Spectrum for Living Employee Reviews

Showing all 64 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a people oriented organization. I love the fact that I can be of help to the adult population with developmental challenges
Assistant Program Director (Former Employee) –  River Vale, NJJuly 24, 2018
The company is dedicated to providing a safe, healthy haven to an adult population battling with various developmental challenges. I felt fulfilled to be part of a team bringing safety, wellness and gladness to this group of clients. It makes me happy I can be useful to others.
Pros
Caring, Dedicated
Cons
Disingenous in some aspect of the culture within the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented work environment
Group Home Counselor (Former Employee) –  Rivervale, NJMay 29, 2018
I enjoyed working with adults with developmental disabilities it taught me how to deal with people that are different than myself the staff and clients were kind anf friendly i had a wonderful time working for them
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Clients I Love
Teachers Aid & Activity Therapist Asst (Former Employee) –  Tenafly, NJApril 17, 2018
It was a great place to work if you like being with the develop disable adults.

took care or the clients (feeding, toileting, bathing, clothing,) took the on trip, work with them to develop or enhance their skills. you help them with every day situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter Job
Behavioral Specialist (Former Employee) –  River Vale, NJApril 4, 2018
This is a good temporary job. I was working here while attending school, but their pay is not a lot and the work is tough; you are not compensated at all for your hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was once a very nice place to work but no more
Hard woker (Former Employee) –  River ValeApril 2, 2018
Ne management came in a destroyed everything about the place. Not enough staff
Everyone is overworked
Everyone is underpaid -Except the CEO, CEO and COO
No one listens to new ideas
Men rule the withthe management jobs - no women it is so biased
Pros
The clients are fantastic
Cons
Low pay, no room for advancement unless you are a man, bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was once a very nice place to work but no more
Hard woker (Former Employee) –  River ValeApril 2, 2018
Ne management came in a destroyed everything about the place. Not enough staff
Everyone is overworked
Everyone is underpaid -Except the CEO, CEO and COO
No one listens to new ideas
Men rule the withthe management jobs - no women it is so biased
Pros
The clients are fantastic
Cons
Low pay, no room for advancement unless you are a man, bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging
Group Home Counselor (Current Employee) –  Glen Rock, NJMarch 29, 2018
the company is very challenging and very unfair for the amount of work they want you to do for the little pay they give you. I find them to be very unfair
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Mission
Office Staff (Current Employee) –  River Vale, NJMarch 7, 2018
Spectrum for Living has a beautiful mission and is focused on serving those with Developmental Disabilities. It is rewarding to feel as if you are making a difference in the lives of an extremely vulnerable population.

You will find that many employees at Spectrum for Living are afraid of change.

One of the biggest challenges faced at Spectrum for Living is the fact that the Board of Trustees contains mostly family members and very few professionals, causing some decisions made to be unrealistic.

Clients served by Spectrum for Living make the job worthwhile.
Pros
Great benefits and paid time off
Cons
Poor management and non-professional Board of Trustees
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
health aide (Former Employee) –  New York StateJanuary 14, 2018
Spectrum was a good place to work. It was nice to be able to work with the clients and their families. Been able to help clients regain a part of their life back is a wonderful feeling.
Pros
work schedule
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay... OMG.
LPN (Former Employee) –  njJanuary 7, 2018
The pay absolutely stinks. I need it for the benefits which smells even worse. They add more and more onto your plate every day. And no chance for a raise...
Pros
Clients and some staff.
Cons
$$$ and benefits... Guaranteed a headache with some of the co-workers..
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Activity Therapist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ringwood, NJDecember 20, 2017
It's a great place to work if you love helping people. The work environment is very fast paced and on a time basis. You have to love to help and encourage people who cant do for their selves, and be happy with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the patients
Direct Care Counselor (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, NJOctober 2, 2017
helping and assisting with developmental disabled with ADL appointments, arts, crafts, light house keeping, food shopping basic supervision for much independence as possible
Pros
helping the clients
Cons
disorganization and confussion
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need new management
Activity therapist assistant (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJSeptember 18, 2017
I enjoyed working with the participants and helping to reach goals. However the management was poor and in result several employments left and went to other companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was happy when I was able to help the patients in the facility.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Glen Rock, NJSeptember 13, 2017
Working with the other staff was interesting and I enjoy being able to participate in helping and Taking care of the clients.. when the day was over it was a pleasure to know that we were able to help care for the clients..
Pros
Time off when is necessary
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxed place to work
Activities Assistant (Current Employee) –  Edison, NJSeptember 9, 2017
Staff is great. Love my clients and staff in my room. If you do not have a heart don't bother to apply. You get to cook and taste foods from other cultures.we exercise and do fun trips
Pros
No weekends
Cons
Driving vans
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upper Management Out of Touch
Assistant Program Director (Former Employee) –  River Vale, NJAugust 17, 2017
They do not care about their employees.Upper management is running this agency into the ground.They will change your hours at their whim not caring at all about work-life balance or the 2nd job you need since the pay is so poor.
Pros
good health benefits
Cons
no raises in last 10 years
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fair and balanced with caring people
Respite Services Assistant (Former Employee) –  Rivervale, NJAugust 4, 2017
Spectrum helps so many people in the community and do need more funding. People work there because they care, not for the money. My position. Could have been utilized in a more productive way though
Pros
relaxed, caring people, nice parties
Cons
too much time on hands, low pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Low Pay Great Clients
Direct Care Counselor/Shift Leader (Current Employee) –  Edison, NJJuly 14, 2017
I love my clients they are the best, I will truly miss them once i advance my career i have grown to care for each and every one of them, other than that the pay is very low for the work we do.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
decent company to work for , veray rewarding
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Wall, NJJuly 3, 2017
work with the DDD population, very rewarding, gain caring relationship for residents. Close working environment with other staff which at time can be dificult
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you have a passion for helping people with developmental disabilities, Spectrum offers very good experience
Direct Care Therapist (Former Employee) –  Closter, NJMay 17, 2017
If you have a passion for helping people with developmental disabilities, Spectrum offers very good experience, valuable trainings, and benefits. I have worked at Spectrum for many years, on and off since the 90's. Your experience varies depending on where you work, ie group home, supervised apartments, or closter care faciility (ICF). The ICF is very challenging because the clients are more medically and physically involved. Employees are very nice and work together as a team. The clients are beautiful and appreciate your help. The directors and supporting staff are helpful and available. The biggest problem is the pay which could only be afforded by those with a second income. This is may main reason for leaving. I would never be able to support myself with this job unless I worked an additional full-time job. Not happening! So I went back to school,
Pros
Job is rewarding, good benefits, Hours are Ok if you don't have to work every weekend, staff works together
Cons
You may earn more at McDonalds
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spectrum for Living. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 64 reviews
514
418
315
26
111

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture