Southland Employee Reviews

Found 81 reviews matching the search See all 91 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Port Orange, FLOctober 13, 2014
Excellent place to work, was placed as a manager of the business and ran the company for the owners.
Pros
Overall great place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
customer service (Former Employee) –  Lakeside, CAOctober 13, 2014
I was working customer service for a 7-11 store. I exchanged monies, received stock, took inventory, and managed the store during mid-nite shifts.
Pros
working with public
Cons
lack of pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good experience - allow me to start in the professional business
Accounting Supervisor (Former Employee) –  San Juan, PRSeptember 27, 2014
Challenge to manage ethical issues, but great opportunity to learn and demonstrate capabilities to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a great place to work, the clients were very pleasant.
Various Temporary Assignments (Former Employee) –  New York, NYAugust 26, 2014
Answer phones, input personal & coprarate Tax Returns, input employee timesheets & expenses. I learned how to multi-task on a daily basis. The management was very professional, yet flexible. My coworkers all came from different areas of the Metroplitan area, which allotted me a vast knowledge of the surounding areas. The hardest part of the job was being bonded from October to April for tax season. The most enjoyable part of the job was the End of Tax Season Celebration, everyone was able to relax and enjoy all of our efforts throughout the official Tax Season.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very friendly enviornment
Cook/Dietary aid (Current Employee) –  Peachtree city GAAugust 4, 2014
Wonderful place.
Awesome typically day
I have learned to be the best me I can be
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hardworkers Only
Senior Delivery Driver (Current Employee) –  Suwanee, GAJuly 30, 2014
Typical week involves working 14 hour days with long driving requirements and delivery of merchandise.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was a great place tp learn the basics of cash handling and customer service.
Cashier/ Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSJune 20, 2014
I provided great customer service. I learned all aspects of auditing cash drawers and resolving discrepancies. I learned all aspects of bookkeeping including Ap and ar. I love working with the public and meeting new people. The hardest part of the job was the required hours i.e. nights, weekends, and holidays.
Pros
it was a wonderful learning experience.
Cons
nights weekends and holidays that are required.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Entry level job
Merchandising (Former Employee) –  Laurel, MDMay 2, 2014
Typical work day is includes managing the backroom by arranging and consolidating back stock ; identifying, monitoring, and reporting backstock inventory levels; evaluating and processing
Training are very limited
The management are good in giving on on the job training
The co-workers are very supportive with the training
This is on the job training
The most enjoyable part is going from store to store; taking inventory
Pros
Meeting people and talking to them about the products
Cons
Some are very tough to talk to
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss
Regional Advertising Manager (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXApril 21, 2014
I set up radio contest in six states during my tenure.
Including a car give away to promoted traffic for the Daytona race.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company in the begining
General Manager/District Manager Trainee (Former Employee) –  Orlando, FLApril 13, 2014
started as a MIT moved on to manager went on to district mgr in training , also was working with my courier company , in the end the courier company took to much of my time so i had to leave to keep in growing
Pros
customer service training was wonderful
Cons
soon the company grew to fast and forgot of customer serivce you became a number such a shame
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Crazy place to work
Lead Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Bradenton, FLMarch 16, 2014
Met many people each day and it was fun to work with them. They would work you like a dog sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to start customer service career
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAFebruary 20, 2014
Great company to start customer service career and learn how to deal with people on a daily basis.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Responsible for sales, profit and overall operation of 133 7-Eleven franchised stores in N. MD.
Zone Manager 7-Eleven Stores (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDFebruary 8, 2014
As a zone manager I had to balance many expectations, including visiting franchisees at their stores, counseling subordinates regarding work performance, attending community or zoning board meetings, attending management update meetings or reviewing financial performance reports.

The hardest part of the job was advising franchisees as to how to increase the value of their business, especially when they thought they already knew it all.

The most enjoyable part was watching the development of one of my employees, to the point of him/her being promoted.
Pros
Significant time to work without direct supervision.
Cons
Unrealistic expectations as to annual increases in sales and profits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Work Place
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Sea Bright, NJJanuary 13, 2014
Great Co-workers
Excellent Customers
Enjoyed getting to know other people
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Menial Job
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Ramona, CADecember 12, 2013
Not very difficult job to pick up anybody can do this job. Hours can be long but it's easy to stay busy if you follow the schedule.
Cons
eating fast food on the clock
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great boss.
Zone Secretary (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 5, 2013
Interesting day to day activity. Was isolated from all of my associates which made the job rather lonely.
Pros
Health care.
Cons
Was left alone in the office a lot with no co-workers. Not very good pay.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VANovember 16, 2013
Great diverse place to work, a positvie attitude is a must on the count of the variety of customers on a daily basis
Pros
Payroll dedcution for products in store
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is a decent place to work, however the pay isn't much unless you get into management.
Merchandiser/Sales (Former Employee) –  El Paso, TXNovember 8, 2013
Overall an easy job with room for advancement. Good job for students or retirees.
Pros
Easy and simple job. Work stays at work.
Cons
Dealing with entitled public. Every employee is suspect.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
hard working detailed store manager
STORE MANAGER (Current Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VANovember 3, 2013
overall store operations, customer service, loyal, honest, hard working
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
enjoyable
Manager (Former Employee) –  Henderson, NVNovember 3, 2013
good people nice place to work enjoyed the time there
learned alot about chain stores
Pros
n/a
Cons
n/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 91 reviews
536
424
324
23
14

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture