SOUTHWEST GAS CORPORATION Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive workplace and good people
GIS Mapper/Drafter (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZFebruary 15, 2018
SWG is a good company to work for. The hours are great. I learned about the utility descriptions in general. My boss is very helpful. I would complete jobs on time and deadlines were met. Everyone there were very helpful. Overall it's a great place.
Pros
Snacks, Good people
Cons
Contract position
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical utility workplace
Analyst (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 7, 2018
Typical Utility Work
Matching 401(k) Plan with 50% employer match on the first 7% of employee contributions
Tuition reimbursement plan—covering up to $5,250 per year toward tuition and books.
100% company-paid pension plan
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
southwest gas
Construction Technician (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZNovember 27, 2017
Everyday was a new challenge. it was a family atmosphere. You are expected to be professional at all times. Given a lot of trust to make your own decisions. Moral was great. There where times were you are mentally challenged.
Pros
great people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer satisfaction related enviornment
New Business Representative (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 30, 2017
Typical work day is fast pasted and customer driven. I have learned
about product and infrastructure. Management supports
its employees and trust their judgement based on training and support provided by the company. The workplace culture is awesome and coworkers work as team players. The most challenging part of of the job is keeping up with the customer demand but is is also rewarding. The most enjoyable part of the job is achieving total customer satisfaction with helping them bring our services to a home or business.
Pros
Rewards for customer satisfaction.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJuly 25, 2017
Southwest Gas corporation is a great company to work with. The only con that I have with the company is that they are not receptive to new ideas, which I believe is sad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Customer Representative (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJuly 24, 2017
I enjoy working here and will retire here. The company cares about your well-being at work and at home. They are committed to making people exceptional
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stable Long Term Place to Work
Construction Representative (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZJune 7, 2017
Southwest Gas is a good company who is well established in the community. They are very busy and you be able to handle a large work load. They have good benefits and discounts available to employees.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible
Investigator II - Risk Management (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMay 22, 2017
Clickish. Don't get sick, as they will throw you out like yesterdays newspaper (mine was cancer). Demanding, inept management. People sleep on the job without consequence. Very poor safety culture. No longer a family-oriented workplace. Production is king. Greed is God. 40 hours is now the bare minimum, more is expected.
Pros
Free coffee
Cons
Inept management.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work, wonderful people
Economics Intern (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 3, 2017
Southwest Gas is an amzing place to work. Great work-life balance and everyone takes the job seriously but are very helpful. People stay with the company for decades.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
solid but low paying
Senior Programmer Analyst (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVApril 18, 2017
As is what is expected from utility company jobs, they are low paying, but they are very stable. I met some people that had been working with the company for over 30 years.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rewarding
Construction Technician (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZOctober 18, 2015
To work in a manor along with other employees
To get the work done, safely and have a good
Time as well and be able to look back and
Say that I did the best I could.
Pros
Good pay
Cons
Not enough time in the day
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Caveat Emptor
Representative (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVAugust 6, 2014
Caution! Ask questions. Some people are nice and work with you.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Admin Staff (Current Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVFebruary 28, 2014
I was happy there at first but the nature of the work is stressful. They don't open new positions often.
Pros
Good benefits, Pto, Competitive wages
Cons
strict culture, not very open to change, advancement difficult due to large number of older workers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Representative (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZMarch 1, 2013
Typical day includes a lot of data entry. I enjoyed working with a vast awry of people. Would not trade my job experience here for anything.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Good Company to work for
Contractor Senior Analyst/Programmer (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVJune 18, 2012
Excellent Company to work for, progressive organization with strong emphasis on employee growth and wellfare.
Pros
good environment
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Coworkers
Internship-representing SBI Program (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMarch 25, 2012
Work typically starts around 7:45- 8:00 AM, and the day is very enjoyable. The co-workers are friendly easy to get along with, and fun. There was not a day that I dreaded going to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 2Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SOUTHWEST GAS CORPORATION. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 17 reviews
58
43
32
23
11

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.7Management
3.8Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.3

3.2Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

3.1Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

SOUTHWEST GAS CORPORATION Reviews by Location