Southern Poverty Law Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 15 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good mission and people
Southeast Immigrant Freedom Initiative Volunteer (Current Employee) –  RemoteMay 29, 2018
I do remote work for the law center and have a unique perspective because of that. Whenever I have questions, they are promptly answered. Everyone on the team seems valued and encouraged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing organization!
Legal Intern (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALMay 8, 2018
I absolutely loved every moment of my time at SPLC! The lawyers and other members of the staff were absolutely great. Plus, management really cares about making sure staff don't get burnt out.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work with great people
Summer Legal Intern (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALFebruary 6, 2018
Great management. Cordial and friendly staff. The atmosphere in the office is good for the type of work done there. People are passionate for justice.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Teaching Tolerance have a great team to work with
Web Designer (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALNovember 14, 2017
I had the opportunity to work for a short time in the Teaching Tolerance project. The whole group was pleasant to work, organized, self-motivated and are happy to cooperate with co-workers.
Pros
Team work
Cons
Temp
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dont expect too much
Paralegal (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALNovember 9, 2017
looks great on your resmue. if this is your first job out of college, great. if not just stay in your lane and build your skill set, then move on. do not get invested in this org. they are not invested in your the company culture is that of retail mixed with neo liberals that probably are like the family in Get Out...
Pros
Nationally Recognized; great co-workers
Cons
Management from the TOP down
Was this review helpful?Yes 8No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Splc
Controller (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALOctober 18, 2017
SPLC is a large not for profit. They have a very liberal message so it isn't for everyone. When I worked there over 15 years ago there wasn't quite the political issues in the nation as there is now. No social media, etc. I found working there a good experience. I didn't always agree with the agenda but I never felt harassed for having more conservative but open minded views. SPLC was a great environment, as was ahead of the curve in introducing a collaborative working environment.
Pros
Great beneifts
Cons
Liberal views could be issue for someone with extreme right views
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Civil Rights Memorial Center
Operations Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALMarch 1, 2017
Excellent organization to work for. Fighting for Justice for all people. My job has Operations Coordinator day by by would be the operations of the Civil Rights Memorial Center, give tours of the Center and speak with people about the work of the Southern Poverty Law Center.
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southern Poverty Law Center
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALMay 23, 2016
SPLC is an interesting place to work , SPLC has an excellent working environment for motivated and educated people that want to make an change in life ,I learned a lot from all employees individualism and effort to bring new ideas to heling the community and other from far places to seek justice
Pros
Diversity enviroment
Cons
Not much room for advancement other than interm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great workplace, great mission
Secured internship (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALSeptember 14, 2015
The Southern Poverty Law Center truly has a wonderful workplace culture. You get the sense that everybody is on the same team, working towards the same goal. You're a part of something very special. The dress code is relaxed too, which is great
Was this review helpful?Yes 18No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Job Tasks
Donor Outreach Representative (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALSeptember 23, 2014
• Engaging donors by utilizing communication skills and the ability to interact
• Responsible for contacting and cultivating established donors
• Require skills in PC and CRM Database Navigation
• Conduct “Thank You”
• Provide planned giving information
• Update credit card and personal data
• Conduct calls for special events
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Creative Work Environment
Protection Services Officer (Current Employee) –  Montgomery, ALFebruary 26, 2014
The staff is wonderful. It is a place of learning and diversity.
Pros
Benefits Packages
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exceptional Job Opportunity
Protective Service Officer-Duties/Training (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALJanuary 7, 2014
On the security team with the SLPC. I loved this job. Pay was not enough. I received training in security in all facets. I was considered the top in security. We traveled and provided security for top members of the SLPC.
Was this review helpful?Yes 25No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly atmosphere, good working conditions
Temporary Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLDecember 30, 2013
All work is related to supporting the youth and defending their rights.
Was this review helpful?Yes 20No 11Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place to work
Independent Consultant (Former Employee) –  Montgomery, ALMay 11, 2012
I would love to go back and work for this company. The staff is amazing and it is a wonderful place to be a part of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 31No 6Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Poverty Law Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.7
Based on 15 reviews
512
42
31
20
10

Ratings by category

4.5Work/Life Balance
4.8Compensation/Benefits
4.3Job Security/Advancement
4.3Management
4.6Culture

Southern Poverty Law Center Reviews by Location