Southern Utah University Employee Reviews

Showing all 86 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
MATH TUTOR (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTJanuary 2, 2019
I enjoyed working for Southern Utah University. They were very flexible on hours and tutoring was a great job for students attending the university. Great place to work!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Place Low Salary
Administrative Assistant ll (Former Employee) –  CounselingDecember 13, 2018
The culture at Southern Utah University is very friendly and supportive.
Two reasons why I left; Low wages and personal for what the job required. And to be close to family.
Pros
Great people to work with and the area is beautiful for outdoor recreation.
Cons
Cost of living is too high. Income too low
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A regular college
Student Athlete (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTDecember 5, 2018
What you do with your education is up to you. This school really gave me a lot when I look back at the opportunities. A very good school if you like the small town feel and want to be in that environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work.
Administrative Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cedar City, UTOctober 26, 2018
Great working environment. Excellent benefits. Some staff salaries are low -- not all departments are equal. Possibilities for good opportunities exist.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible with my busy student schedule
Spanish Tutor (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTSeptember 11, 2018
I like working here because I can balance my schedule really well with my heavy credit load. I am also tutoring a subject that I am passionate about and one that I really enjoy.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People. Great Place
Graduate and Online Admissions Coordinator (Current Employee) –  Cedar City, UTAugust 6, 2018
SUU is a great place to work. I thoroughly enjoyed my experiences there. Compensation could be improved, but if you enjoy university culture and the great outdoors, SUU could be a great fit.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Easy job in a fun environment.
Custodian/Janitorial (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTAugust 1, 2018
It can be fun depending on what you put into it. What made it fun for me were my coworkers and my supervisor. You have a list of what needs to be accomplished. It can be hard at first trying to remember everything that needs to be done and when it needs to be done, but it is just getting used to the routine.
Pros
Paid 30 min. break during the summer and winter.
Cons
Limited hours to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Recycling Assistant
Recycling Assistant (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTAugust 1, 2018
This position was very satisfying. As you worked you own schedule as long as all the recycling pickups were completed. The position was also for a productive individual. As I waas often working alone, this really needed to be someone who was motivated to work,
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment
Custodial Worker (Current Employee) –  Cedar City, UTJuly 19, 2018
Wonderful supervisor, great coworkers, good work environment. Very understanding of class conflicts/illness, offered good experience and opportunities.
Pros
Consistent, not hard work
Cons
Cleaning toilets isn’t particularly interesting, chemicals can be hazardous
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Safe and Successful
Regional Admissions Counselor (Former Employee) –  Provo, UTJune 28, 2018
When I worked at Southern Utah University, I felt that I had a safe work environment where my opinion was valued and often implemented. I also enjoyed who I worked with. The caliber of people at SUU are the best of the best.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Workplace
Janitorial Staff (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTJune 11, 2018
typically we clean and maintain our assigned area in a building, then we go out and set up for events all across campus ranging from tables and chairs to canopies.
Pros
It takes a while to do
Cons
it requires heavy lifting and working in the heat of the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to live.
Head Coach (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTJune 6, 2018
Great area to live, but new administration going in a different direction. Close to many national parks and outdoor lifestyle is great.The University is experiencing growth and is a big part of community, but not willing to have patience through the transition.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxed and worked with my school schedule.
Leadership & Volunteer Work (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTJune 4, 2018
It was perfect job for my first year at college. I graded things for a professor whenever I had time and could work at my apartment. I enjoyed it a lot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good opportunity with many skills learned
Food service worker (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTJune 4, 2018
Good learning environment and a lot of friendly staff. I learned a lot of presentation skills and displayed many social skills while working at Southern Utah University.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Amazing place to work
Lab Assistant & TA (Current Employee) –  Cedar City, UTMay 21, 2018
I love the flexibility and the people I get to work with. I get to work with students and professors alike. I have been able to work around my class schedule.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Relaxing
Lifeguard (Current Employee) –  Cedar City, UTMay 15, 2018
As far as a lifeguarding job this is about the most relaxed job you can have. The busiest times are when we have events. Even then the job is great and the manager is willing to work with employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer oriented work days
Math Tutor (Current Employee) –  Cedar City, UTMay 7, 2018
Each day varies with how busy it will be, depending on the students' need each day. Some days there is a lot of down time that is difficult to fill, other days are slammed and you don't get to dedicate as much time to the students.
Cons
Max work of 20 hour a week
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and educational workplace
Graphic Designer (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTMay 7, 2018
This was a great place to work as a student. I was able to advance my skills and gain valuable experience working in my field of study. The staff is very welcoming and always willing to help me learn.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and flexible work environment
Sign Shop Manager (Current Employee) –  Cedar City, UTMay 6, 2018
During the semester, you are able to set your own work schedule to accommodate your classes. 20 hours during the school year, 40 yours during the summer. The job is lots of fun and you are able to learn lots about customer service, billing work orders, meeting deadlines and basic graphic design techniques.
Pros
Flexible schedule, positive work environment, great management
Cons
No raises, not the greatest pay rate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good four Students
Writing Tutor (Former Employee) –  Cedar City, UTApril 27, 2018
I worked two part time jobs here as a student. This was because I could not live on the pay of one part time job. While I mostly enjoyed working as a student, it did sometimes get in the way of social and academic pursuits.
Pros
Work on campus, supervisors care
Cons
Limited amount of hours allowed to work, pay is not great
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southern Utah University. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 86 reviews
545
427
39
22
13

Ratings by category

4.3Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.9Management
4.1Culture

Ratings from women

3.0InHerSight Score

3.1Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight

Southern Utah University Reviews by Location