was a good job and good pay. It was fast environment! Worked as a team! I was very happy working at sonic.
Pros
Discounts, tips, and always busy
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and Outgoing
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Eustace, TXApril 18, 2018
Sonic is a very friendly and welcoming place. Anyone is welcomed and greeted with a big smile. I recommend this place to any high school/college student who wants an easy way to make money
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced, honest hard work
Manager (Current Employee) –  Evans, GAApril 18, 2018
usually slow mornings, learned time management, employee training, customer service. Management is very nice and very professional. hardest part is running store with short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Never appreciated
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Conyers, GAApril 18, 2018
You will be over worked, under paid and not given the training needed to complete the job by changing standards. Working with young kids who do not know how to do math in their head causes shortages. Also they do not come to work on time sometimes for days.
Pros
event days were fun
Cons
every other day was hard to hard
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No work ethics
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Owasso, OKApril 18, 2018
The location I worked and the management i was being trained by was very inconsistent with values and etc. Customer service was not mandatory in reality
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's okay, but the work environment is horrible and biased.
Customer Service (Current Employee) –  Clifton, COApril 18, 2018
When first working there It was stressful due to the co-workers picking on me and management was terrible. It eventually got better and I did pick up a few little promotions but they were taken away from me. I felt unappreciated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sonic wasn't the best place to work for.
Cashier/Fountain (Former Employee) –  Decatur, GAApril 18, 2018
Fast food joint where you pull up and order and they bring out your food to you. Mainly burgers, but famous for shakes and slushies. My experience here has been good. Good customer service, prompt, and correct order. I love the slushies and occasionally add the energy shot.Very awful experience was hoping i could advance but it was very limited.
Pros
Good Food
Cons
Bad customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent at times
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Edmond, OKApril 18, 2018
Sonic drive-in became a stressful and very hassle filled environment recently, with more trainees to train while 5 to 10+ customers ordering to complain.
Pros
Free 8$ meal
Cons
31 minute unpaid break, poor managment, unhelpful crew.. Etc. Etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast food gig
CREW MEMBER (Part-Time) (Former Employee) –  McKinney, TXApril 18, 2018
very fist job. typical fast food job. the pay was terrible and there was no room to advance. Some of the management was terrible and would openly play favorites with certain employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced
line cook (Former Employee) –  Laramie, WYApril 17, 2018
very fast paced environment that has recently undergone 3 changes in management in the last 3 years. the staff was very friendly despite the upper management at the time i was there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced and chaotic
Carhop (Former Employee) –  Daingerfield, TXApril 17, 2018
At the sonic drive in that I worked at things tended to be unorganized and therefore very hectic. the work schedule would come out late and people caused a lot of drama. the job itself was very fun most of the time, but could be challenging as well.
Pros
Half price food, free drinks, good tips
Cons
sometimes no break, bad management, low morale
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sonic Drive-In. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 9,617 reviews
52.7K
42.7K
32.7K
2892
1727

Ratings by category

3.4Work/Life Balance
2.7Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.3

1.9Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

1.9Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight