South Peninsula Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Certified Nursing Assistant
Certified Nursing Assistant (CNA) (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKMarch 12, 2018
South peninsula hospital is a beautiful place to work for. All staff are helpful and great. Management was great as well. The scheduling as very good.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large city minded management of small town facility
Network/Security Administrator (Current Employee) –  Homer, AKJanuary 28, 2018
The fact that importing people, paying their relocation and huge golden parachutes doesn't save over hiring or retaining local people seems to be a completely missed concept at this hospital.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee actives where fun
Insurance Verification Specialist (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKJanuary 5, 2018
I was on the activities committee early in my career at the hospital. i found it very bonding with coworkers from different areas and different department.
Pros
Food service is amazing.
Cons
Politics
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful
Interim Controller (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKJanuary 4, 2018
The staff was great. The CFO did not know what they were doing and did not want to learn anything from the staff. Overall, the staff was friendly and knowledgeable.
Pros
staff
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Survey Results
Environmental Services, Laundry, Housekeeping (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKJanuary 1, 2018
I only worked briefly at the hospital for a short time. Great place to work. I worked cleaning the ER and other parts of the hospital operating rooms, etc. Great job but I wanted to move back to the lower 48 states.
Pros
Great place great benefits
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic Rural Hospital
Traveler (Current Employee) –  Homer, AKOctober 18, 2017
Up and coming Hospital in Homer, Alaska with a lot to offer if you have the skill set and can work in a surgical environment. Work life balance is great, if you are the outdoors type then this destination is what you want.
Pros
Great hours
Cons
Location in the world, prepare to give up life amenities and live simple.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management, no training, terrible doctors
RN (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKSeptember 20, 2017
Worst hospital I have ever worked at. Doctors are incompetent, but will blame other staff for their mistakes when they happen(and they happen frequently). The management is a joke(and a bad one at that). Managers usually lasted 4-5 months, because they realized the place is a circus. One Manager left after a week with no notice at all because it's so bad. The turnover in nursing is laughable. I was there for 13 months when I assumed seniority in my department. Do not work for this hospital. You have about a 99% chance of hating it, and leaving.
Pros
Good cafeteria, beautiful town, excellent bathrooms
Cons
Literally everything except said cafeteria and bathrooms
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Supports their Employees!
CNA - Certified Nursing Assistant (Current Employee) –  Homer, AKAugust 21, 2017
I like the way they promote from inside. I believe that shows they care about us as individuals and not just as an employee. I believe this is just another way of how they work to take care of our community.
Pros
Cafeteria is Great!
Cons
No coffee shop.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Human Resource Generalist (Current Employee) –  Homer, AKMay 19, 2017
The employee are compassionate and motivated to assist patients and exceed in meeting their needs. Everyone encompasses the values making SPH a great place to work.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fair enough
Estech (Former Employee) –  Homer AlaskaOctober 9, 2016
Just work work and work don't mind the work politics. 😀 I enjoyed and made real friends .


Accommodating management
Health care is good
Overall/ a good place to be with
Pros
Some occasions the management gives ticket for meals.
Cons
Go along with the flow. Just work and do your thing . All is well.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
An enjoyable place to work.
LPN (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKDecember 12, 2015
I worked the night shift. I enjoyed working with my co-workers. Management was helpful with any issue. I really enjoyed the residents.
Pros
Great co-workers
Cons
It was night shift.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 6Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Director Of Pharmacy (Current Employee) –  Homer, AKApril 8, 2014
South Peninsula Hospital is rated in the top 100 Critical Access Hospitals in the country.
Pros
Sits on Kachemak Bay
Cons
Cold winters
Was this review helpful?Yes 16No 12Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Medical Technologist/ Radiology Technologist (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKFebruary 4, 2014
This hospital has the best management and leadership in the state of Alaska.
Pros
Location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 15Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management union relationship
Anonymous (Former Employee) –  Homer, AKJuly 17, 2012
I have never worked at a job where so many good people were allowed to be bullied. The union is aggressive and negative, and management is weak.

At lot of very good, skilled, and dedicated employees do their very best to provide excellent service and care to the community. If you choose to work at South Peninsula Hospital go with God because no one else will help you.
Was this review helpful?Yes 64No 11Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at South Peninsula Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 15 reviews
55
43
34
20
13

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.4Culture

South Peninsula Hospital Reviews by Location