Sports Authority Employee Reviews in Austin, TX

Found 8 reviews matching the search See all 2,301 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place, It's a shame they dont exist anymore
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXMay 1, 2018
This. corporation. does. not. exist. anymore.

Just. needed. to. fill. out. space. not. a. lo.t to. say. good work place. it just doesn't exist anymore
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Job
Senior Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 6, 2015
This job was fun to do. The management was a little inconsistent and made things a little more difficult at times. The communication was not great but overall I enjoyed my time here.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kind of Difficult
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXOctober 10, 2014
High Volume, I learned to stay to myself with people who are rude, My managers where rude, my coworkers where rude and I couldn't work there very long, hardest part was coming in seeing my coworkers being rude back to the customers who was having a bad day or had something smart to say. I didn't enjoy this job at all
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work at
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJuly 2, 2014
great coworkers, will make good friends
very likeable management
can request days off
laid back, enjoyable atmosphere
certain items commission based pay
hardest part are the busy holidays
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good Workplace environment
Hardlines/Merchandise Manager (Former Employee) –  Austin, TXJanuary 14, 2014
The Sports Authority was a good place to start my work career. I got a job there straight out of high school. If someone was to ask me the best part of working at Sports Authority I would tell them the work environment. The management all the way down are very friendly and are willing to teach the new comers. It is a very relaxing place to work where you are not pressured into making a sales goal but are encouraged when you succeed in reaching that goal.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stay Away
footwear sales lead (Current Employee) –  austin txNovember 16, 2012
I have been working for this company for 6 years, they really do not take care of the employees at ALL. They will discount bad customers then make you feel as it is your fault. I moved from a store in Colorado only to lose my pay, and hours and that is with a promotion. Make less now in Austin than I did when I started with the company 6 years ago. You are a number to them ecp, insoles, and customer loyalty cards are all they care about. If you do not sell all of these things, they consistently threaten you with your job, but are quick to remind you how lucky you are to have a job. Avoid working for them if you can they will only try and get everything out of you for as little as humanly possible.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical Work Day
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Austin, TxJune 26, 2012
A normal work day usually consisted of fixing racks, assisting customers to find the items they wanted/needed, working a cash register, stocking the sales floor, unpacking boxes, maintaining a clean work environment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report

See more Sports Authority reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,301 reviews
5630
4709
3591
2181
1190

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight