SSL (Space Systems Loral) Employee Reviews

Found 169 reviews matching the search See all 177 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great company to work for
Satellite Earth Station Systems Principal Engineer (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAAugust 16, 2019
Great company to work for. Learned a lot about the satellite design and fabricating business and was the first place in my engineering career where I got a raise after 6 months of working for the company. I was well compensated.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good work environment; friendly people. Little opportunity.
CATR Engineer (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJuly 21, 2019
You start by reviewing all the companies required material. Takes about a week and you do it in between your other tasks but at your own discretion.

There are classes offered! Interesting topics and different points of view on matters you may be expert on. Very informative stuff.

Listen and follow the lead engineer closely since hes signing off on tests. Carry something to take notes.

You'll learn how to operate the CATR instrumentation, hardware and software but no one will teach it to you though. Grab the books and start reading.

Management varies between managers so play it by ear.

Often work off hours and weekends to get the job done.

There can be HUGE month long gaps between satellite tests if the market is dry. Take this time to do your vacations or develop new stuff.

Worst part of the job: the office space is a bunch of shared cubicles and everyone can hear you talk and walk into your work area. Lock your desk if possible as people have had their stuff stolen.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good
Aerospace Manurfacturing Engineer (Current Employee) –  Sunnyvale, CAJuly 15, 2019
The company is going through growing pains.SSL was purchased and is now part of a 4 company conglomeration. The down side is the product line is limited and there are now several companies that build the same item. SSL has not widened their product base and is now struggling to stay afloat. The product is awesome and the people are driven to produce the highest quality and on schedule. Unfortunately the pay and benefits are below industry standard and the employee turn over is high. It is a fun and educational place to work but you need to plan your own advancement without the assistance of management. They do promote from within although you must change departments to do so.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Large outfit with nimble culture
Project Manager / Sr. Engineer (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 28, 2019
SSL is a large aerospace company that aims to please the customers by staying nimble and moves faster than competitors for milestones and deadlines. The company culture is one that an individual can express his/her opinions in meetings and discuss them openly with peers as well as management. Decisions are often made through group consensus where all stakeholders have a say.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Going down hill fast unless upper management figures out where the company Is going
Systems Engineer II (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJune 26, 2019
The company has great technology for people wanting to break into the space industry but you quickly realize they do not promote innovation and things are slow to change , half the company is mediocre at their job, other half is worked to death.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting work. Constant cloud.
Technician (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMay 24, 2019
Making spacecraft is very fulfilling. You are making a machine that may end up on another planet! After over 20 years doing this I still enjoy it. No satellite is the same.
The down side is that Loral has always been the poor stepchild of the SatCom industry. Lockheed and Boeing have deep pockets and can ride out a downturn, whereas Loral (now Maxar) relies solely on its next contract to stay afloat. So, there is always the threat of being laid off which is extremely stressful.
If you like that kind of stress, it's a great place to work.
Pros
Advancement, benefits good, time off, relaxed atmoshphere
Cons
Constant threat of layoffs, racist management
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
Senior Quality Inspector (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 16, 2019
Fun and interesting. Love the people and their creativity! So much to learn and lots of room to grow and expand! Challenging and fast paced. Great company to work for!!!
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and challenging
Project/ Product Manager/ME Design (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 9, 2019
Getting payloads to function properly in space is challenging. Designing and building high reliability spacecraft is tedious and complicated but very rewarding.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good benefits, opportunities for advancement many areas and positions to work.
Manager (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAApril 5, 2019
Good performance was acknowledged. Good opportunity for advancement. Allowed employees to work with minimal supervision. Good communication from upper management to employees. Good benefits.
The company as a whole is a great company to work for, unfortunately, some lower level managers should have not been put in their positions as they made poor decisions that affected good employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rarely promote
Sr. Materials and Process Engineer (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 22, 2019
Very good people to work with - friendly and highly qualified. Not hard to move around to work in different departments. Salary grade upgrades are very rare.
Pros
Great People
Cons
Rarely get salary grade upgrades.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The company is always in flux
Simulation Software Engineer Associate (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 21, 2019
The Geo satellite industry is always in flux and the software part of it even more than that. The people were great for the most part and the environment wasn't bad but there are a lot of people there that have been there for their entire careers that do not like change. I wouldn't recommend this job to a recent grad.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
MECHANICAL TECHNICIAN (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 20, 2019
It was a fun place to work, made a lot of friends and most of all learned new skills like how to build space satellites, working in a clean room, and how to handle flight hardware. Most of all bragging rights that I worked on a space vehicle that is now orbiting the earth.
Pros
outside patio, good food, treated most employees well even the temps.
Cons
i was a temp, so i didnt get any benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sometimes there is a three happy hour events per year
Sr. Propulsion Engineer (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 18, 2019
Work 40 hours a week. Learned to collaborate with different subsystem engineers to understand how the propulsion subsystem interacts with the other subsystems as well. Fast pace work environment but lots of opportunity to learn new skills and subsystems. Exposure to different companies that provides products for the subsystem. Work mostly independently but in group as well depending on the job.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Typical workday
Senior Electrical/Communication Engineer Assistant (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAMarch 4, 2019
I am a lead technician. We have a meeting before we go on the floor to get pass down from the previous shift. I conduct the meeting when my direct supervisor is not present. We design and build Satellite for our customers. So, in the meeting the supervisor or myself will assign each technician to work on a Space Craft based on each individual's knowledge and skillsets.

After the meeting, we proceed to the floor to get the pass down from the previous shift.

We will continue the work left behind from the previous shift. During the shift, we carefully document our goals, accomplishments, data, issues and resolutions to give a clear pass down to the next shift and to the engineers involved in the building and designing of the Satellite.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Robots On Earth Making Robots For Space
Robotics Design Engineer (short contract job) (Former Employee) –  Pasadena, CAFebruary 25, 2019
It's a horrible place to work. Everything is done through "Remote", so it really hard to contact people when you need. They have needless meetings and yes they promote from within, but being a contractor there doesn't mean "you're in". They are owned by a Canadian company and the bulk of the significant brain work is done there. They do no share the better aspects of the job with their US counterparts.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
what i learned
Program Manager (Current Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAFebruary 10, 2019
i learned people are the most valuable asset a company has and that people are individuals and must each be motivated in an individual way

Functional mangement taught me the value of a team, program mamagement taught me the value of balance between customer and company
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Exciting Technology with Great Culture
Engineering Manager (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CA , San Jose, CAFebruary 7, 2019
Great Company with lots of extremely intelligent people working on cool technology that will eventually end up in space. This ia a smaller, scrappy commercial supplier of satellites, that still managed to get >33% of the commercial market away from giants like Lockheed, Boing and Airbus. The entire satellite industry is adapting to disruptive new entrants into the field as well as a desire from customers to more frequently update technology in space. This has led the entire industry to go from 20-25 Sats a year down to 4-8. This has led to impacts to capital, yearly raises, bonuses, training and certainly to stock options and ESPPs. They have a lot of smart people that will help them pivot into a new and more profitable direction and should be back on top shortly
Pros
Informal Culture with Approachable employees and Managers
Cons
Often Long hours, Pay increases are irregular and infrequent
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place for experience
Subcontracts Administrator (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 28, 2019
I gained valuable experience at SSL. The product they manufacture is interesting and amazing. I enjoyed by 7 years here. I was able to gain valuable experience that helped me further my career.
Pros
Interesting Prodcut
Cons
Low salary, not a lot of advancement opportunity
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice coworkers
Multimedia (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CAJanuary 24, 2019
learned about many things there. Interesting future of space industry and satellites being built. Got to try many different styles of editing from 2D to 3d
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good for Space Enthusiasts
Manager (Former Employee) –  Palo Alto, CANovember 26, 2018
-You have great people working on cool spacecraft
-You can feed a family and save for/buy a home with your salary but it won't compare to the tech companies (and no free food)
-Currently, a lull in the market and management wants to abandon ship
-SSL has been through worse, however, so keep your head high
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at SSL (Space Systems Loral). Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.4
Based on 177 reviews
531
456
359
220
111

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.3Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.2InHerSight Score

2.1Personal Development

2.0Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

SSL (Space Systems Loral) Reviews by Location