Southern Foodservice Management Employee Reviews in Birmingham, AL

Found 8 reviews matching the search See all 59 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Featured review
Southern Foodservice Management selected this as a representative review
fun place you will enjoy
Cook/Server (Former Employee) –  Chattanooga, TNOctober 1, 2018
you can be yourself, if your shy they will make you laugh, They will help you when your lost, your employees will back you up alone as the mangers. once you get done and set up and everything is good, you can take a break and enjoy your time. or you can prep for the next day, this is a laid back cool and relax place you will like
Pros
free lunch
Cons
none really work at your own speed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a very nice company to work for. I hghly recommend this company to anyone in the business.
There I was the manager and could work in any area (Former Employee) –  Birmingham AlabamaJune 21, 2019
I work there as a manager from 2005 to 2019 .This was a great company to work for. And I would go back again. There you were treated like Family ! My work speaks for itself dtothe back of the housedo H
Pros
Payed Hoilday no weekend
Cons
No cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love them
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALOctober 10, 2018
Sets up food service, kitchen, or salad area facilities, equipment and utensils, checks food temperatures and/or prepares areas for daily operations; may operate cooking or bakery equipment as assigned, Cash handling & sale promotion. Communicate effectively with 150+ customers at BBVA Compass Bank Headquarters daily, operate registers, scanners, scales and credit card/debit card terminals, receive inventory, stock shelves/machines, & maintain daily records, perform basic math functions to collect payments and make change,
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great work-life balance
Benefits Administrator (Human Resources) (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 14, 2017
Great work environment
Friendly staff
Flexible Schedule
Paid Holidays
Family owned - but large company
The most enjoyable part of the job is the autonomy
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer!
Manager (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 12, 2017
I have been with Southern for several years and have advanced my position through hard work and dedication. Managers expect you to give your all but also try to compensate you for a job well done. I've worked for other contract foodservice companies and this it by far the best.
Pros
Good managers, good employees and good benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
You are not just a number
Cashier/Cook (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 27, 2017
Southern Foodservice Management creates a good working atmosphere where each Employee is a Team Member and Management knows your name. They are very serious regarding safe food handling, Serv-Safe and HACCP. Which is good to know and hope all restaurants and food service companies do the same.
Pros
Good pay and Training
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst job ever
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 17, 2017
This is the worst Job I ever had, if you want to ever see your family do not take a job here, the management is a joke and treats there employees like garbage, they expect you to do the same, no family values or respect for anyone
Pros
Free lunch
Cons
Expected to work round the clock, poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Official response from Southern Foodservice Management
December 3, 2018

Thank you for your comments. We are very sorry to hear about your experience. This is definitely not the standard our employees have come to expect from us. Please contact our Human Resources Department, so we can properly discuss your concerns and experiences

5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i loved every minute working with southern foodservice.
Prep Cook/Cook (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 4, 2016
head cook at Eastman chemical company bldg. 150,i prepared breakfast and lunch
how to become a good chef
management was great,enjoyed every minute being employed with southern
co-workers we all got along great,we were definitely a great team together
our taco bars,spaghetti bars,and also our hot dog and hamburger bars lots of beef we cooked,but customers loved our bars,so the hard work was worth it.
satisfying the customers,compliments on my good cooking,wanting my recipes,that was enjoyable to me.
Pros
great company to work for.
Cons
i hated to leave southern i was so happy.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report

Comment – April 6, 2016

I noticed my employment showed Birmingham,al. I was employed in Kingsport,tn. having trouble changing it.oh well I suppose Alabama will do.

4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work just keep in mind if contracts are lost you lose your job win with the company and lose with the company
manager (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJanuary 12, 2016
meal with shift , good benefits but exppensive clients can be tough to work with. Managers tend to side with the clients,
Pros
Good food
Cons
no breaks work alot of saturdays
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report

See more Southern Foodservice Management reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Foodservice Management. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 59 reviews
523
411
310
25
110

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.2Management
3.4Culture