Southwestern Community Action Council, Inc. Employee Reviews

Showing all 14 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was a productive and interesting place to work
Marketing Specialist (Current Employee) –  Huntington, WVMay 15, 2019
the time I spent a Southwestern was an eye opener. it showed the real challenges mature workers do face. There us still plenty of wikkingness and ability in this group and should not be wated.That was the hardest challenge, trying to find work for one of the clients."\
I enjoyed all aspects of this program
Pros
great place to meet hard workers
Cons
Limited hours and time period
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Felt at home working there.
Custodian (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVDecember 31, 2018
Very good people to work for. Enjoyed the relationships I made with co- workers. A typical day at work was spent cleaning offices. I learned to work well with the people I met.
the most enjoyable part of the job was meeting the people at break time and lunch
Pros
Good work environment
Cons
Low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
okay
Mason County Homeless Shelter (Current Employee) –  Point Pleasant, WV 25550August 16, 2017
The management has not been the most supportive. They give lip service but do not follow through. I am working currently in a hostile work environment with one co-worker causing everyone else to hate their job and they have not dealt with the issue.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very good service to the community
Social Worker (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVJuly 14, 2017
this company provides several community service jobs in the area. They are involved in early childhood education as well as senior living assistance. They provide a large amount of the referal services in the area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice people
ITE Trainee (Current Employee) –  Huntington, WVJuly 12, 2017
The people I work with in my classroom are GREAT!!!! And working with the little children is amazing!!! Wouldn't want it any different, except for money wise... :)
Pros
Free breakfast and lunch
Cons
No breaks until children leave for the day.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very stressful with micromanaging management personnel
Infant/Toddler Educator (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVMay 5, 2017
The children were a joy to work with, however, the management in this organization creates a very hostile work environment. There is no positive reinforcement for work completed and there are a lot of criticisms with rude comments and write ups. Working with the families and their children can be very rewarding and many of the employees become attached to the families they serve. The company does not follow the recommended continuity of care for the children and frequently makes changes to positions. The pay is very low for the amount of work expected and the benefits are not up to par with other agencies.
Pros
The children and families
Cons
Management makes it difficult to do your job, unpleasant work environment, very stressful
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Trainee (Former Employee) –  Ashland, KYApril 20, 2017
It is a good fit for those who cannot work all day and need 15 - 20 hrs a week. for me it gave me part time work so I could go to school fulltime I'm very thankful
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No
Nutrition Specialist (Current Employee) –  Huntington, WVJanuary 5, 2017
Good People with a few bad apples
Helps families
long days
Ok place to work
A lot of freedom
Some dated ideas
Lunch is the most enjoyable part
Very Stressful Company
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good company
Homemaker (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVDecember 17, 2015
Southwestern was a wonderful place to work for. Didn't have a problem with the company. Had a very wonderful boss. Some of the clients were mean but I dealt with it. What really made me stop working for southwestern was when I hurt my back lifting a gentleman and then I couldn't take a leave so I could heal up.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Wonderful Company to work for.
Title V Training (Current Employee) –  Huntington, WVSeptember 17, 2015
I would recommend this company to anyone. Many different jobs to learn and fast paced.They have a lot of incentives for the employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Child and family oriented
Head Start Teacher (Former Employee) –  Huntington, WVJuly 15, 2013
Dedicated to meeting the needs of children and families in the communities they serve
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a training, government subsidized
Trainee (Current Employee) –  Huntington, WVFebruary 9, 2013
I train for MiAppa. I sell ,file answer the phone,Work on inventory, label and organize the products. It is different for me and fun. , I have a good trainer.
Pros
i only work 5 hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun working at filing
Mature Worker Program (Current Employee) –  Huntington, WV City HallMay 13, 2012
Love working with the city Hall employees and love filing and other duties that go with the job Training
Pros
make new friends
Cons
take short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Southwestern Community Action Council, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.3
Based on 14 reviews
56
46
32
20
10

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
4.0Culture

Southwestern Community Action Council, Inc. Reviews by Job Title

Southwestern Community Action Council, Inc. Reviews by Location