Southern Refrigerated Transport Employee Reviews

Found 109 reviews matching the search See all 110 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place meeting new driverd
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARFebruary 18, 2019
Delivered freight coast to coast. Home once a month for 3 days. Started to take a toll on me gone that long. Still tecommend company to drivers wanting to work coast to coast
Pros
Newer trucks to drive
Cons
Sometimes cant get home when nerd to be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Company Driver CDL (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MSFebruary 9, 2019
Owner/Manager would not pay as promised. Drivers were called in with the hopes of working. On the property but not allowed to clock in for work. If no loads were issued by noon you could leave but were considered on call until 1800
Pros
None
Cons
Everything that a Trucking Company should not be.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
OTR driver trainer (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJanuary 9, 2019
Treated like a person. Like a valuable player. Issues addressed very promptly. Good clean equipment. Clean terminals. Pet policy. Rider policy. Good caring company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company went downhill while i was there
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJanuary 7, 2019
at first the company was fantastic. over time it dropped fast. they were in a dispute with another carrier and we lost a lot of customers. drivers sat for long periods of time at truck stops waiting for a load
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJanuary 3, 2019
Work place culture is not optimal. Very cliquish. Not very friendly management at times and micro managing. Could do a lot better with training employees to do their job.
Pros
one hour lunch
Cons
long hours working weekends
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced always go go go
ex employ (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARDecember 30, 2018
low paying but good starter company,if your straight out of school you will get the driving experience you need here but dont expect to get rich you will do alot of driving for very little money
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owned by covenant trans
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXDecember 20, 2018
I didnt like working here they kept putting me and my teammate in faulty equipment that would break and leave us stranded in the middle of nowhere so yeah no thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible backstabbing management
Customer Service, Dispatcher, Load Planner (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARDecember 11, 2018
i would not recommend this company to anyone as the management cannot be trusted from one day to the next. this is all i have to say about srt and the management there
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It didnt. work out
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXNovember 28, 2018
Good company it just didn't work out..they need to communicate better with there drivers and not treat them like a number.maybe focus a little more on training .
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is cut throat
Customer Service, Dispatcher, Load Planner (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARNovember 26, 2018
Management does not like for employees to speak to friends while on vacation if they work at another company and will obviously fire you for it. This is something I never would have expected after 5 years at the company .
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn't make any money.
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARNovember 11, 2018
When I worked here it was very difficult to get miles. I would do a run and have to wait two days for another load. It would have probably been better if I was getting loads more frequently.
Pros
It's a job.
Cons
Miles were low at the time that I was working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
starter company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, AROctober 30, 2018
southern refrigerated transport is an ok starting company but not somewhere you want to stay as a career, starting pay was only .22 cent a mile.i spent 1 year there and it was very hard to keep up with bills
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, AROctober 26, 2018
this is a very cut throat industry i wouldnt recommend for the weak of heart and for those with anxiety issues. However the atmosphere has been improving. Its a very fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everything is not what it seems
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Pomona, CAOctober 25, 2018
1st of all day 1 had to do a recovery was left stranded at the airport from 10:30am until 12:00 midnight didn't know you have to buy your own converter and refrigerator for the truck missing info for the pick-up was promised a set starting pay that was a lie i quit after i dropped my 1st load didnt get paid for the recovery $150 bad experience
Pros
Good equipment excellant navigation
Cons
Lots of missing info low pay fotced to pick up loads for covent which is not refridgerated
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I don't recommend anyone to work there.
OTR Driver (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, AROctober 17, 2018
Terrible company to work for. The driver managers and planners are idiots. This company makes you think you can get good miles then stop giving you good miles.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fleet Management is not easy
Fleet Manager (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, AROctober 6, 2018
Typical work day is 10 hours while you are at the office, or at least 10 hours of work crammed into 9 hours, and that is working through lunch. Management has changed to many times over the past few years and never really get a feel for what they are wanting from you. One will expect one thing, and then the next expects something else.

The most enjoyable part of the job really is working with your coworkers.
Pros
Great Coworkers
Cons
Revolving Management, Poor increases in pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
stayed to myself and did my job
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, AROctober 1, 2018
i ran for SRT for two and half years. Then i go a local job driving for ELC. With SRT they did get you home in a timely manner. However when it came to a family emeregency they got you home right away.
Pros
decent money
Cons
not home often
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lunch room tv room showers
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARSeptember 24, 2018
SRT was a nice place to work i wanted something local. i took a job that was closer to home. SRT was based out of Texarkana Arkansas i live in california
Pros
never had a problem when i had a breakdown i would get help right away
Cons
sometimes when you had to go to the shop for maintenance you may be there for a couple of days
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its ok
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXSeptember 22, 2018
Didnt like some of the dispatchers attitudes....Remember, without us, you can't feed your family...Give us a little respect and alot of attention and consideration.....Just saying
Pros
Good equipment
Cons
Rude self centered dispatchers...Not all...Some bad apples
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fast paced
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  TexasSeptember 21, 2018
Every day was always a challenge. Very productive at all times. Must be a team player to work here. Strong communication is required to make your day go smoothly.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Refrigerated Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.0
Based on 110 reviews
528
417
322
213
130

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

Southern Refrigerated Transport Reviews by Location