Sports Authority Employee Reviews for Cashier

Found 86 reviews matching the search See all 2,295 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meh
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Valley, WAJuly 2, 2014
Wasnt a great experienced and didnt feel welcomed. I dont know how else to put it
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
Cashier (Former Employee) –  West Palm Beach, FLMay 31, 2014
we worked together to get a job done. A fun place to work. they will work around to days you like to be off. They were like family however, they will help you with anything if you need help.
Pros
great employees
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
cashiering
CASHIER (Former Employee) –  Folsom, CAMay 19, 2014
Great place to work, but got past for a promotion and left. Management was good. Great coworkers
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAApril 29, 2014
Working for a well known company is already a lot of pressure because you are striving to stand out. However, the work environment that was created at this specific location was very hostile and uncomfortable. I enjoyed the customers that I dealt with, and the employees were phenomenal. The management was what made coming to work with a positive attitude and being able to work comfortably difficult.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Upbeat
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Taylorsville, UTApril 22, 2014
Love the employees, always fun, never a dull moment. Holidays were rough, but retail is tough during November and December.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Awesome Working Environment
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Anchorage, AKApril 3, 2014
The managers were awesome and very understanding, coworkers were easy to get along with and it was an easygoing environment.
Pros
Flexible work hours.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun place to work at.
Seasonal Cashier (Former Employee) –  Cerritos, CAFebruary 26, 2014
I would work as a cashier and ensure that customers were enrolled with our rewards program as well as making sure all high theft items were securely tagged.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Customer Service
cashier (Current Employee) –  Sawgrass mills mallJanuary 23, 2014
Customer Service
Attendance
Maintain a clean environment
Engaging customers
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun workplace
service rep (cashier) (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GANovember 11, 2013
Great company to work for, learned a lot of things about sport equipment.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Denver, COSeptember 5, 2013
I liked working with customers. The work enviroment was great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and fun experience
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAAugust 31, 2013
I learned alot about sports and how to assist differnt customers. I enjoyed the interaction betweenme and the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Kayla's Experiance
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fairfield, CAAugust 13, 2013
I have learned how to better communicate with people. Learn to leave my problems from home at the door. I have overall had a great amount of supportive managers in my life since my first job at 16 until now. Their is not really a hard part about the jobs that I have other than when it gets busy, it can be a bit stressful. I mostly enjoyed every job I have ever had.
Pros
Great managers, amazing customers
Cons
No benefits, wanted more hours
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Production and fun atmosphere
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Buford, GAJuly 24, 2013
clock in check out customers throughout the store and make sure that they are highly satisfied with their purchase and that they found everything they came in there to get.
Pros
fun, meeting new people everyday
Cons
lots of information to obtain but easy info
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work you to hard for pay
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Ontario, CAJuly 24, 2013
For 8.25 this company expects to much from you. They were cutting hours due to not pushing there rewards to every customer. They didnt want me to ask if they wanted it just give it to them regaurdless. I think this is wrong and if the customer doesnt want it dont forces it.
Pros
10% discount
Cons
no break, push rewards to hard
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work atmosphere
Cashier (Seasonal employee) (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJuly 11, 2013
Managers were very helpful and being a cashier I appreciated my fellow co workers. everyone was genuine and personable.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Mountain View, CAMay 6, 2013
A typical day, greeting customers and helping with their needs. What I learned at Sports Authority: like all retail or stores, basically just be polite and help others. Management: management was ok, not bad but not the best either. My co-workers were great, everyone helped each other like we were a family. The hardest part of the job was trying to satisfy everyone even at its worst. The most enjoyable part working there was working the friendly encounters I had with some of my co-workers and customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great place to work
Cashier (Current Employee) –  Riverside, CAMarch 20, 2013
fun people
friendly
very flexible
great work place
great management
Pros
flexible
Cons
part time
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very quite place at times nice experience
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, VAOctober 30, 2012
A typical day at work for me, it was quite during the day. Got a little busy time to time and on sale days. My co workes were friendly it was easy meeting new people. Management was ok they were cool at times. I can say the managers their were like a coach in school aways their when you needed them or didn't unerstand something my managers were very helpful. The hardest part of the job was sales because we had to meet a set goal by the end of each week. The best part of my job was all the different type of customers who were friendly and knowing that i was able to help them in some kinda of way making sure they were happy when they left the store.
Pros
understandable managers
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAOctober 10, 2012
With the short time I was employeed there I had a great learning experince.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work1
Cashier (Former Employee) –  Wellington, FLJuly 25, 2012
I was able to practice and improve on my multitasking skills, as well as, providing the best customer service by ensuring the customers were always 100% satisfied.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,295 reviews
5630
4706
3589
2181
1189

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Sports Authority Reviews by Location