South Dakota State University Employee Reviews

4.0
Overall rating
Based on 80 reviews
Ratings breakdown
531
432
39
25
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 80 reviews
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gta at sdsu
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDJune 21, 2018
Grad students did not get any respect. Barely an help on projects from advisor. Department always looking to cut expenses so Grad student stipends suffer.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Faculty and Study Environment
Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDJune 5, 2018
Overall good experience learning at South Dakota State University.
Study environment is excellent in calm and wonderful city Brookings.
As its only a small city but excellent university where we get exposure to career and professional development.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work Place
Graduate Research Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDMay 14, 2018
Cannot Reveal. I am obligated to enter some information. I an not suposed to do so. But I will definitely recommned one to join. Its really good to learn many things as a career start up.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great colleagues and work environment
Graduate Teaching Assistant (GTA) (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDApril 4, 2018
Nice place to work while studying. Living and working in a small town makes the working environment even more friendly with less barriers to communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
High expectations, no rewards
Instructor (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDMarch 28, 2018
Pro:
Relaxed daily pace.
Good classroom resources for instructors.

Con:
No guidance for advancement.
Poor/unreliable assessment strategies.
Uninformed expectations.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
FLEXIBLE workplace, nice people
Teaching / Research Asst (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDMarch 23, 2018
My tuiton is mostly covered, so how can i complain. My instructors are very patient and nice. I have an office all to myself mostly. I find school fun here.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
no summer jobs or pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Indentured Servitude
Graduate Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDMarch 20, 2018
I was a graduate assistant at SDSU. Graduate assistants are treated like scum. They're paid poorly and are bossed around by the faculty and staff. I'd stay away.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place of work
Resident Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDMarch 11, 2018
Very good place to work. They really care about their employees. I worked here in two different positions and both positions were excellent I learned a lot of skills from both jobs.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good to work
Graduate Research Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDMarch 9, 2018
The job was very low stress. If you just get your work done you are good to go. The only downsides from the job are those that would be associated with an university position (i.e. lots of meetings, trainings, etc.)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low pay a lot of work studys at Brookings campus.
Financial Aid Counselor (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDMarch 4, 2018
If you are not a former work study or a professors wife steer clear. The office is friendly but they love people that were work studys. They have people that are not qualified or are being underpaid for duties beyond the normal scope.
Pros
Family frendly office
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place
Research Assistant (RA) (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDFebruary 9, 2018
Love the culture and the environment. I like the fact that people are very welcoming and are ready to assist me with you. The snow during the winter is sometime I like too but not for 4 months.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gta
Graduate Teaching Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDJanuary 27, 2018
The job was very low stress. If you just get your work done you are good to go. The only downsides from the job are those that would be associated with an university position (i.e. lots of meetings, trainings, etc.)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good
Graduate Research Assistant (GRA) (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDJanuary 18, 2018
I worked as a graduate research assistant in Agricultural and Biosystems Engineering department.
The department people are very nice, helpful, supportive and encouraging. Staffs are hardworking and department head is good leader and he is a backbone of the department
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive place to work
Teaching Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SD 57007January 16, 2018
Excellent job to have while being a college student. I was able to do homework during my free time at the job. The job consisted on doing rounds three times a shift and occasional water quality tests.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Research Grant University
Graduate Research Assistant (GRA) (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDJanuary 14, 2018
It is an excellent research grant university. It is just growing so fast. Education quality is excellent. Excellent exercise gym facilities. Have adequate research facilities
Pros
Good education
Cons
Cold weather
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace to gain experience
Grant Proposal Specialist (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDJanuary 3, 2018
SDSU is a good place to gain experience. The university offers competitive salary and benefits, and admin and HR are very helpful and easy to work with.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Location is undesirable
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I am working with a grad student
Lab Technician (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDDecember 27, 2017
I like working with a grad student.I can work at my own pace and learn things I wouldn't have learned inside of a classroom. I will be working during the school year.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Field Technician
Field Technician (Former Employee) –  Brookings, SDDecember 27, 2017
Working with professors who were researching flax and soybean resistance to diseases. Watering through above-ground irrigation systems. Overall sanitation of the fields.
Pros
Learning new things
Cons
Seasonal work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work and learn
Graduate Student Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDDecember 15, 2017
It was a great learning experience, because while teaching a class, I would have to understand the subject very well and be prepared for any type of questions.
My advisor was always very helpful.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Efficient work environment
Wean-to-Finish Swine Manager (Current Employee) –  Brookings, SDNovember 18, 2017
Different duties daily. Manager position is still a learning process, barn only 1-year-old. Masters' degree is a heavy workload, most advisors are very willing to work with you on what you want to learn the most.
Pros
great environment to work in
Cons
heavy work load
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Dakota State University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.7Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

South Dakota State University Reviews by Location