Specialty's Cafe' & Bakery Employee Reviews

Showing all 131 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good pay but terrible everything else
Cashier & Barista (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 29, 2019
Dysfunctional management with no HR. One of the worst companies I've ever worked for. Extremely high turnover rate. Constant lying about raises and bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It is a place to start your career
CAFE MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAJanuary 22, 2019
I like to worked here because it was were i start my career, it was a fun environment, Saturday and Sunday OFF, NOT REALLY GOOD BENEFITS but fun place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible Management
Corporate Office (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CADecember 26, 2018
If you are looking for great pay and do not care about structure and employee culture then this is the place for you. You will be under valued, belittled, run by a CEO that surrounded himself with "Yes" men and has no concept on how to run a successful company. Lays off anyone that sees differently and does not care about culture.

This company has so many legal issues and lawsuits its surprising it is still in business.

All I can say is GOOD Luck
Pros
Free Food if you work at Corporate
Cons
Everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Look for something else....Theres better restaurants to work for...with better pay and benefits...if
Chef (Current Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 6, 2019
Dont working at company..but need right now till i find something better..Been here over 2yrs..had one raise..Don't work enough hours.Life is hard trying to live off hours&salary...
Pros
A least they pay you....when its time to get payed...
Cons
.General manger...Is a liar...litte pay...little hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unorganized
general service representative (Former Employee) –  Seattle, WAJanuary 31, 2019
If you work here you need to be a very patient person. The management is extremely unprofessional and the work environment itself is toxic. Expect lots of drama and no organization.
Pros
consistent schedule
Cons
poor management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fantastic company, Cares about customers
Catering Manager/Driver (Former Employee) –  San Diego, CANovember 13, 2018
Great company for both internal and external clients. Treat employees well and definitely care about their customers. Culture focuses on customer satisfaction by enabling associates to best perform their roles.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Used to be a Dynamic and Open Workplace
IT Professional (Former Employee) –  Pleasanton, CAJune 14, 2018
There have been a significant number of personnel changes from top to bottom in recent months. Unfortunately, the new leadership has not been transparent about these changes and the strategy remains vague with few details shared about plans. The new executives also seem to be disconnected with their people which is not helping with the sense of uncertainty in the workplace and as a result, people are no longer as engaged as they used to be. The people are now hesitant to speak and prefer to remain silent.
Pros
Good work-life balance options
Cons
Management is disconnected with their people; Salaries are below average industry standards
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very Fast paced
Lead Front House Guest Services-Barista (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAAugust 1, 2018
Very Busy Non stop Place to work and You need Good Customer Service Skills. Be able to Manage your time Wisely. Room for advancement and need to work weekends.
Pros
Day goes by fast
Cons
Never set schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
CATERING MANAGER (Former Employee) –  LaJolla, CAJuly 26, 2018
The cafe felt like a family environment even though it is a corporate business. The team always stayed side by side through the hurdles during the day.Management actually had an open door policy, they were helpful during difficult times in various employees lives.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
it was good at first but then...
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CANovember 14, 2018
Seemed like a great place to advance until it wasn't any more. I ended up being offered a transfer to a store very far away and chose to resign instead.
Pros
m-f schedule at most stores
Cons
low pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
i learning a lot in specialtys
COOK / PREP (Former Employee) –  San Francisco, CAFebruary 2, 2019
its a great place to work and learning everyday.
I learned a lot
I was working in several positions
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a great place to enhance my customer service skills as well as pick up more skills in multitasking and building strong work relationships.
Cashier/Customer Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60606November 9, 2018
I truly loved working for specialty's because I loved baking cookies and working with customers to make sure that their visit was always welcoming, comfortable, and charming. I loved being able to be apart of a team who each contributed their own special place in the company to get tasks done quickly and full of the best quality.
Pros
Warm cookies, discounted food and great place to learn new skill sets from
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Everyone is really friendly
cashier/ barista (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CASeptember 26, 2018
Good working environment it’s like working with your family. Love the schedule that’s Monday - Friday weekends of and holidays off. Don’t get holidays payed.
Pros
Free lunch and discounts on food
Cons
Less hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
team environment
Prep/salad line (Former Employee) –  La Jolla, CAJune 19, 2018
Even though I worked at Specialty"s for a short period of time, I have to say it had the best management I have encountered. The co-workers were like a family and everyone was in it together. I highly recommend the Specialty"s in La Jolla for someone who is looking to train in all aspects of a bakery/cafe. All training is done there.
Pros
half off food and many free perks
Cons
hours can get cut based on catering
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
could be a fun place to work
General Manager (Former Employee) –  Hillsdale, CAOctober 12, 2018
customers are great , staff are good , but very hard to hire for both team and manager . I miss working there and hope they will do well
good luck . best wishes
Pros
weekends and Hoilday off
Cons
very short manangment and crew staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
its just a job
Prep Cook (Current Employee) –  Seattle, WAOctober 4, 2018
its what you make it. but its ok just to get by or just to pay bills.crew is what you make it the hardest part is the bakery. i enjoy some parts is because of this particular GM.
Pros
50% off
Cons
no free lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Cafe Life
BARISTA/CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CASeptember 27, 2018
A small but mightly bakery kitchen within the heart of the corporate world. Watch out for the lunch rush if you have never worked within this field. Great place!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Kitchen Manager (Former Employee) –  Los Angeles, CAApril 22, 2018
good company to work for. great benefits. paid time off great over all i started as a prep and moved up step by step in the year and 2 months i was with the specialtys company in dtla
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good begging experience
Utility Worker (Former Employee) –  ElsegundoSeptember 1, 2018
Move fast pace and you should be fine. Make sure the floors are clean, the walls, the sinks and drains are empty and the dish washer is clean. Double bag all the trash cans
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great People
Customer Service Trainer (Former Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 23, 2018
I loved my team at Specialty's. The company overall though is something to be desired. They've completely lost sight of what the vision of the owners were supposed to be so the quality in the product, overall experience has suffered greatly for it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Specialty's Cafe' & Bakery. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.5
Based on 131 reviews
533
437
334
219
18

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.3Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

1.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight