Southern State Community College Employee Reviews

Showing all 23 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great College
Adjunct Instructor (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHJuly 8, 2018
Great college to work for. I attended there my first two years of college, so it felt great to give back. Classes were appropriate size for someone who didn't have formal teaching experience prior to the given classes.
Pros
Class sizes, flexible
Cons
na
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i enjoyed my job
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHMay 31, 2018
corresponding with faculty, students, staff, outside vendors by email on a daily basis, over see the faculty office , ordering supplies, dealt with curriculum for the faculty, over see the events at the college.
Pros
benefits were good
Cons
pay was not that great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
loved working at my home
Child Care Provider Training Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Highland and Fayette Counties, OhioMay 15, 2018
My job wasn't hard, but it had to be done. And doing a job by myself was the greatest was to work. I looked forward to working and doing for others in such a way.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Adjunct Faculty (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OH 45133January 27, 2018
Company has very strong community ties and strives to serve students as well as possible. The company made the decision not to allow adjuncts and other part timers to do more than on job at a time and that made earnings to low for the position to work for me. Loved the place and their mission
Pros
students
Cons
lack of opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
lack of communication
C-Print/Interpreter (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHOctober 22, 2017
I was hired without being told that it was only for a couple of months. I was also not told how far I would have to travel to work. I was surprised that the site they sent me to was over an hour from my home.
Pros
Friendly Professors
Cons
To long of a drive
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not Demanding
IT Manager (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHAugust 14, 2017
Relaxed environment unless you want to get something done.

Political silos by department which are highly territorial.

Extremely low pay and benefits are nothing to write home about.

Faculty are the only ones with a decent salary.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning environment and meeting new people.
Library Technician (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHMarch 17, 2016
I greeted everyone who came in or on the phone with a positive greeting. I did my best to assist students and patrons with research papers, job search, resumes, and anything else they asked. I would direct them to someone who could help them if I couldn't for some reason. I made copies and sent faxes for students and patrons, and scanned documents. I also would look for books students needed or wanted if the book wasn't on the shelves, check in and out books, and worked in a database. The best part was meeting new people and being able to help them anyway I could.
Pros
Relaxed environment, meeting new people
Cons
Part Time, No Advancement
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
There is no place for advancement at SSCC
Electronic Resources Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Mount Orab, OHJuly 28, 2015
Library is a great place to work. SSCC needs more organization in the Library. It was a great place to work then change happened; at this point it is tolerable.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was respected
Library tech (Current Employee) –  Washington Court House, OHJuly 22, 2015
I work as a work study student and enjoyed working in the library. It worked with my classes. I still enjoy it today but need more money so I do not need to work two jobs.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Summery
Data Processor/ Library Aide (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHJune 10, 2015
-Working of Data Entry, organizing and shelving books and doing URL maintenance is what a typical work environment is here

-Learned about what it is like to work with a group or groups of people

-Management was nothing but helpful

-Co-workers taught me a lot about what to do in he job I was working in and how to handle situations

-No real hard parts to my job

-Loved working with others and doing everything I was told to do
Pros
Friendly environment
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job best experience ever
work study (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHApril 6, 2015
A typical day was just assisting instructers and students
they helped me as well
management did everything to accommodate my schedule
there was nothing hard about this position
Pros
it worked with my school schedule
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Administration and Management
ITV / Configuration Manager / Help Desk Technician (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHMarch 26, 2015
Unfortunately many of the administration and management team do not respect or value any employee of lesser than full time status.
Pros
Many instructors value the accessory staff (many are part-time)
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good group of people to work with...Family like atmosphere
OMJ Center Manager (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHMarch 20, 2015
Everyday was about making a positive difference in peoples lives. That was the best part, know you had helped someone.

Enjoyed working for a very professional individual that allowed my staff and I to allow our personalities to come through how we managed and handled the day-to-day operations.
Pros
Staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Great Customer Service
Office Attendant (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHNovember 21, 2014
The best Company I've ever worked for! Great people, great clients, Loved hosting the Job Fairs!
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun!
CSCI/OFIT Assistant (Former Employee) –  Wilmington, OHJune 4, 2014
Learned from a great professor in making sure that all duties were complete and up to par.
Pros
Worked with conflicting schedules.
Cons
Low wage.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Enjoyable
Intern (Former Employee) –  Sardinia, OHFebruary 12, 2014
This wasn't actually employment but I enjoyed completing my internship at the college.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Serious problems
English Instructor (Former Employee) –  OhioJuly 18, 2013
I could not in good faith provide a positive review given what I know about this institution.
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Encourages connections and academic excellence in a comfortable and work environment
Adjunct English Faculty (Current Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHFebruary 9, 2013
SSCC affirms a culture of academic excellence while providing an enjoyable work environment. I currently teach three English and two Speech courses on Mondays and Wednesdays from 8:30am - 4:15pm. I have learned to respect students of all ages, ethicities, gender, and dynamics. My co-workers have become people I trust and respect. The leadership is consistent and honest. The most difficult aspect of my job in the uncertainty of having a part-time position. The most rewarding part of my opportunity in the classroom is witnessing student confidence and success!
Pros
wonderful work invironment focused on the academic success of students
Cons
part-time
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Staff is great
Faculty Secretary (Former Employee) –  Hillsboro, OHOctober 22, 2012
The most enjoyable part of the day is working with the students and staff. The hardest part is juggling the schedule of faculty.
Pros
insurance
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved this job and didn't want to leave but school was done.
Receptionist/Customer Service Work Study (Former Employee) –  Sardinia, OhioJune 18, 2012
This was the coolest job. I worked with some great people and I got to know a bunch of students and faculty. It was a very caring and fun place to work. It was also a very nice atmosphere to work in and I love working in the library.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern State Community College. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 23 reviews
510
46
35
20
12

See reviews about

4.2Work/Life Balance
3.0Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Southern State Community College Reviews by Location