Spectrum for Living Employee Reviews

Showing all 70 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed working for SFL
Group Home Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Maywood, NJJanuary 15, 2019
Ive been employed at spectrum since 2013. ive had a wonderful experience working for the company and learned a lot of things. this job has truly taught me patience and compassion above all else
Pros
home setting, dress code
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you love helping people, you'll love working here.
Manager (Current Employee) –  River Vale, NJDecember 24, 2018
At its heart, Spectrum for Living is a nonprofit organization that serves adults with disabilities. Most people that work at Spectrum don’t come to work here for the money, they come out of a desire to help others. Over the years, the place had become bloated with upper level management that seemed out of touch with the agency’s direct care staff. Spectrum brought in a new CEO in early 2018 and a lot of long overdue changes started happening. There was a restructuring at the corporate offices and a lot of people that had gotten comfortable were let go. More caring and competent employees were promoted to senior management positions. Spectrum’s direct care staff were given a pay increase, and a new employee recognition program was started too. Things are definitely getting better at Spectrum. If you love helping people you will love working at Spectrum.
Pros
flexible hours, tuition reimbursement, family-like work environment
Cons
short lunch breaks (30 mins)
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Environment
Transportation Technician (Current Employee) –  Closter, NJNovember 20, 2018
Management doesn't seem to understand one can't survive on 12 dollars base pay and not be able to get a second job. The culture is relaxed and I would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and loving workplace
Direct Care Staff (Former Employee) –  Closter, NJNovember 9, 2018
The people there make it all worth it- truly a job that changed my entire life and for the better, so many awakenings and a new perspective.The clients are truly the most loving and best part of the job. Would go back always.
Pros
Loving environment
Cons
Pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work with a swinming pool
PT Aide, DCC,Activity therapy assistant (Former Employee) –  Teaneck, NJNovember 5, 2018
it fun to work at spectrum for Living nice co worker and some loveable clients living in this place make it even better.for that reason i will refer a friend or family to work there
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
If you enjoy helping adults with disabilities, this is an excellent job.
Speech Language Pathologist (Current Employee) –  Westwood, NJAugust 9, 2018
A typical day as a speech language pathologist includes treating adults with neurological deficits and/or physical disabilities. It involves feeding clients that need assistance.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Contract position
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This a people oriented organization. I love the fact that I can be of help to the adult population with developmental challenges
Assistant Program Director (Former Employee) –  River Vale, NJJuly 24, 2018
The company is dedicated to providing a safe, healthy haven to an adult population battling with various developmental challenges. I felt fulfilled to be part of a team bringing safety, wellness and gladness to this group of clients. It makes me happy I can be useful to others.
Pros
Caring, Dedicated
Cons
Disingenous in some aspect of the culture within the organization.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented work environment
Group Home Counselor (Former Employee) –  Rivervale, NJMay 29, 2018
I enjoyed working with adults with developmental disabilities it taught me how to deal with people that are different than myself the staff and clients were kind anf friendly i had a wonderful time working for them
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Clients I Love
Teachers Aid & Activity Therapist Asst (Former Employee) –  Tenafly, NJApril 17, 2018
It was a great place to work if you like being with the develop disable adults.

took care or the clients (feeding, toileting, bathing, clothing,) took the on trip, work with them to develop or enhance their skills. you help them with every day situation.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starter Job
Behavioral Specialist (Former Employee) –  River Vale, NJApril 4, 2018
This is a good temporary job. I was working here while attending school, but their pay is not a lot and the work is tough; you are not compensated at all for your hard work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was once a very nice place to work but no more
Hard woker (Former Employee) –  River ValeApril 2, 2018
Ne management came in a destroyed everything about the place. Not enough staff
Everyone is overworked
Everyone is underpaid -Except the CEO, CEO and COO
No one listens to new ideas
Men rule the withthe management jobs - no women it is so biased
Pros
The clients are fantastic
Cons
Low pay, no room for advancement unless you are a man, bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was once a very nice place to work but no more
Hard woker (Former Employee) –  River ValeApril 2, 2018
Ne management came in a destroyed everything about the place. Not enough staff
Everyone is overworked
Everyone is underpaid -Except the CEO, CEO and COO
No one listens to new ideas
Men rule the withthe management jobs - no women it is so biased
Pros
The clients are fantastic
Cons
Low pay, no room for advancement unless you are a man, bad benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 5Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very challenging
Group Home Counselor (Current Employee) –  Glen Rock, NJMarch 29, 2018
the company is very challenging and very unfair for the amount of work they want you to do for the little pay they give you. I find them to be very unfair
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beautiful Mission
Office Staff (Current Employee) –  River Vale, NJMarch 7, 2018
Spectrum for Living has a beautiful mission and is focused on serving those with Developmental Disabilities. It is rewarding to feel as if you are making a difference in the lives of an extremely vulnerable population.

You will find that many employees at Spectrum for Living are afraid of change.

One of the biggest challenges faced at Spectrum for Living is the fact that the Board of Trustees contains mostly family members and very few professionals, causing some decisions made to be unrealistic.

Clients served by Spectrum for Living make the job worthwhile.
Pros
Great benefits and paid time off
Cons
Poor management and non-professional Board of Trustees
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun work place
health aide (Former Employee) –  New York StateJanuary 14, 2018
Spectrum was a good place to work. It was nice to be able to work with the clients and their families. Been able to help clients regain a part of their life back is a wonderful feeling.
Pros
work schedule
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The pay... OMG.
LPN (Former Employee) –  njJanuary 7, 2018
The pay absolutely stinks. I need it for the benefits which smells even worse. They add more and more onto your plate every day. And no chance for a raise...
Pros
Clients and some staff.
Cons
$$$ and benefits... Guaranteed a headache with some of the co-workers..
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place
Activity Therapist Assistant (Former Employee) –  Ringwood, NJDecember 20, 2017
It's a great place to work if you love helping people. The work environment is very fast paced and on a time basis. You have to love to help and encourage people who cant do for their selves, and be happy with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I enjoyed the patients
Direct Care Counselor (Former Employee) –  Riverdale, NJOctober 2, 2017
helping and assisting with developmental disabled with ADL appointments, arts, crafts, light house keeping, food shopping basic supervision for much independence as possible
Pros
helping the clients
Cons
disorganization and confussion
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Need new management
Activity therapist assistant (Former Employee) –  Edison, NJSeptember 18, 2017
I enjoyed working with the participants and helping to reach goals. However the management was poor and in result several employments left and went to other companies.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was happy when I was able to help the patients in the facility.
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Glen Rock, NJSeptember 13, 2017
Working with the other staff was interesting and I enjoy being able to participate in helping and Taking care of the clients.. when the day was over it was a pleasure to know that we were able to help care for the clients..
Pros
Time off when is necessary
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Spectrum for Living. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 70 reviews
516
418
319
26
111

Ratings by category

3.3Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
2.9Management
3.3Culture