Sports Authority Employee Reviews

Found 2,259 reviews matching the search See all 2,280 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No Longer In Business
Fixture Specialist (Former Employee) –  Denver, COJanuary 6, 2019
Sports Authority is no longer in business. It was a great place to work with wonderful people. I appreciate all the career opportunity and experience gained at Sports Authority.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This Compnay is no longer in business.
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Danbury, CT 06810January 4, 2019
Although my store managers were great, managers at the corporate level were not. A lot of emphasis things that were not wanted by most customers, i.e. extended warranties. One of the reasons the Company closed.
Pros
Employee Discounts.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Orland Park, ILJanuary 3, 2019
I worked customer service at Sports Authority, a typical day was just helping customers purchase apparel. This job increased my social skills, I enjoyed the culture at this job everyone was close and friendly, the manager would order pizza for us, it was just a great atmosphere.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good starting job
Footwear Lead (Former Employee) –  Salem, ORJanuary 2, 2019
wasn't my first job but it made a great start job.
learned a lot about sales and sports that i didn't have a lot of knowledge about.
friendly coworkers and managers
terrible pay and hours
Pros
working in sports, truck days are the best
Cons
terrible pay and hours, management was casual.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work space, great job for beginners
Apperal Associate (Former Employee) –  North Riverside, ILDecember 30, 2018
Went bankrupt, let everyone go. Sometimes management had favorites and started putting people who they’d like to work with and cut hours. In the beginning it was fun and I loved working here but like I said they went bankrupt and everyone was left without a job
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
fun place to work
Senior Cash Lead (Former Employee) –  Bridgeport, CTDecember 28, 2018
great discounts, hours and benefits were great.
good pay as well
great customer service
lots of advancement
over time
to bad they went out of business
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not the place for me
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Wasilla, AKDecember 27, 2018
A typical day of work was working drawling days cleaning up after customers and staying on your feet for very long periods of time. I did learn, however, that retail is not where I see myself staying.
Pros
Reliable schedule
Cons
Boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved it
Sales Associate/Cashier (Former Employee) –  Fairview Heights, ILDecember 19, 2018
I loved this job. The people I worked with were amazing. My bosses were awesome. And the customers were great. The employee discount wasn't bad either. It's a shame the stores are no longer open.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place with clients who love sports
Cashier/Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Sunrise, FLDecember 19, 2018
If you are into sports this is the perfect place. You'll meet people who are either excited to become some type of athlete or someone who is just a sports fanatic. Its never boring
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
No longer in business
Wms specialist (Former Employee) –  McDonough, GADecember 19, 2018
I left the company due to an injury. They went out of business shortly after that. While I was with the company, I was compensated fairly for the work I did.
Pros
Fair pay
Cons
Poor upper management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was the best job I'll probably ever have
Sales Manager (Former Employee) –  Clearwater, FLDecember 11, 2018
Get what you put into it.
While most people don't consider retail a career. I did. It was like family working together.
I watched little athletes turn into big ones. It was a very rewarding career.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
productive and fun
Manager (Former Employee) –  Virginia Beach, VADecember 10, 2018
pretty good environment to work. Pretty competitive workplace to be promoted. The culture is extremely friendly and the work hours are all over the place.
Pros
free lunch
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
first job
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Milpitas, CADecember 10, 2018
I worked at the Great Mall so i enjoyed always meeting and greeting new people. Can't say it was a great learning experience because all i did was stand around in the apparel section.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Senior Lead Merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Clifton, NJDecember 7, 2018
Great managers and great team lead to work for, always created a positive workspace for everyone. Treated everyone as family and allowed people to grow.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Learning experiences
Cash Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILDecember 7, 2018
Sports authority was a great place that everyone came to they taught me a lot about where I am today. They gave me many open opportunities that I will forever be grateful for.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved working there
Team Leader (Former Employee) –  Kailua-Kona, HIDecember 4, 2018
Company went Bankrupt 😩 There is not much to say aside from it was an awesome place to work with awesome discounts. We had a great team and culture that’s for sure.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good job
Cashier/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Baltimore, MDNovember 29, 2018
The company was closing so I didn’t get the full understanding of how the store normally runs. But it was quick paced because of all the deals that were going on at the time
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good work with multiple sports
Nike Brand Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bolingbrook, ILNovember 28, 2018
During my time in sports authority i worked with a lot of people in multiples states. the lack of investment to move the company into the digital age was is downfall
Pros
good hours of operation
Cons
lack of online infrastructure
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This company went out of business
Inventory Analyst, (Former Employee) –  Englewood, CONovember 24, 2018
I do not think this company was being run right or that the Green debt was purposely taken on so this company could perish with the debt. I didnt really like the products offered.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Footwear merchandiser (Former Employee) –  Novato, CANovember 18, 2018
Sports authority had many good coworkers and had the roles in place so everything and everyone worked like a well oiled machine and it was nice to see
Pros
Discounts
Cons
The area
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Sports Authority. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 2,280 reviews
5624
4700
3587
2181
1188

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.2Compensation/Benefits
3.0Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

2.5InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight