Southern Foodservice Management Employee Reviews

Showing all 58 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Southern Foodservice Management selected this as a representative review
fun place you will enjoy
Cook/Server (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNOctober 1, 2018
you can be yourself, if your shy they will make you laugh, They will help you when your lost, your employees will back you up alone as the mangers. once you get done and set up and everything is good, you can take a break and enjoy your time. or you can prep for the next day, this is a laid back cool and relax place you will like
Pros
free lunch
Cons
none really work at your own speed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Moderate
Lead Cook/Supervisor, Southern Foodservice Mgmt (Former Employee) –  Dunwoody, GAJune 8, 2019
Just an okay place to work. No room for growth.Serve customers breakfast and lunch. No nights weekends or holidays. Not a bad company to work for. Management is lacking in the support department.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties
Cook/Dishwasher/line server/prep (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAMay 30, 2019
get to work at 7am clock in at 7:30am go get dressed ,bring up blue trash bin from downstairs. take boxes and trash outside empty the blue bin.Then I come back in, wash my hands go fill up the drink machines with Ice. go to my prep table and began my special for that day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Cleveland, TNApril 12, 2019
Working too many hours not enough break time . Horrible management. Decrimination. Yea you get free food, but it’s left over of what the other people don’t eat.
Pros
None
Cons
Free food of what other workers don’t eat
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
be selective
cook (Current Employee) –  Erwin, TNMarch 29, 2019
New management was brought in after a year or so of opening, went down hill fast with this new manager, he played favoritism, would lie right to your face and talk bad about employees to one another.
Pros
reasonable scheduling
Cons
management (in certain facilities)
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good company, depending on which location your at.
Barista (Current Employee) –  North CarolinaMarch 23, 2019
It’s a decent place to work. Depending on who your manager is, it might be great or it might be terrible. $10 an hour is the starting pay, which is ridiculous. It needs to be at the LEAST $12 an hour. We do way too much work for $10 an hour. Lunch is free which is a definite plus. No tips are allowed which is ridiculous.
Pros
Free Lunch, PTO after a year, holidays off
Cons
Bad pay, management bad depending on location, no corporate support
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and informtive
Sous Chef (Former Employee) –  The Village, OKFebruary 13, 2019
I loved working there and i wish icould have stayed but i had to.move i learned alot from working there and still.use those skills today the food was great and the quailty of work was awesome
Pros
Free food
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place an clean envoirment
Cook (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJanuary 29, 2019
Great work place an clean envoirment ,management very helpful an understanding. Willing to work with your schedule if have a other jobs or school that may conflict
Pros
Great work envoriment an room for advancement
Cons
Short work season unless full time
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great environment, where you feel like you matter.
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Plano, TXJanuary 21, 2019
Enjoy being part of a team that really cares about their customers and their employees. The really make a difference by their personal approach. Love being a part of this team!
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Job
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 15, 2019
I love working for Southern. It is very competitive and has good benefits. I would recommend this job. I've been taught great leadership skills and have been challenged to better my performance.
Pros
Free Lunch, Good Environment
Cons
Short breaks, Healthcare Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management, benefits are laughable
Hospitality (Current Employee) –  Mobile, AlOctober 18, 2018
Our so-called benefits really only benefit high ups. Mandatory health insurance is expensive and utterly useless. This is the only place I have ever worked where our wages go down. Had 3 pay decreases since working there. Project manager is verbally abusive, to the point of telling employees they are replaceable and if we aren't happy with being overworked and underpaid we need to leave. Cronically understaffed. Never provided with the necessary supplies to complete our duties. There is a clear divide between the favored and unfavored employees. Management will do whatever it takes to save a buck at the expense of their workers and aren't hiding that fact. Worse job ive ever had!
Pros
Free meals, flexiblity
Cons
Rediculously expesive health insurance, apathetic management. Low pay for amount of work. Nepotism, favoritism.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
Official response from Southern Foodservice Management
December 3, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. This is definitely not the standard our employees have come to expect from us. Please contact our Human Resources Department, so we can properly discuss your concerns and experiences

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great company to work for.
Vending Manager (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAOctober 12, 2018
It allowed me the opportunity to run my own business. I received the responsibility and authority to buy, merchandise and inventory the products needed.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love them
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 10, 2018
Sets up food service, kitchen, or salad area facilities, equipment and utensils, checks food temperatures and/or prepares areas for daily operations; may operate cooking or bakery equipment as assigned, Cash handling & sale promotion. Communicate effectively with 150+ customers at BBVA Compass Bank Headquarters daily, operate registers, scanners, scales and credit card/debit card terminals, receive inventory, stock shelves/machines, & maintain daily records, perform basic math functions to collect payments and make change,
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Too much employee drama
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Raleigh, NCAugust 30, 2018
This place is inside of the RedHat building in Raleigh, NC. Its horrible. Everyone that works there complains all day, the catering people are full of drama and gossip and the managers don't listen to you when you try to talk to them reasonably. The kitchen manager is oblivious to everything and makes you do extra work so she doesn't have to, when your in the middle of doing something yourself. There's no respect here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Southern Foodservice Management
December 3, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. This is definitely not the standard our employees have come to expect from us. Please contact our Human Resources Department, so we can properly discuss your concerns and experiences

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job
cooking (Former Employee) –  AlabamaAugust 28, 2018
It's was stressful working there.the manager would always forget to order something and take it out on everyone in the kitchen ..she would take to u crazy...she was very mean..
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Official response from Southern Foodservice Management
December 3, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. This is definitely not the standard our employees have come to expect from us. Please contact our Human Resources Department, so we can properly discuss your concerns and experiences

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyed Work Place
Cashier/Stocker/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXAugust 16, 2018
I Enjoyed Working With This Company I Had The Keys To The Place To Get To Work Early And Have Every Thing Done And Ready To Open Our Restaurant, And Do Inventory.
Pros
Great Hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They work in a hot environment
Cook (Former Employee) –  Ozark, ALAugust 5, 2018
The job is not an easy place to work we had a project manager was not easy to work with he didn't care how hot it was in that building long as we got our product out on time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Official response from Southern Foodservice Management
December 3, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. This is definitely not the standard our employees have come to expect from us. Please contact our Human Resources Department, so we can properly discuss your concerns and experiences

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Exciting
Prep Cook (Former Employee) –  Oklahoma City, OKAugust 1, 2018
I loved my job but sometimes it was difficult. Experienced four managers in two years. I wish I was still their because the job wasn't hard at all the new people always made it harder then what it was just because they didn't want to work.
Pros
Having a great manager
Cons
Team members with no experience
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
not a good place to work
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Pontiac, MIJune 19, 2018
I liked the job it self but didnt like the other employees i worked with they were not friendly the manger was ok that ran the kitchen the kitchen supervisor was not good with employees showed favoritism to other employees
Pros
good hours
Cons
too many to list
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from Southern Foodservice Management
December 3, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. This is definitely not the standard our employees have come to expect from us. Please contact our Human Resources Department, so we can properly discuss your concerns and experiences

2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Other locations may be different
Front of House Catering Manager (Former Employee) –  Tuscaloosa, ALJune 15, 2018
I think it was me being the youngest manager there that they lacked respect for me.
Southern has many accounts and I don’t think they were all like the one in Tuscaloosa.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work place.
Cook/Cleaner (Former Employee) –  Fort Rucker, ALMay 30, 2018
Very productive work environment, Southern food service taught me a variety of different meals to prepare .A great management team the hardest part was leaving I enjoyed the work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Foodservice Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 58 reviews
522
411
310
25
110

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture