Southern Refrigerated Transport Employee Reviews

Found 116 reviews matching the search See all 117 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Truck Driver - Full-Time (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJuly 18, 2019
great starter company friendly staff great instructors great miles
equipment is okay i guess except the cascadia the winshield and top marker lights leaks and a hard fix cause of the design of the truck
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst company to work for!
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJuly 12, 2019
They inform you how much a mile your being paid. Predium is mandatory 1st 90 days but they charge 3 cents/mile for it! No communication! Check was wrong twice/month and when wrong, you have to wait til the next week! It was so bad, I quit 1 week before my vacation pay! BAD! BAD! BAD!
Pros
Absolutely None
Cons
Dishonest! Low pay! No communication! Low miles! Very unprofessional from the very top to bottom!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not good
Truck Driver Class A CDL (Former Employee) –  ArkansasJune 3, 2019
Srt isn't the problem. The individuals in operations and safety are very unorganized and overworked. Expect to be disappointed and used. And mistreated
Pros
See and explore new things
Cons
No life, money missing from checks, extreme stress and no time to take care of your personal responabities.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
P o s company
Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARMarch 28, 2019
Biggest p o s company in the transportation business. Grossly mismanaged. Crooks thieves predators of hard working people! Look for a job somewhere else!!!!
Pros
None
Cons
Everything and everyone
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 5Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent pay and consistent work
Company Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARMarch 22, 2019
Southern Refrigerated Transport is a good company to work for, I usually never waited on a load. The pay was decent, loads were manageable to pickup and deliver on time. Communication was acceptable, but when it came to home time I usually felt rushed to come back to work. Other than that Southern Refrigerated Transport is a good company to drive for.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Long hours and away from home
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worst Company Ever
CDL-A OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARMarch 5, 2019
I made more money at Amazon as an entry level Fulfillment Specialist than as an OTR Truck Driver with SRT. Paschall Truck Lines doubled their salary at the same rate and time. When I left PTL because I moved outside of their hiring zone and went to work for SRT, they do not tell you an exact amount of pay until after you are hired. That was Red Flag #1. During my two or three day orientation, I seen at least 5 people leave the company (Red Flag #2). And this should have been my ultimate eye opener, but I was a brand spanking new driver and didn't understand the business fully yet. They hired roughly 30, maybe more people per week, but didn't even have the trucks to put their drivers in. We would sit around for almost a week having to wait to "recover" a truck. But I was fed up after I started noticing after 2 months that not one of my checks ever hit over $1000 and then I could barely even make over 2500 miles and still was being paid 0.33 cpm. Almost had me applying for an EBT card. The moment I started looking for other jobs, they received phone calls from the jobs I've applied to, was the moment I got fired. Also, don't get trapped into the NEW Equipment shenanigans. That is most likely where all of their money is going in. They brought almost a whole new fleet of 2019 Peters and Freights and only gave drivers a 3 cent raise. No inverter in the trucks, you have to buy your own and have ONLY SRT maintenance install it, which you have to pay installation fees also.
Pros
Don't get hired
Cons
Worst paid company in history on mankind
Was this review helpful?Yes 13No 6Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place meeting new driverd
Over the Road Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARFebruary 18, 2019
Delivered freight coast to coast. Home once a month for 3 days. Started to take a toll on me gone that long. Still tecommend company to drivers wanting to work coast to coast
Pros
Newer trucks to drive
Cons
Sometimes cant get home when nerd to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a great company I just don't want to drive anymore at least not as much as they want
OTR Truck Driver (Current Employee) –  Texarkana ArkansasFebruary 12, 2019
Yes I have no complaints about Southern Refrigerated Transport they treated me fairly and came through with most of the promises they offered. But after having sought about it throughout the summer I've decided to go back into teaching. Sound depending on the money I might be able to agree upon going out for a couple weeks with students but not School sign on the road. I have not told them about my interest in teaching for another company and the only reason I want to see screen of the company is because SRT does not have in-house classes. So if you like to hire a very good teacher and not be sorry I'm Your Man put mirrors on a classroom with the proper material and they will learn it thank you for your time
Pros
Good money
Cons
Expecting Too Much from the drivers when it comes to getting tired
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Company Driver CDL (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MSFebruary 9, 2019
Owner/Manager would not pay as promised. Drivers were called in with the hopes of working. On the property but not allowed to clock in for work. If no loads were issued by noon you could leave but were considered on call until 1800
Pros
None
Cons
Everything that a Trucking Company should not be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment
OTR driver trainer (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJanuary 9, 2019
Treated like a person. Like a valuable player. Issues addressed very promptly. Good clean equipment. Clean terminals. Pet policy. Rider policy. Good caring company
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
the company went downhill while i was there
OTR Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJanuary 7, 2019
at first the company was fantastic. over time it dropped fast. they were in a dispute with another carrier and we lost a lot of customers. drivers sat for long periods of time at truck stops waiting for a load
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Fleet Manager (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, ARJanuary 3, 2019
Work place culture is not optimal. Very cliquish. Not very friendly management at times and micro managing. Could do a lot better with training employees to do their job.
Pros
one hour lunch
Cons
long hours working weekends
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced always go go go
ex employ (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARDecember 30, 2018
low paying but good starter company,if your straight out of school you will get the driving experience you need here but dont expect to get rich you will do alot of driving for very little money
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Owned by covenant trans
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXDecember 20, 2018
I didnt like working here they kept putting me and my teammate in faulty equipment that would break and leave us stranded in the middle of nowhere so yeah no thanks
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
terrible backstabbing management
Customer Service, Dispatcher, Load Planner (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARDecember 11, 2018
i would not recommend this company to anyone as the management cannot be trusted from one day to the next. this is all i have to say about srt and the management there
Was this review helpful?Yes 11NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It didnt. work out
OTR Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, TXNovember 28, 2018
Good company it just didn't work out..they need to communicate better with there drivers and not treat them like a number.maybe focus a little more on training .
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
management is cut throat
Customer Service, Dispatcher, Load Planner (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARNovember 26, 2018
Management does not like for employees to speak to friends while on vacation if they work at another company and will obviously fire you for it. This is something I never would have expected after 5 years at the company .
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Couldn't make any money.
Truck Driver Class A (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, ARNovember 11, 2018
When I worked here it was very difficult to get miles. I would do a run and have to wait two days for another load. It would have probably been better if I was getting loads more frequently.
Pros
It's a job.
Cons
Miles were low at the time that I was working there.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
starter company
Truck Driver (Former Employee) –  Texarkana, AROctober 30, 2018
southern refrigerated transport is an ok starting company but not somewhere you want to stay as a career, starting pay was only .22 cent a mile.i spent 1 year there and it was very hard to keep up with bills
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Texarkana, AROctober 26, 2018
this is a very cut throat industry i wouldnt recommend for the weak of heart and for those with anxiety issues. However the atmosphere has been improving. Its a very fast paced environment
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Refrigerated Transport. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

2.9
Based on 117 reviews
529
417
324
213
134

Ratings by category

2.8Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.7Management
2.8Culture

Southern Refrigerated Transport Reviews by Location