Southern Research Employee Reviews

Showing all 19 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management is horrible
Senior Buyer (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 6, 2018
Management is horrible. Do not trust these people. Hostile work place and they do not take care of their people. They fire and replace often, no one is safe. I've seen people let go after a few weeks on the job and people who had worked with them 10 years plus. The money is NOT worth it.
Pros
Salary/retirement options
Cons
Hostile work place
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to start a career
Sr. Scientist (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALAugust 5, 2018
Good place to start a career. Introduction to early stage research. Opportunities collaborate with university researchers around the country on interesting science.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Southern Research
Office Administrator (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCJuly 29, 2018
Relaxed atmosphere with decent coworkers and management that is not overbearing. Benefits are decent however pay is less than you can find elsewhere. The opportunity for advancement is very limited. Southern Research is leaving North Carolina
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Temp to Hire
Assistant Scientist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 19, 2018
Temp to Hire is usually extended rather than a permanent position, It is best to establish a permanent position from the beginning. The research project however, are innovated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run away
Aerobiologist/Biologist (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJune 18, 2018
You may get the job, but do not expect to move up. They hire from outside of the company and make very few advancements. It is not a friendly place to work and you could get cut at any time.
Pros
Activities and restructuring package.
Cons
High level of red tape, lots of pressure.
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nothing good to say
Laboratory Analyst (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 6, 2018
I was employed in a temp to hire position. The lab that I was hired in closed within six months of my hire. Poor management was the primary cause. No attempts were made to solicit customers for work or improve conditions during my employ. This company does not value it's employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
depressing place
Chemistry Research Intern (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 7, 2017
The Chemistry Department was placed in an outdated, sad building. The workers here were extremely out-of-place and too smart to be stuck here. Otherwise, a decent place to work if you're looking to just be a scientist stuck in a drab room all day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice place
Local Consumer Reporting Specialist (Former Employee) –  shreveport, laJanuary 11, 2017
Southern Research is a good company to work for. All of the employees are very nice. I learned how to navigate the court house.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed working there.
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Shreveport, LANovember 28, 2016
I worked with some great people. I had some of the best supervisors. My supervisors let me pick my schedule once they viewed me as a hard worker. they even reccommended me to work at some great sites.
Pros
I got to pick my schedule.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Detail Oriented and Fast Paced
Client Service Administrator (Current Employee) –  Shreveport, LANovember 23, 2016
Overall, the environment is suited to those who can multitask and make adjustments very quickly on moment to moment scenarios. The team is friendly, but it isn't the place to develop long-term relationships. Stress is very high and if the numbers don't reflect growth, the atmosphere is very tense.
Pros
Interesting field and always something to learn
Cons
Stressful tensions in office
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning Alot
Program Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALSeptember 19, 2016
Great place to work...It seems that people are really concerned with working to ensure the agency mission is actually carried out. Great, highly intelligent people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
friendly people
Senior Biologist (Current Employee) –  Frederick, MDAugust 15, 2016
no day is typical
learn what you want-always willing to cross train
management needs work
co-workers are super helpful and friendly -great teamwork
Pros
fun activities, lunches, gatherings
Cons
management, healthcare coverage
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great learning experience and work place
Engineering Technician (Current Employee) –  Birmingham, ALJuly 11, 2016
normal day at work includes testing a variation of materials at room temperature and very high elevated temperatures.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I'm glad I'm out of that place
Manager, Scientific Resources (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALMay 18, 2016
Stressful and unfriendly environment.
Duties are not well assigned. Lack of work structure.
upper management is not reliable and in experienced
Pros
good salaries and benifits
Cons
no system in place
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Interesting work with fun people
Technician (Current Employee) –  Durham, NCFebruary 9, 2015
The research work is very interesting, some of which has potential to make real impacts in our society. I enjoyed the people I work with very much and have fun at work. The downside is the nature of research, especially government funded. The flow of business is very unstable and without proper leadership you get periods of extremes in amount of work. This is also complicated by the fact that Southern Research works in multiple, very different fields with multiple facilities. So one area may be doing well while another may be doing poorly. The uncertainty can be frustrating. The benefits and pay are average. It is fun to work with smart people and on interesting projects.
Pros
Fun co workers, work is interesting
Cons
no clear direction, disorganized upper management, advancement is closed to non engineers
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people to work with and good
Advance Engineering Tech Lead Operator (Current Employee) –  Durham , NCJanuary 20, 2015
Nice place to work but lack in management skills days are long and hard. I learned a lot in pilot plant operations and putting the engineering.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Assisting research, gained ample experience
Research assistant (Former Employee) –  Waseca, MNSeptember 22, 2014
Collecting research samples
Analyzing and reporting results
Over seeing experimental animals
weighing pigs
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State-of-the-art CNC machine shop.
MANUFACTURING ENGINEER / MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLApril 28, 2012
Extremely close tolerance CNC facility, utilizing state-of-the-art machine tools in laboratory environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Research. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 19 reviews
54
46
35
23
11

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
2.7Job Security/Advancement
2.8Management
3.1Culture