Southwest Airlines Employee Reviews

Found 1,405 reviews matching the search See all 1,411 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SWA is Awesome
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDDecember 8, 2018
Enjoyed every minute at SWA. I would suggest this to anyone wanting a career in Customer Service and Airlines. Weather temps can be discouraging but if you just push through its well worth it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
CUSTOMER SERIVCE AGENT (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZDecember 7, 2018
A fun-loving environment in which everybody treats each other like family. Very flexible hours and greats benefit overall a great company to work for.
Pros
flight benefits
Cons
no cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company with some questionable employees
Ramp Agent (Current Employee) –  Orange County, CADecember 5, 2018
Southwest Airlines is a great company and the benefits that come with this job are extraordinary. Personally, I took this job to get experience within the aviation industry and I knew Southwest was among one of the most sought out companies to work for. That being said, being a ramp agent isn't for everybody. Sure, the pay may be great when you top out after 11 years but at first be ready to work multiple double shifts every pay period (16hr days) to make ends meet. On top of that, get ready for mandatory overtime often when you first start. Have plans to go out after your shift? Better cancel them now. A lot of my co workers use their seniority to boss the lower agents around and the management does nothing and literally can't do anything because we as ramp agents are protected by the union which I see as a double edged sword. Yes, I know that it is the ramp but some things that I overhear are just ridiculous. It's almost like being back in middle/high school with some of the drama that occurs.

Overall, once you get the hang of things this job is easy. It's a great company with amazing benefits and if you're looking to get some experience it's a good place to start. You can trade shifts, work as many hours as you want or give away as many hours as you want. But, just know that some agents feel entitled to boss and talk down upon the newer agents even though our job title reads the exact same thing. Seniority on the ramp is really only good for bidding on your schedule each month, but some people use it as an excuse to not show up to their flights and put in as little effort
  more... as necessary  less
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to Work
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  BWIDecember 3, 2018
Southwest is a great place to work and I would be interested in going back as soon as the opportunity I am looking for becomes available. Thumbs Up!!!
Pros
Good pay, good co-workers, good benefits.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Ramp Agent (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 3, 2018
A very relaxed work place, I have learnt a lot about airplanes. Them management cares about the employees. There is a culture committee that plan various activities throughout the year for employees
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work.
Airport Ramp Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLDecember 3, 2018
Good company to work for. Pay is good. Able to transfer to different stations/cities and different departments. Health benefits are good for families as well as travel benefits.
Pros
Able to transfer to different cities
Cons
Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Oma
csa (Former Employee) –  Omaha, NEDecember 3, 2018
a lot of good people, but a lot of cut throat people closing shift. Manager to close to employees. Passed all training, but in airport training to many chiefs doing diffrent thinngs
Pros
day people
Cons
closing shift
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
Ramp Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Romulus, MIDecember 2, 2018
great place to work, people are great and company really takes care of its employees. good place to grow and try different job positions. great pay as well
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I really enjoyed my time at Southwest
Customer Sales & Support (Former Employee) –  Call Center Phoenix, AZNovember 28, 2018
I had to find a job that was more 9-5 I was adopting my twin grandchildren. I had to think long and hard about leaving many great relationships formed, but I needed the consistency of 9-5 for them, my grandchildren.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Challenging Work, long hours. Good Culture
Inflight Operations Supervisor, F/A Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Denver, CONovember 27, 2018
Southwest Airlines is a very good company. The culture is very strong. The company invest a lot of time and money on training its employees. It offers a high 401K match, profit sharing and stock option purchase plan.
Pros
Good culture
Cons
Long hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wanna Be Poor and Overworked Forever?
Reservations Agent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 27, 2018
It's a job. As stated, you'll be poor and overworked forever. It's a 24/7 environment, so be ready to work until 3 or 4 in the AM if that's your shift. Want to advance? Be willing to wait for the people who have been there for 20 years to quit, get fired, or laid off....This is a hostile environment
Pros
None
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome and fun place to work and learn
Data Analyst Intern - Corporate Sales (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 25, 2018
Awesome and fun place to work and learn. Given chances to apply my skill set to generate opportunities and revenue for the team by improving efficiency
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unknown direction and could've been more precise
Senior Systems Engineer (Current Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 23, 2018
I was a contractor for SWA and there wasn't any insensitive on making me permanent or anything like that. I did enjoy the work because of my love for technology.
Pros
Worked
Cons
Unstable
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work.
Provisioning Agent (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXNovember 20, 2018
Excellent place to work. Treat employees great. Good employees benefits. Lots of overtime. Treat emplyees well. Excellent health vision eye insurance. Good 401k
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
dangerously misleading
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Hanover, MDNovember 19, 2018
extremely physically taxing. not worth the pay.Over all i would not recommend working for this company. they pushed my doctors to send me back to work when i was injured. this led to further injury, resulting in a permanent partial disability in my right knee.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work very hard
Ground Operations Agent (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 18, 2018
To many questions and answers about how they try the employees but they dont trying to listen the employees so that's the only bad thing I can say
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful if you hired and keep the second option of job
Ramp Agent (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 17, 2018
Company is great but the HOUSTON local management is not as great to provide tools and trainer ( fun loving trainer at DALLAS TRAINING CENTER ) to make you successful on your probation period not effectively looking your peers.You got hired after so many application and company spend good amount of money on your hiring process and terminate the knowledgeable and experienced aviation back ground employees because of the Non professional trainer on probation period. Local management ruin my career and put me in financial hardship not giving opportunity to deliver my experience and knowledge.
I WISH A GOOD LUCK TO THE PEOPLE WHO ARE IN PROCESS OF HIRING OR ON PROBATION PERIOD, KEEP YOUR SECOND OPTION OPEN .
Pros
Great company structure with benefits
Cons
Non professional trainer
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Your family away from your family
Flight Attendant (Former Employee) –  Baltimore–Washington International Airport, MDNovember 14, 2018
A wonderful company that treats their employees just as wonderful as their external customers. Excellent benefits and a fast-paced, ever-changing work environment. A winning team that makes even a perceived "bad" day awesome.
Pros
Flexible schedules
Cons
Unpredictable operations based on weather and maintenance issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
privilege
Administrator (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 13, 2018
Southwest has a culture that is very unbalanced racially. in the station where i worked the majority of the employees terminated and harassed are black while the white workers are coddled and their errors overlooked.
Pros
free travel
Cons
racist culture
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice company to work for
Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 12, 2018
The Southwest Culture is great in training. Some of the airport locations need a refresher to ensure that they are reflecting that same energy. Peers were a great help throughout training
Pros
Great flight benefits, great benefits
Cons
Pay needs to be higher for duties involved, Culture needs to be adopted by management in the airports
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southwest Airlines. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.4
Based on 1,411 reviews
5860
4313
3154
245
139

See reviews about

4.0Work/Life Balance
4.3Compensation/Benefits
4.0Job Security/Advancement
3.8Management
4.3Culture

Ratings from women

3.4InHerSight Score

3.3Personal Development

3.9Career Opportunities

3.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight