Spectrum Brands Employee Reviews

Found 194 reviews matching the search See all 225 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No real teamwork - terrible atmosphere
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Dixon, ILJuly 9, 2018
This is an extremely hard company to work for. The management of this facility has a real problem with being honest. I do not believe I am ever being told the truth. Favoritism is terrible in the plant. The bosses have their pets and the pets can do no wrong. People are talked down too and ridiculed openly and no one in management will do anything to stop it. In fact it appears management fosters it. No real team work. It seems as if 90% of the employees who work for this facility, care about themselves only, and nothing else. Terrible atmosphere I leave feeling defeated almost daily. I am currently looking for another job. I am normally a very upbeat and friendly person. This place makes me sick. Working here is a step backwards in the evolutionary scale of my employment history. I will always regret accepting this job
Pros
It is a pay check - benefits are ok
Cons
No thanks and no praise ever
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Spectrum Brands- Blacksburg, Va
Packer/Shipper (Former Employee) –  Blacksburg, VAJuly 6, 2018
I worked full time for 2 years, never got even a merit raise-despite asking repeatedly. I never got a job evaluation, and they wanted me to assume more responsibility for only 10 cents more an hour. I had no benefits, no vacation, and seemingly the way they did things changed on almost daily basis. I did not have any after hour relationships with co-workers, nor did I stay in touch with any of them.
Pros
3 breaks per day
Cons
lack of communication.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great pay
Warehouse Worker (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, KSJune 28, 2018
It was fun working at Spectrum Brands. I loved it until our new supervisor came along. I tried to get on her good side but it’s always a fight with her.
Pros
Healthcare
Cons
Poor management
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Set-Up Technician (Former Employee) –  Blacksburg, VAJune 28, 2018
Good place to work wish I was still there tbh great benefits 401k all that good stuff. People on night shift on chemical are like a great big happy family everyone was very nice and welcoming.
Pros
Pay and benefits
Cons
Not good if your having family issues
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
prductivite
wearhouse worker (Current Employee) –  Edgerton, KSJune 24, 2018
good worker in this wearhouse with different workers and different positions of work in site i never be late for my work and we finish work on time all days
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Inspired and Dedicated
Senior Logistics Manager (Current Employee) –  Dayton, OHJune 8, 2018
The Spectrum team is passionate about their work and dedicated to making the workplace better all while driving towards the highest levels of customer satisfaction.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary of spectrum
Case Picker (Current Employee) –  Gardner, KSJune 4, 2018
Long hours mandatory 50-60 because backlog is to high not enough work-family time. Would not recommend working here they have unrealistic goals and inventory is such a mess
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Growth
Operational Engineer (Current Employee) –  OhioJune 1, 2018
Every company will go through their ups and downs I tell everyone I will stay quiet because everyone has their own opinions. But everyone needs a job.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent place to work
Business Development Manager (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLJune 1, 2018
Working a Spectrum was an excellent experience, with room to grow and develop. Work ambiance balance life goal and career goals. Direct management did good job at motivating work force
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place
Loader (Former Employee) –  Edwardsville, ILMay 29, 2018
No AC, long days with last minute overtime being mandatory. No room for growth. Supervisors were harrassing. No accountability at workplace. Several layofsfs
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Forklift Driver/Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  CaliforniaMay 29, 2018
I enjoyed working for this company because they had a lot of benefits. They prioritize safety over production. I felt very comfortable working there. I highly recommend this company.
Pros
Benefits and safety.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Contractor
Accounts Payable Specialist (Contractor) (Current Employee) –  Middleton, WIMay 28, 2018
Was a nice place to work as a contractor
Pay for employees is low for the job. Left for a company that provided better pay.
Liked the people I worked with.
Pros
popcorn
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Picker/Packer (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCMay 24, 2018
It’s okay to work if you can stand hot environments. Be flexible to learn different positions. There’s no set pay for jobs, everyone does everything!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a pretty nice environment considered I worked night shift
Assembly Line Worker (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 8, 2018
Spectrum brand was a very nice and interesting place to work at we basically unloaded 18 wheelers by hand but I think that was just by choice when we was bored the people you work with was very friendly so was the management
Pros
Night shift was cooler and maybe less drama
Cons
Sometimes we didn't get paid when we were supposed to
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Employer
Production Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Denison, TXMay 7, 2018
Great job, yes you have daily targets to meet and they are very achievable. You are given more than enough support to accomplish anything you may desire.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employee
Specialist (Current Employee) –  Middleton, WIMay 7, 2018
There is no employee retention and employees are not valued. Management receives high bonuses and merit increases while workers do not receive bonuses and merit increases do not cover cost of insurance increases.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Forklift Operator (Former Employee) –  Olathe, KSMay 3, 2018
All in all it was a good job and decent pay, with great benefits. The people were great, but when it came time to work people wouldn't be doing there job and driving around looking busy. I really enjoyed the job itself, but it was a new warehouse and none of the management even knew what was going on. Everything was so scattered and when you ask your boss what needs done they should be able to tell you.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
ok place
Machine Operator (Former Employee) –  Gardner, KSApril 20, 2018
The days there at spectrum were very repetitive and long but pay was ok. Management is very cut throat and at times very difficult and stressful most of the day is just standing around
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
USPS are manager
USPS Superviser (Former Employee) –  Mira Loma, CAApril 19, 2018
best place i work at in a long time work was suer easy workers where really good. They pay was okay but theres overtime so everything was nice. They always brought in food for everyone in there for a productive day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
REGIONAL SALES MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Pittsburgh, PA (Home based)April 11, 2018
Spectrum was a great company to work for. They provided career advancement and were very fair to all their employees. Management team was strong and very in tune with the business.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spectrum Brands. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 225 reviews
561
474
350
220
120

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Women's ratings

2.0Fairygodboss Score

67%say women are treated fairly and equally to men

0%would recommend to other women

Fairygodboss provides free job reviews for women, by women.

Powered by Fairygodboss