Sports Authority Employee Reviews

Found 2,259 reviews matching the search See all 2,280 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and Interactive place to work
Sales Clerk (Former Employee) –  Woburn, MAJuly 17, 2019
A typical day at work, was coming into work, getting items from the warehouse to stack on the floor, along with interacting with all customer, being able to aid any customers with any questions they had. i learned the skill of interacting with a customer and being able to give detailed opinions that could help make their decision much easier.
Pros
A lot of Shifts
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly, helpful, and knowledgeable coworkers
lead apparel/sales (Former Employee) –  Reno, NVJuly 12, 2019
I began as co-lead of apparel but once the liquidation was announced the lead quit and I was promoted. I did not want to leave my coworkers in a time of crisis so stayed to help until the very last day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Retail Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Homestead, FLJuly 9, 2019
Great discounts on multiple stores and also instore purchases. Love the spirit and family-like community. Its a really easy job to have would recommend.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
College Place
CUSTOMER SERVICE LEAD (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 29, 2019
As the company is no longer business there's not a lot to review. Worked with a lot people who were trying to finish here degrees. Schedules were flexible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall experience
Cashier / Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  La Habra, CAJune 23, 2019
Starting off with that as my first job was a great experience. Being able to learn many different positions was helpful and it allowed me to see that working with others is something I enjoy.
Pros
Work with schedule
Cons
Healthcare
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I was on a great team
Lead Software Engineer, Enterprise Systems (Former Employee) –  Englewood, COJune 21, 2019
I was on a great team - before it closed. We worked on almost all of the systems. I was able to suggest changes and we followed them. We deployed many of the efforts I started.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awful
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Whitehall Township, PAJune 19, 2019
I hated working there. They didn’t care about training. They just left me there at the register to do nothing but stand there and wait for customers to come in.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
just another retail store
Sales Associate and Cashier (Former Employee) –  Santa Fe, NMJune 18, 2019
everything about sports authority is really positive is one of my favorite jobs. the best job I've had in my whole career and i been working since 2013 and they closed sports authority a long time ago
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and grow
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 12, 2019
Typical Day: customer service, training product and services, freight put away and put back merchandise.
What I learned: How to manage time in a high pace and demanding environment.
Management: Helpful, willing to teach and train associates thoroughly.
Work Place Culture: Customer service oriented with emphasis on listening to customers wants and needs.
Job Difficulties: inventory/ over nights
Job Perks: A place where one can grow and learn about sports, products to help improve physical performance with the newest line of available resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. Outgoing and fun.
Running Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAJune 12, 2019
Unfortunately went out of business or I would still be there. Management was great at training and motivating didn't see out of business coming at all. .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJune 4, 2019
I worked with some great people but the store managers left a bitter feeling in me for the most part and I do not wish to say any more..................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and fast pace
Cashoer (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTJune 3, 2019
This job was a really fun job to have. The management was great and very helpful! I was able to learn a lot about the retail world. It was great place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were really nice
Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 1, 2019
It was a good company to work for for a part time job. They were friendly flexible. They encouraged people to move up in positions. Hkhdnso hekfhje kendo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sale
Logistic Supervisor/Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 29, 2019
Good company. Company had to close because company obligation. And i had relocated because of no job and lost my apartment and future plans. I had to find a new beginning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The store is closed
Hardlines Manager (Former Employee) –  West Nyack, NYMay 29, 2019
It was a good job but the store is now closed for good.
But every job you come across has its ups and downs. But you have to go there and make the best of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a company
Softlines Manager (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZMay 28, 2019
nothing much to say, there was great management and staff, not befits and only worked 32 hrs at the max, all tools and equipment functioned well, we worked together for a common goal.
Pros
great staff
Cons
no beinifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company
Operations Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMay 28, 2019
Company was decent to work for. Pay wasn't that exciting but discounts compensated little for lack of pay. The most enjoyable part of the day was also being able to help kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work for college or high school.
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 22, 2019
I did enjoy my time with sports authority but it was not easy to grow in the company. if they were still around i would recommand it if it was your first job or you are looking for a place to learn.
Pros
discounts on sports gear
Cons
short breaks no growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like retail.
Lead Cashier (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDMay 20, 2019
if you like retail then this is for you. THE HOURS ARE DEMANDING. Holidays are often cut short. Sales goals are enforced. Not much room for advancement.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment and hard working
Warehouse Associate SR. (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 20, 2019
I very much enjoyed working there. I worked on the morning crew. We all worked together as a team. We helped each other out is a problem a raised. I knew everything about my responsibility of my job and what duties I have on a daily basis. I was hurt to hear that sports Authority was closing down.
Pros
Love my co workers
Cons
Manager communicate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,280 reviews
5624
4700
3587
2181
1188

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight