Spectrum Brands Employee Reviews

Found 236 reviews matching the search See all 271 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production drivin definitely not safety first
Maintenance Mechanic (Current Employee) –  Edgerton, KSFebruary 13, 2019
Management is not good. The company started with Safety first in mind, but has put production first before safety as of really jeopardizing personal. Many have been injured and have quit before getting injured.
Pros
Good benefits
Cons
Safety first is not a priority
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Able to create my own path.
Territory Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Mira Loma, CAFebruary 12, 2019
This position was very rewarding as I was able to create a diverse number of skills to assist my customers. I was task to manage the builders hardware department in home centers and hardware stores. I was part of the team that designed the hardware department for the True Value Co. This included the development of new retail layout design software.
Pros
Being creative, a wide range of customers and needs
Cons
Lots of driving and overnight travel to visit my customers
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mgmt has no conscience!
Laborer/Operator (Former Employee) –  Edgerton, KSFebruary 6, 2019
Didn't know it was LEGAL to have an employee WORK HALF A SHIFT..then tell them they're fired because mgmt could care LESS about situations with life when you're a HARD WORKER in the FIRST PLACE! I PRAY KARMA brings down that WHOLE warehouse minus the good employee laborers!
Pros
Pay
Cons
Everything but mostly lack of human decency!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fast paced and rewarding
Machine Operator (Current Employee) –  Vandalia, OHFebruary 4, 2019
Spectrum Brands had a great work environment. My manager was always available. He always gave opportunities to advance. I was promoted to team lead right before I left and i had only been there 8 months at the time. It is a great place to work.
Pros
benefits, pay
Cons
short lunch
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very flexible job
Customer service (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLFebruary 2, 2019
This job was very flexible with my schedule. I could work
mornings or afternoons depending on my other job. My
boss was very nice and understanding with me.
Pros
flexibility
Cons
not fulltime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
HR is a snowflake that doesn't know professional or bad attitude.
Temporary Employee (Former Employee) –  Edgerton, KSJanuary 24, 2019
HR. is an overpaid , over sensitive , individual. Doesn't know how to conduct interviews. Complete liar, and he knows it. This is not California. This is Kansas .
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Lies from day one
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Edgerton, KSJanuary 18, 2019
Super disorganized. No training. People did not follow safety procedures and management cared little. Equipment failed and employees were blamed for not meeting goals.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Equipment Operator
Equipment Operator (Current Employee) –  Edgerton, KSJanuary 13, 2019
Good place to work overall. Worked a weekend shift-Friday to Sunday. Flexible manager but the opportunity to advance is lacking. Need more accountability for workers who don't work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
MERCHANDISER (Former Employee) –  Richmond, VAJanuary 8, 2019
Hardest part of the job was driving long distances close to 150 miles to locations. Flexible work environment, I enjoyed working for this company. I learned a lot about pest control with this company.
Pros
meet great people
Cons
strain on your vehicle
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Muy ambiente laboral y valoración del empleado.
Key Account Sales Representative Remington (Former Employee) –  San Pedro SulaJanuary 4, 2019
Es una muy buena empresa, con oportunidades de crecimiento y valoración al empleado.
Pros
Seguro medico, depreciación de vehículo
Cons
Ninguna
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent place to work, management was unfair and incompetent
Material Handler (Current Employee) –  Vandalia, OH 45377December 21, 2018
Mangers and Supervisors favored certain workers and offered advancement, while being strict with others and threatening them. Not a very fair place to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Warehouse
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Gardner, KSDecember 17, 2018
Bust your butt everyday. Cant really slow down to take a 5 minute breather. I learned that not every one would have your back and help you like they said they would. The management was pretty good. always checking on you to make sure you were doing all right in the summer. different cultures under one roof. hardest part of the job was staying on your feet for 10+ hours a day but i know some people can handle it. most enjoyable part of the job was being able to get the help on certain things when needed.
Pros
health care
Cons
not climate controled
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Extremely racist
Quality Control Inspector (Former Employee) –  Ballwin, MODecember 12, 2018
Manager nit picks everything, and too concerned on your duties during your shift, but ignores baggy pant policy of production workers, and congregating and cell phone use. 95% of production workers are black, and have attitudes towards white employees.
Pros
5 S and well organized production facility
Cons
No breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Orrville, OHDecember 9, 2018
I would still be working at spectrum brand if it had not closed due to filing bankruptcy. it was a great place to work really enjoyed my time there all the people were great
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
learned a lot about production from co workers just felt no advancement within company
production generalist (Current Employee) –  Blacksburg, VADecember 3, 2018
enjoyed learning the different role of making, packaging and shipping products and the way the machine ran in order to complete the tasks. however, i felt there is no advancement within the company
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Machines always down, moving around constantly.
Machiner Operator (Former Employee) –  Dixon, ILDecember 1, 2018
Too much favoritism, drama. A lot expected. Pay/benefits not great. Too many chiefs not enough Indians so to speak. Not enough break times. If not enough work in your area they'll send ya home.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work!
Industrial Designer (Former Employee) –  Middleton, WINovember 30, 2018
Spectrum is a great place to work. It's a large company, so some things move a little slower but still progressive. There is a huge focus on communication within teams and ideas are generally heard.
Pros
On site gym, cafe, events, and up-to-date technology
Cons
Salaries are a bit low, but the perks help balance that out
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive but Tough
Wave Planner (Former Employee) –  Edgerton, KSNovember 17, 2018
Do your job and they will more than likely keep you. The management is cool but they will fire you quickly if you do not perform. Also the location is way out of the way if you live in the city
Pros
good pay
Cons
location
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
spectrum is a very good company to work for
Distribution Associate (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 31, 2018
spectrum brands takes care of there people , very good company to work for, raises when needed, time off when needed, free lunches an parties . they train you on everything, always moving up the status of pay.
Pros
yes free lunches
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Avoid the dumpster fire
Distribution Associate (Former Employee) –  Vandalia, OHOctober 27, 2018
Poorly ran local organization. Management routinely lies to associates on the floor. There is virtually zero support from an unqualified HR department. They say one thing and do something else. Staff level directors and senior managers lack integrity as a whole. They want to see themselves as a choice place to work but they are far from it.
Pros
Very little. Compensation is decent but benefits are below average.
Cons
Work life balance, no integrity from HR and Senior management.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spectrum Brands. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 271 reviews
574
487
361
224
125

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.4Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.7Personal Development

2.9Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight