SOUTHWEST WATER COMPANY Employee Reviews

3.6
Overall rating
Based on 30 reviews
Ratings breakdown
59
49
36
23
13
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Showing all 30 reviews
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Water Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXDecember 6, 2017
I had the chance to learn a new field and enjoyed the experience.

repairing, replacing water meters, and hanging notices was stressful.
Overall, I enjoyed the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Experience
Water Operator II (Former Employee) –  TexasOctober 24, 2017
This is a great company to work for. This company offers great pay and benefits that other private utility companies do not offer. I met many employees that have been with this company for a very long time. If your looking for great pay and benefits and want a career in Water/Wastewater/Surface Water Utilities, this is definitely the place to be.
Pros
Great Pay and Benefits
Cons
The week of being oncall can get extremely busy, but your getting paid overtime.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to work
IT Business Solution Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 17, 2017
Good place to work, with descent benefit and good work life balance . The only negative is the possibility of advancement since the company is small. Overall probably a 7.5 out of 10
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Perks
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXMay 5, 2017
They would bring in lunch, or treats along with providing massages to the employees. You are very busy with phone calls and entering customer information along with setting up accounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SouthWest Water Company
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Birmingham, ALApril 10, 2017
Some days were busier than others. I didn't like the down time. I liked the diversity of the work. They are located at
728 Volare Drive
Birmingham, AL 35244
Pros
I learned a lot under my supervisor.
Cons
There was too much down time.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Payroll Tax Accountant (Former Employee) –  Stafford, TXOctober 19, 2015
Typical Company with fast paced work. Company just needed more structure. Reconcile all of the payroll tax which was backed up but not it is ok.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Place to Work
Plant Operations (Former Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXJuly 22, 2015
Southwest water company is a great company to work for. They will definitely keep you busy there is no doubt about that. The only downside to operations is the bi monthly on call schedule that will keep you on your toes sometimes all day and night.
Pros
Lots of Hours
Cons
Lots of Hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
workplace
Meter Reader (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 8, 2015
Check meters.
Made sure I answered customers questions about their bills, and provide the best feed back. I had learned how to communicate and teach our customers on how to maintain the usage of the water.
Was this review helpful?Yes 12No 4Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Office Job
Office Assistant (Former Employee) –  HoustonNovember 18, 2014
Did everything anyone needed in the office.
a good learning tool
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 3Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun enviroment
MUD Board representative / Client Manager (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXNovember 11, 2014
it was a great company to work for .
I enjoyed the clients and the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 3Report

Want to know more about SOUTHWEST WATER COMPANY?

Ask a question
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
SAP Project Manager
SAP Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Stafford, TXSeptember 12, 2014
learned managing team with complete SDLC cycle.
experience working in extra hours
training & mentoring team memebers
hiring and motivating to reach targets.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Duties
Quality Analyst and Quality Control (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJune 23, 2014
• SAP development, testing, implementation, and training project
• Provide coaching assistance to improve level of knowledge and quality performance
• Provided recommendation, processed, and trained continued education of employees
• Develop action plans to improve the level of quality presented to our customers
• Weekly call calibrations with managers to collectively observe agent calls and discuss plans to improve
• Provide feedback to agents and coaches on individual representatives
• Conducted interviews, selected, developed training for new hire employees
• Developed processes for newly established department (Research Team)
• Present weekly and monthly reporting of monitored calls
• Monitor inbound calls for CSC agents
• 08/20/08 Promoted to Quality Assurance Analyst
• Call Monitor for quality assurance and monthly reporting and tracking
• Provide training assistance to familiarize new Contract Managers with Customer Service processes
• Work with multiple departments and groups to resolve billing and technical issues for customers
• Provide assistance with billing inquiries, service issues, setup/disconnection of accounts
• Inbound customer service representative for water service utility provider
Pros
No Comment
Cons
No Comment
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 14Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dispatching service orders/Purchase order processing
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Pflugerville, TXApril 3, 2014
Dispatched service orders to coworkers, processed purchase order requests and filing.
I learned about the water and wastewater process. Also I learned a new processing system (SAP). My coworkers were very kind and enjoyed me asking questions about the processes.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
Desk Only Duties
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly environment, employee oriented
SAP Security Analyst (Former Employee) –  Sugarland, TXMarch 24, 2014
efficient, expert and custom delivery of water and wastewater services to hundreds of thousands of customers in four states.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun
maintenance (Current Employee) –  Fort Worth, TXFebruary 6, 2014
get wet everyday replace pipelines from2' 6' a lot of digging and locating the problem
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 6Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work
Bookkeepping/Laboratory Technician (Former Employee) –  Canton, MSOctober 29, 2013
This company came in a bought the company that I and 10 other staffer had work with for years. SWWC let everbody go.
Pros
Good Salary
Cons
Poor Management
Was this review helpful?Yes 11No 7Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I had worked on the wells.
Water and waste water opperator (Former Employee) –  Magnolia, TXJune 21, 2013
I found it very challageing to fix water leaks. I also enjoyed the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work where I met a lot of nice people
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Sugar Land, TXFebruary 26, 2013
It was a great place to work and I'm very sorry that it shut down the Houston office and that I had to get laid off. I would still be working there if tha thad nt happend
Pros
they had lots of picnics outside, a lot of good people
Cons
switching over to a new system slowed us down
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A day at SWWC
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 29, 2013
SWWC wasn't a bad place to work, in the 6 years of working for SWWC I learned alot. However it became the same thing everyday. There was no room for growth, and there was no challenge. Co-workers were great. The moral in the place was at all time low.
Was this review helpful?Yes 10No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working for this company and I learned a lot about the water industry.
Client Billing/Contract Manager Assistant (Former Employee) –  Houston, TexasDecember 26, 2012
My job as a Client Biller and Contract Manager Assistant was challenging at times, but I loved my job, because it fulfilled me with great knowledge and skills, and opportunities.
Pros
good benefits, family oriented company
Cons
the company downsized and laid off.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 3Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SOUTHWEST WATER COMPANY. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question