Southland Employee Reviews

Found 79 reviews matching the search See all 89 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just
Security Officer (Current Employee) –  Palmdale, CADecember 19, 2018
i did not I got a better job that it its was not good pay that it I did not like long hour it little pay I work hard for that is it just want to get a difrr
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
We had lots of work but it was a fun place to work.
Accounts Payable Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 21, 2018
The workplace culture was amazing while I was there. Upper management was very supportive. It was a lively work atmosphere but we were always able to keep it fun. I had a sense of real accomplishment there. It has been almost 20 years since I worked there so all of this could have changed of course.
Pros
Co-workers, management
Cons
work life balance
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It would be nice to play some game while we are on our breaks and lunch breaks
Walmart warehouse (Former Employee) –  Bethlehem, PANovember 19, 2018
I have learned alot since i had been working with southland i enjoyed stocking boxes and puting labs on the shelfs there wasn't nuthing hard about the job it was all easy work having a conversation with people while working
Pros
I enjoyed meeting new people having lunch with friends
Cons
There wasn't nuthing bad about the job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ambiente de trabajo bueno
Warehouse Worker (Temp) (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLOctober 14, 2018
Muy receptivos, gente con buenas atenciones, trabajo en equipo, liderazgo
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It’s is easy work not a lot of complaints just gets unorganized sometimes
werehouse worker (Former Employee) –  Moreno Valley, CASeptember 19, 2018
the temp service was ok it was my first temp job and the pay is ok I just wished the company was a little more organized but other than that the company was ok
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ran like a jail.
CNC MACHINIST (Former Employee) –  GreensburgAugust 30, 2018
To much of micro managing. They don't like four you leave on breaks. They want you to work work work work. Don't like u for you to talk while working. But u did get paid every week.
Pros
Ok money
Cons
Short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Retirement Hopeful
1) Assistant Purchasing Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 16, 2018
No day was typical. It was exciting, interacted with all levels of management, learned public speaking, acquired very strong business writing skills, required occasional travel and interacted with the personnel from the 5 national distribution centers that serviced 7-11 stores, thus developing bonds with these groups.
Pros
Good bonuses, generous vacation schedule, friendly atmosphere.
Cons
Upper management was in flux
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a secure place to work.
Construction Engineer (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAApril 4, 2018
Always on my guard, very cut throat culture. Performance based which is ok but expectations were high and so was the stress and pressure. Drove 40,000 business miles a year. Too much!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
short breaks
Food Service Worker (Current Employee) –  University of AlabamaMarch 26, 2018
A typical day working for Southland is pretty much laid back, until it's not, then controlled chaos. Our management team is the best! Twelve hours!...
Pros
never boring
Cons
constant moving about
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Personnel Training
Benefits Clerk (Former Employee) –  Norfolk, VAFebruary 28, 2018
I enjoyed working in the Personnel Office of Southland because it was new and challenging for me. I enjoyed working with various managers and processing 711 Store functions regarding employment practices to include hiring practices, and government programs for working American citizens. Learning about benefit packages was also interesting because most working citizens want to have good benefits to cover health and job security.
Pros
Learning how a personnel work environment functioned
Cons
store clerk terminations
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job and very insightful
Director of Operations (Former Employee) –  Schaumburg, ILDecember 15, 2017
This was my first job out of school and I appreciated the quick advancement opportunities provided. People were very helpful and you learned a lot from those around you.
Pros
good work environment
Cons
company was being bought out
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I worked there in contract capacity (see review for Compupros).
Consultant (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 27, 2017
I worked there as a contracter (see review for Compupros). I was assigned there by CompuPros to do an payroll outsourcing project and to assist with their year-end activities.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast Paced
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MONovember 7, 2017
I went to the bank and did the order of all supplies for the store. This was my first Management job so I would say that I learned a lot from this company. I would say that even at 20 this was a job I leaned the most from. The profit sharing was great as we were given shares of the company.
Pros
Great Profit Sharing
Cons
Old style gas pumps that broke quit often.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Clerk, Assistant MGR, Manager (Former Employee) –  All different stores, ILSeptember 27, 2017
I had a good time working as a clerk, Assistant Manager, and Manager. We always had a good crew to work with. It was fun, yet very fast paced. It made the day fly buy.
Pros
Fun place to work, fast paced, challanging.
Cons
No breaks, no health insurance, no guarentee you wouldn't work a 24 hour shift.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rude
Valet Attendant (Former Employee) –  Marion, ARJanuary 29, 2017
i liked where i worked at but i just could not stand the people. I am a very good employ and always do as i am told, there was no reason for them to be as rude to me as they where.
Pros
none
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The region I worked for was not good
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLDecember 30, 2016
There was always work to be done. There was no breaks at my locations. Towards the end of my employment, there was corruption in my management. I found payroll fraud being done and I whistle blew it and had retaliation by them.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work for
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAAugust 12, 2016
Great place to work for. the company offers a great benefits package. They offer dental,medical and life insurance. The company also offers a 401 K plan as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved New Challenges daily
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Burleson, TXFebruary 11, 2016
You never know who will walk into your store but its always a joy to see how you can help them. I liked meeting new challenges everyday for new people. I loved seeing return customers come back because of the positive experience i helped deliver.
Cons
some people can really be messy
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SouthLand
Store Manager (Former Employee) –  West Virginia (WV)February 5, 2016
I enjoyed working for Southland Corporation. It was a fast paced environment which I enjoyed. I decided to leave company back in the mid 1990's due to compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The only Clerk on Duty at night
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fenton, MOJanuary 24, 2016
Ran cash register, stocked shelves and cooler, swept inside and outside areas, pulled merchandise to front of shelves, baked cookies and made coffee. The only clerk on duty from 11:00 PM to 7:00 AM.
Learned how to move a long line of customers with their purchases and how to do inventory for receiving, ordering, and stocking merchandise.
We had a very good staff.
It was hard to always catch people running off without paying for gas or beer.
Getting people out of the store in a short amount of time.
Management could have been better with assigning the proper staff.
Pros
I enjoyed the gummy snakes and co-workers
Cons
The store location was too far from where I lived
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 89 reviews
535
424
324
23
13

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
3.7Culture