Spartan Race, Inc. Employee Reviews

Found 19 reviews matching the search See all 29 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great organization focused on the right mission!
Consultant // Brand Strategist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAMay 22, 2019
Awesome place to work if you love endurance sport and believe in the mission of inspiring people to get off the couch and back to an active, healthy, lifestyle.

Engaging work for marketers looking to work on a fast moving and innovative company. There is no shortage of work.

Too many 'cooks in the kitchen'. The left hand is not always talking to the right hand, and there appears to be a general disconnect between management and the people with feet on the ground. Management needs to walk the walk a little better, and set realistic expectations.
Pros
Endurance racing and culture
Cons
Long hours that may go unrecognized
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Outstanding Vision, Amazing People, Wimps need not apply
BUILD & LOGISTICS DIRECTOR (Former Employee) –  Boston, USA; Canada; NEMAFebruary 15, 2019
This company is dedicated to the mission of changing lives, getting people off the couch and out of their comfort zones, and developing grit and enthusiasm. Every employee is dedicated to the cause, and they work endless hours to create the most challenging events in the world.

This job is definitely not for the weak of spirit or for someone looking for a regular 40 hour per week job. The work will consume your life. Whether or not that is a good thing depends on your frame of reference and personal goals.

Me? I would go back in a heartbeat!
Pros
Travel to the most beautiful places in the world
Cons
100+ hour work weeks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Global Brand with incredible growth opportunity!
Marketing Manager (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 10, 2019
Proud to be a SPARTAN and work for an organization and product that truly transforms lives! In my entire career I have never worked for a brand that has the power SPARTAN has to impact millions in a positive way.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great mission, great people.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  RemoteFebruary 10, 2019
Great people to work with. The mission statement is great and the company is expanding rapidly, Stronger upper-management is needed for the company to really hit its goals.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's a unique company
Disc Jockey and Emcee/Announcer (Current Employee) –  Boston, MA 02110January 4, 2019
Typical days went at least twelve hours and sometimes as long as 18 hours. Learned a lot. Workplace is great with coworkers, mediocre with management. Lots of my job parts are hard, but I enjoyed playing music to happy crowds.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
SOCIAL MEDIA MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PADecember 19, 2018
This company was great to work with . Every thing they do is for the cause of better peoples life with the obstacle courses they set up at their events. As well they bring people together to share in the interest of living a healthy life while creating a fun atmosphere to be in.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor Culture - top down
Employee (Former Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 11, 2018
Such an amazing company on paper and could be a top place to work if the culture was better. It's a "good old boys club" and women are treated poorly. From the COO in the corner office bragging about inappropriate dealings and relationships, to vulgar language, to in fighting, this place has it all. People are pitted against each other, and encouraged to "win". Departments do not talk to each other due to this and the work environment is toxic, fractured, and run in silo's. You don't know uncomfortable until you have been in a conference room where nobody gets along, works against every idea that is not theirs, and the company never gets ahead.

What they are doing as a brand and motivating people can't be denied, it is incredible. The money, time, resources, and people that are wasted in the process is also incredible.
Pros
Free races, freedom to sink or swim, travel
Cons
See review
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spartan Race
Director (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 3, 2018
Fast paced and very competitive. Long hours and salary compensation. Great health benefits and time off. Awesome opportunity for travel and to be a part of other departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Life changing company
VP, Global Brand Marketing (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAJuly 25, 2018
Spartan's main mission is to help people transform their lives for the better, with a focus on events, health & wellness, media & content, partnerships, and gear & merchandise.

As the VP, Global Brand Marketing for the last 4 years I have been able to work across the entire organization to lead the marketing strategy to support all of the company's initiatives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be competitive
Other (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 30, 2018
Competitive company, lot's of individualism, great young people culture. I was happy with my salary here, but I imagine it varies by department. The turnover rate is laughable.
Pros
Cool company, free race entry
Cons
Can be unprofessional at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Assistant Event Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Pittsfield, VTJanuary 19, 2018
I loved interning and working at Spartan Race. The environment and people you get to work and network with provides a lot of growth. I got to travel all across the country to help construct and manage a lot of events. The pay was below average I would say but the experience was priceless and you do get reimbursed for expenses. You also get free food at the events too and per diem while travelling
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spartan Race
Real Estate Manager (Former Employee) –  Ponte Vedra, FLFebruary 7, 2017
Spartan Race is a well-oiled machine at every level. Exceptional leadership and vision to dominate in the OCR industry. Advancement opportunity and growth for anyone that goes above and beyond. Opened to new ideas and initiatives. Driven by getting people off the couch and living a healthy and fun lifestyle.
Pros
Well-Oiled Machine with Exceptionally Smart and Hard Working People!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace, stepping stone
Marketing (Current Employee) –  Boston, MADecember 6, 2016
It is unfortunate that a company as fun and awesome as Spartan has a horrible way of treating their employees. On the outside they may look glorified in all that they do but if you bring that internally they are a mess. Fast paced and demanding is not even relevant to the work you will need to put in when entering this place. 12-15 hour work days almost everyday, absolutely no internal processes put in place or followed, and not to mention no recognition for hard work and dedication. The only perk of this place is the family you will become apart of. Even though you will meet great people, you will all share the benefit in complaining about how awful management and leadership (or lack thereof ) is here. That is until you realize how awful the work conditions are and then you are stuck or are forced to leave, turnover rate is extremely high. Not to mention the salary sucks. Not a company that allows employees to grow and have a positive working career.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Small and busy workplace
MARKETING ANALYST (Current Employee) –  Boston, MASeptember 23, 2016
Spartan office keeps you on your toes because few systems are in place that create efficient deadlines. Many requests and non-daily projects come in last minute with an urgent "asap" deadline.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Course Marshal (Former Employee) –  Monterey, CAApril 7, 2016
it was an all day job. 5:30a.m. tilll 9:30p.m. i would volunteer for the Spartan race again. I wouldn't mind having to wake up that early in a day to work all day.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People/Great Company
Student Team (Former Employee) –  USASeptember 1, 2015
Great can do culture. I was part of a student team recruited to promote an event. Things went well and I gained a lot of experience. It was just slow movement with their corporate office.
Pros
Great connections and experience building an event from the ground up.
Cons
Disorganized corporate
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Poor leadership
Senior Accountant (Contract) (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 25, 2015
This was a temp job and the CFO was an impossible woman to work for. Unprofessional, demeaned her employees, used language not suitable for a serious professional environment. That being said, I did enjoy the work I did and without having Lisa as my boss I would have considered this as a long term position. My colleagues and co-workers were also good people.
Pros
The work was challenging, industry was interesting
Cons
My manager was not a nice person and very unprofessional
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love this company Great People
Accountant (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAFebruary 17, 2014
Great Company to work for. Great People who are helpful in every way.
Was this review helpful?Yes 15No 16Report

See more Spartan Race, Inc. reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spartan Race, Inc.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 29 reviews
513
46
35
24
11

Ratings by category

3.0Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.1Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.5Culture