Southland Employee Reviews

Found 80 reviews matching the search See all 90 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Management with the Company, they really support work life balance
Asst. Manager/Bookkeeper (Former Employee) –  Redlands, CAOctober 10, 2013
This was a great first job experience, providing growth, support, stability. You felt that you were a part of the family so to speak.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They cared about their employees.
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chesterfield, VASeptember 4, 2013
This company did care about their employees. they talked to each one and actually liten to what you had to say. They also helped you and would go the extra mile to help you.
Pros
great company to work for.
Cons
Hard to move up in the company sometimes.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great benefits
Merchandise Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chesapeake, VAAugust 14, 2013
Keying in and comparing receipts for 7/11 stores in Florida.. Reviewing and proofing audits for stores.
Pros
great benefits
Cons
Having to store paperwork
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great retail leader ..
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Richmond Virginia..June 5, 2013
Long productive day's , Great place if you enjoy meeting and working with people,
Management and other advancements are easy in this industry.
Very rewarding joob..
Pros
Choose your hours and days you can work ..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
long
Clerk (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMay 31, 2013
long Transports passengers on a pre-determined route and assists with route and fare information as well as boarding and deboarding bus. Performs pre-trip inspections, interact with customers and reads route sheets and maps. Monitors farebox to ascertain correct fare has been deposited, dispenses and collects transfers. Files a defect card daily, noting mechanical and body defects on vehicle. Reports to dispatcher via radio any route detours, or whenever passengers might require assistance of police, medical or other services. Records farebox readings and special passenger counts as required. Maintains daily work sheet and completes accident/incident reports when necessary. Other duties assigned or required.hours not enounh pay u get no vac . days no sick days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall, Southland is a good company to work for.
Accounts Payable Clerk (Former Employee) –  Rancho Cordova, CAMay 30, 2013
A typical day involved sorting, coding, and inputing information from merchandise bills.

For the most part, management was encouraging and responsive.

Co-workers had strong work ethic.

The hardest part was the volume of work received after holidays making it a challenge to maintain timeliness.

The most enjoyable part was that I was expected to work independently and could privately listen to my choice of radio stations.
Pros
Consistency of work. Compensation and benefits were reasonable.
Cons
The commute.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Self motivating job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 25, 2013
I work the second shift ( 2-10pm), there is never a manager on duty when I work, or another employee. I ring up the customers and get them out smooth and quickly, order groceries and supplies for the store, clean and stock the store as well. At the end of the shift I count down both registers and the money vault. Print out all reports.
Pros
Meeting new people daily
Cons
I never get to see my kids because they always make me work 2-10pm
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and productive
Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  FLApril 19, 2013
Nice place to work...Love working with the elderly and giving a helping hand whenever needed!!
Pros
loved helping people
Cons
none30
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work. Gave you a pat on the back for good work
Senior Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Winchester, VAMarch 25, 2013
loved working herel Good pay and salary. Praised your work.
Pros
fridays was causal day and we got off early and they bought our lunch and paid for it
Cons
non
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
professional promoting of employees inside
Assistant Manager, Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Kill Devil Hills, NCMarch 7, 2013
Keeping employees happy was there biggest attribute. Bonuses were always on the upper managements mind. Always improving customer service.
Pros
upper management support was great
Cons
japenese buyout in mid 90s was to unorganized.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
nice
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Portsmouth, VAFebruary 22, 2013
Learn alot @ Navy Gateway about giving good customers service
Pros
lunch/guest, staff
Cons
hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Night cashier (Former Employee) –  Irving, TXJanuary 24, 2013
set schedule most weeks working with people.. seeing new and old faces..
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would work for Southland again!
Supervisor, Group Insurance Benefits Specialist (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 20, 2012
What can I say about Southland other than I grew up there. I worked there for 18 years starting as a night shift 7-11 store clerk. They recognized my ability and allowed me to progress into the corporate office into HR. This is where my career began. They introduced me to my now "passion" for HR. I still keep in touch with several past co-workers - friends for life!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
7-11 was a great learning experience.
7-11 (Former Employee) –  Hampton, VANovember 10, 2012
7-11 was a great learning experience. It was one of my first real jobs and taught me alot.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
First job out of Business School
Corporate Marketing (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXSeptember 22, 2012
Hired to create the first frequent shopper program for 7-11s
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good coo-workers
Landscaping (Former Employee) –  Spartanburg, SCSeptember 5, 2012
typical day started at 7am and usally ended around 6pm
learned about the landscaping business
Pros
good co-workers
Cons
long hours, no benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good first job experience.
Auditor (Former Employee) –  Torrance, CAJune 30, 2012
The most typical day is dealing with traffic and owners of each convenient stores. I have learned the value of work and integrity. I had no confidence with management due to lack of perception and co-workers always have issues with each other. The hardest part of the job is going through documents. The most enjoyable portion is having a balanced outcome.
Pros
good benefits.
Cons
dealing with unethical store owners.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great job with terrific producers
Assistant Film Editor (Former Employee) –  Los AngelesJune 25, 2012
Good experience with lots of practice on sound work. The post production staff was supportive. The Editing staff was top notch.
Pros
working on an acclaimed project was rewarding
Cons
the commute downtown was challenging
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great opportunity
Associate (Former Employee) –  Salt Lake City, UTMarch 28, 2012
great company to supplement income and work in customer service
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport

See more Southland reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southland. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 90 reviews
535
424
324
23
14

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.4Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.7Culture