SOSi Employee Reviews

Found 86 reviews matching the search See all 136 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Government Contractor that only seeks profits
Image Scientist (Current Employee) –  District of ColumbiaAugust 1, 2019
Dismal upper management, bottom quality benefits, and lackluster employee recognition is all that you can expect from working at SOSi. They purposefully lie to employees about the reasons why benefits are so low.
Pros
Tuition Reimbursement
Cons
Poor 401k and health benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sosi not a good place to work
Instrument Technician.A very hard worker who was n (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJuly 10, 2019
Poor management on all levels. Owner very seldom visited the work place , he left very unprofessional people in charge of the business , management was very poor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Do not waste your time / your life in SOSi !!!!!
Interpreter and Translator (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 6, 2019
I’ve had never seen such horrible / ZERO-professional people, acting as if they were “God” and treating everyone as if we were ignorants....
for the last 15+ yrs I’ve formaly been an experienced “Court interpreter and Translator” internationally and once I searched for the certification in this state (CA) they treated me as if I’d never passed their tests!
in order for to demanded me the PAYMENT $$$ and to take their test again !!!!

SOSi = “Con-artists”
Shame on you SOSi’s people
Pros
Make you believe on a stable job
Cons
All is unreal
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great communication with my language coordinators
Certified Albanian Interpreter Contractor (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAMarch 2, 2019
I have been working with SOSi as an interpreter contractor for over 3 years now. I have very good communications with my language coordinators and they have been very helpful.
Pros
Good pay per work out of town.
Cons
I am a contractor so I can not expect any benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relax due to intermittent schedule.
US Immigration Court Interpreter (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAFebruary 25, 2019
Contract no advancement to permanent.
Intermittent, no opportunity to become full-time.
Nice job for retired people, more opportunities to see most of the
regional assignments.
Cons
non W2 wages, only on 1099, income won't contribute to social security benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
focus oriented job
Portuguese legal interpreter (freelance) (Current Employee) –  all over the countryJanuary 23, 2019
This job requires extreme ability to concentrate and it can be very stressful at times.
It is a very demanding job, Interpreter has to keep always calm an in control .
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work for
Freelance Spanish Interpreter (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJanuary 17, 2019
The atmosphere at work is nice. this job gives you a certain flexibility. The pay is decent. If you are experience and available for traveling the company travels you out of state.
Pros
traveling, flexibility
Cons
no benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work, but not stable
Analytical Linguist contractor (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJanuary 9, 2019
The job is great but, wouldn't make it a stable job. Contract job so, if they dont need you, you get sent home and not paid. not compensated for parking or for anything.
Pros
learn a lot
Cons
not enough pay for the work, not stable
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Proposal Manager (Former Employee) –  Fairfax, VAJanuary 8, 2019
SOSi is a fantastic place to work. The commute was easy as the facility is located in a rural part of Va. The employees are all friendly and mission focused.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Lots of Meetings
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Certified Albanian Interpreter Contractor (Current Employee) –  Reston, VANovember 21, 2018
I interpret for Immigration courts when they need me. I am assigned to a case, travel to the city where the case is, get the jib done and fly back home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run for the hills!
Finance Manager (Former Employee) –  Reston VANovember 14, 2018
If there was a company that could be nominated for "AVOID THIS PLACE LIKE CANCER", SOSi wins.

Ive never seen more horrible and incompetent managers, seen job applicants treated like garbage, and the incredible amount of nepotism. Most of the directors hired alll worked together at a company that they caused to go bankrupt several years ago. RUN AWAY! DONT WORK HERE!
Pros
A paycheck
Cons
Managers. Atmosphere
Was this review helpful?Yes 24NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
monthly contract
Russian Translator for Homeland Security Projects (Former Employee) –  New York, NYOctober 6, 2018
It was all just contract. Their people were very nice, and so was the owner. I enjoyed working for them for that contract. They were very helpful with everything to me. I would not hesitate to recommend them for any contractor.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very interested Job
Media Adviser (Former Employee) –  Reston, VASeptember 30, 2018
Evaluated and analyzed social segments for US psychological operations (PSYOP) in Baghdad, Observed and analyzes public reactions towered media products through focus groups, Reviewed media products in relation of social and cultural entities before airing in TV channels and Performed miscellaneous duties as assigned.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 8Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contract to Hire
Cyber Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sierra Vista, AZSeptember 21, 2018
Working in the RCC-C was a nightmare. You would have about 4 "supervisors" babysitting you throughout your work day. When someone isn't trained on something they will just terminate them without remorse. I recommend anyone looking to apply consider a job with more stability.
Pros
Good Hours, DOD Contract, Great start for IT
Cons
Micro-management, Poor training, terrible attitudes.
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
horrible company
Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXAugust 21, 2018
Low balled me on my salary and management is HORRIBLE. I never received my first paycheck and they refused to do anything about it.Don't waste your time with these crooks.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Out of Touch
Manager (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJuly 9, 2018
Leadership is available. The culture can be fun and can be toxic based on what clique you fall into. Decent benefits. Employees tend to fear leadership based on reactions.
Was this review helpful?Yes 23No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun, Fulfilling and a Definite Blessing.
Marketing Representative (Former Employee) –  Keller, TXJune 27, 2018
Awesome Group with the same focus and desired outcome of their mission statement,which is helping others in need.
A Blessed Experience. Gratifying. We need more compassionate individuals as these placing others before themselves.
Pros
Fellowshiping
Cons
long days
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 7Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR had lots of engagements to attend
Senior Buyer/Senior Subcontract Administrator (Former Employee) –  Reston, VAJune 8, 2018
Going through a big change right now, and company does need assistance, questionable Mid-level Management. Mostly, a very stressful company to work for.
Pros
OK Benefits
Cons
Stressful working conditions
Was this review helpful?Yes 16NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good people, poor pay
Analyst (Current Employee) –  Reston, VAJune 4, 2018
Generally an enjoyable experience, but they pay less for the same job title and skill set than competitors in the area. If you need the job it's fine, but everyone is aware of the low pay and just bides their time until an opportunity at a neighboring company doing the same thing opens up.
Pros
nice people
Cons
below market pay, terrible health plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 17NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not recommended
Immigration Court Contract interpreter (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAMay 30, 2018
Poor communication, they would take a long time to answer emails.
Many interpreters would complain about hours, and I have to be there all day to be able to do at least 3 hours of work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 34No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SOSi. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 136 reviews
543
442
321
210
120

Ratings by category

3.2Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.1Management
3.2Culture

Women's ratings

3.0Fairygodboss Score

50%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss