Sports Authority Employee Reviews

Found 2,251 reviews matching the search See all 2,272 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A great place to work and grow
Key Holder (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 12, 2019
Typical Day: customer service, training product and services, freight put away and put back merchandise.
What I learned: How to manage time in a high pace and demanding environment.
Management: Helpful, willing to teach and train associates thoroughly.
Work Place Culture: Customer service oriented with emphasis on listening to customers wants and needs.
Job Difficulties: inventory/ over nights
Job Perks: A place where one can grow and learn about sports, products to help improve physical performance with the newest line of available resources.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work. Outgoing and fun.
Running Specialist (Former Employee) –  Ventura, CAJune 12, 2019
Unfortunately went out of business or I would still be there. Management was great at training and motivating didn't see out of business coming at all. .
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no comment
Warehouse Lead (Former Employee) –  Chandler, AZJune 4, 2019
I worked with some great people but the store managers left a bitter feeling in me for the most part and I do not wish to say any more..................
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very fun and fast pace
Cashoer (Former Employee) –  Sandy, UTJune 3, 2019
This job was a really fun job to have. The management was great and very helpful! I was able to learn a lot about the retail world. It was great place
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
They were really nice
Training Manager (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 1, 2019
It was a good company to work for for a part time job. They were friendly flexible. They encouraged people to move up in positions. Hkhdnso hekfhje kendo
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sale
Logistic Supervisor/Visual Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Miami, FLMay 29, 2019
Good company. Company had to close because company obligation. And i had relocated because of no job and lost my apartment and future plans. I had to find a new beginning
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The store is closed
Hardlines Manager (Former Employee) –  West Nyack, NYMay 29, 2019
It was a good job but the store is now closed for good.
But every job you come across has its ups and downs. But you have to go there and make the best of it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer a company
Softlines Manager (Former Employee) –  Yuma, AZMay 28, 2019
nothing much to say, there was great management and staff, not befits and only worked 32 hrs at the max, all tools and equipment functioned well, we worked together for a common goal.
Pros
great staff
Cons
no beinifts
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Company
Operations Team Lead (Former Employee) –  Tallahassee, FLMay 28, 2019
Company was decent to work for. Pay wasn't that exciting but discounts compensated little for lack of pay. The most enjoyable part of the day was also being able to help kids.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work for college or high school.
Customer Service Lead (Former Employee) –  Tampa, FLMay 22, 2019
I did enjoy my time with sports authority but it was not easy to grow in the company. if they were still around i would recommand it if it was your first job or you are looking for a place to learn.
Pros
discounts on sports gear
Cons
short breaks no growth
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
if you like retail.
Lead Cashier (Former Employee) –  Towson, MDMay 20, 2019
if you like retail then this is for you. THE HOURS ARE DEMANDING. Holidays are often cut short. Sales goals are enforced. Not much room for advancement.
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun environment and hard working
Warehouse Associate SR. (Former Employee) –  Las Vegas, NVMay 20, 2019
I very much enjoyed working there. I worked on the morning crew. We all worked together as a team. We helped each other out is a problem a raised. I knew everything about my responsibility of my job and what duties I have on a daily basis. I was hurt to hear that sports Authority was closing down.
Pros
Love my co workers
Cons
Manager communicate
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Seasonal job with customer service
SNIAGRAB Team Member (Former Employee) –  Boulder, COMay 16, 2019
I helped a seasonal snow sale for a few months and did customer service and retail. I did it all from loading and unloading trucks full of heavy metal shelves to helping people get the right boot fit and size of board or ski.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Company
Team Leader - Merchandising/Visual (Current Employee) –  Eureka, CAMay 7, 2019
It was a good company to work for. It is a shame that they went out of business. I would say that for a retail job, it was fun, but we got our work done!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Went bankrupt
Operations Manager (Former Employee) –  Tucson, AZApril 24, 2019
Poor upper management not in business anymore. Few benefits for employees no raises for years. No compensation for long term employees when closed down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Place to Work
Data Entry/Accounting Clerk (Former Employee) –  Fort Lauderdale, FLApril 16, 2019
I did the Data Entry and also answered the phone for my Supervisor as needed. I also learned about handling invoices for Freight. I would always help my fellow co-workers as needed. I also learned how to take care of the Copy Machine. Add the paper as needed and change the Cartridge as needed. My Supervisor also had me print Reports for her as needed. I also delivered inter-office mail as needed for her. The hardest part was leaving when the company merged with another. It was a good experience for me.
Pros
some overtime
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved the other employees
Head Cashier (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 14, 2019
Head Cashier
took credit card payments along with cash payments
assisted customers
Issue receipts
Count money and reconcile drawers
Reconcile daily summaries of transactions to balance books
Pros
employees
Cons
management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Downsized
Senior Merchandising Associate (Former Employee) –  Middletown, RIApril 8, 2019
When I was hired I was informed that the company was going well and advancement opportunity was in the future. Sports Authority went out of business less than a year later.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive every single day
CUSTOMER SERVICE (Current Employee) –  Tampa, FLMarch 25, 2019
A typical day usually starts very early in the morning and stretches into the early afternoon hours. what I learned was how to be a better problem solver. Management is a group of nice people and will listen to anything the employees might have questions about or if something isn't working right. The hardest part of the job is when we get slammed with about 30 minutes before we're off for the day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Selfish
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Gainesville, FLMarch 20, 2019
The managers at sports authority were very selfish, in order to keep us working hard they had built the illusion that we would stay in business as only selected stores would close.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,272 reviews
5621
4697
3586
2181
1187

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight