South Middlesex Opportunity Council Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization in which to work or volunteer.
Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  Colorado Springs, COMay 12, 2018
Can't say enough good things about this organization that truly cares a great deal about people. Always looking for ways to make life better for those in need; from children to adults, all in need are welcome. Significant work done toward social justice by this organization.

I am most fortunate to have been a part of their team.
Pros
Focus; accomplishments.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Illegal care of disabled and impaired clients
CSPECH Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAApril 23, 2018
As an employee I was asked to ignore neglect to clients, unsafe working conditions for case workers, and violations of client confidentiality within their company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very stressful and ever changing environment
Program Advocate (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAApril 3, 2018
I would recommend this job to someone who is able to care for a walks of life. Inept social skills, communication skills, and the ability to work well with clients and other co-workers.
Pros
Close to home
Cons
Job security
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great introduction job
Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAMarch 13, 2018
Busy work weeks that keep you on your toes. Collaboration with coworkers in your department and other departments to provide needed services to clients. Do tasks outside of your job description. Inconsistent help from supervisors.
Pros
Freedom during work
Cons
Inconsistent help from managers/supervisors
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Millbury, MAMarch 7, 2018
My personal mission in life and SMOCs mission for Rhodes House are not compatible. There is no structure, in terms of a collaborative TEAM and there are rats, scabies and no food in the house at this very moment.
Pros
dedicated employees
Cons
stressful
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great services pay was not super.
Employment Specialist (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MADecember 26, 2017
Great services for many types of needs. The human service field does not pay particularly well. The Administrative people were quite comfortable but being the front liners did not get the amount of compensatioin equivilent to what it took to get the job done.
Pros
Diversity of workforce.
Cons
Pay, politics of management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive, well rounded and a community pillar
House manager (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MADecember 12, 2017
I loved working with S.M.O.C. my team was great. training were great and very helpful. i learned so much about the at risk homelessness that plagues our community and was in the position to do something about it with the help and grooming of S.M.O.C.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Balance + self care
Housing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAAugust 28, 2017
They emphasize self care and balance;
"Everybody Matters" at SMOC and they are welcoming to all groups of people.
Down side is that the pay is not good at all for the stressful work all case workers have.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
pay, career growth opportunities
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great coworkers
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAAugust 28, 2017
I absolutely loved working for SMOC. There was always room for advancement, good pay, fairly decent health insurance, great benefits but my favorite benefit was working with the clients and I was always surrounded by great coworkers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer service for seniors and others with disabilities.
Part Time Overnight Manager (Former Employee) –  Framingham MA.June 6, 2017
Fast paced. Patience to listen to one's needs. Managers are understanding. Diverse cultures and disabilities. not meeting one's needs. Helping others.
Pros
Earned Compensatory
Cons
Travel very long distance
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and great enviorment
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Palmer, MAOctober 6, 2016
great work environment
i learned to take the gapped with the bad, and the bad with the good when it comes to working with people who faces challenges everyday.
My co-workers where very cooperative and helpful
The hardest part of the job was not been able to help enough
the most enjoyable part of the job was seeing a client strive and achieve the ultimate goal for them staying sober and clean.
Pros
Great leadership
Cons
healthcare
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay away
Counselor (Former Employee) –  MassachusettsSeptember 6, 2016
Learned a lot, but was overworked and learned on my own. Worst experience ever had with a company they don't care about employees at all. But in the end I was so stressed out with paperwork. Oh and staff will take what clients say over what staff says snyday. They will force you to quit .
Pros
Experience
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Experience
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAMarch 27, 2016
Hello Everyone, If you are fortunate enough to get a job with SMOC, you are truly blessed. No finer place to work. Great people, environment, loving, caring, thoroughly invested in your success.
Pros
Great coaching, invested in your success.
Cons
There are no cons.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Case manager
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAFebruary 15, 2016
Weekly home visits, write daily notes weekly staff meetings. Clients are super needed, they lie sometimes and wear you out if you let them. Lots of resource to connect with helping clients find a home, adjust to shelter life. You practically help in every aspect of someone's daily life from childcare making sure they are safe have food in the fridge make sure their house is clean. Make sure they have clothes find a job resume writing everything. Great co workers really fun
Pros
Great benefit fits into family lifw
Cons
Pay can be better
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work environment very supportive
STABILIZATION CASE MGR - Mobile Support Team (MST) (Current Employee) –  Framingham, MAApril 30, 2015
Mos of the jobs are stressful due to the fact that the work requires working with the most disenfranchised with our population. Not an employer to work for if one desires immediate positive feedback. Job satisfaction can come from the "baby steps" made by our clients.
Pros
Supportive co-workers.
Cons
State of flux with goals and how to attain them.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable job experience
Therapist (Former Employee) –  Marlborough, MAApril 9, 2015
I enjoyed working for SMOC. The work environment was most effective for self-motivators. My supervisor was extremely supportive and continues to act as a mentor for me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A truly gratifying environment
Volunteer (Former Employee) –  Framingham, MAFebruary 6, 2015
The staff truly cares about the clients and their needs. They are cordial and sensitive. Their discreet nature makes the clients who are in need know that they have each client's best interest is at the forefront. It was an honor to work with them.
Pros
Every day is the best day you will have getting to work.
Cons
There is none.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supportive, fun and flexible
Case Manager (Former Employee) –  Worcester, MAOctober 22, 2014
Direct management was supportive. Team was personable making job enjoyable. Management encouraged appropriate changes and cared for team's needs.
Pros
Flexibility, Benefits
Cons
A lot of self training
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very busy
Case Manager Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Framingham,MassFebruary 25, 2014
Supervise 7 employees who help families that are currently staying in motels with in the metrowest area. We also provide stabilization services for the families once stably housed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very demanding yet rewarding job.
Housing Stabilization Case Manager (Current Employee) –  Worcester, MAJanuary 24, 2014
Very demanding yet rewarding job. Benefits are great. Requires extensive travel.
Pros
Rewarding
Cons
Hours not flexible
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Middlesex Opportunity Council. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 25 reviews
58
49
35
22
11

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.7Culture

South Middlesex Opportunity Council Reviews by Location