St. Alexius Hospital Employee Reviews

Showing all 62 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
RN in Float Pool
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 21, 2019
ER situated in a underserved community of St. Louis, but allows for staff to float to other areas in hospital. Excellent training for float pool as well as ICU.
Pros
Pay
Cons
schedule
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Mission driven, high quality work that makes a difference!
Chief Nursing Officer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 19, 2019
I thoroughly enjoyed being part of a fantastic team with a worthy mission to serve the under-served population of St. Louis.

This was truly a culture of caring from the workers at the bedside on up to the executive team. .
Pros
Defined mission
Cons
Patient conditions emotionally draining at times
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
a worthwhile challenge
Anesthesia Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 8, 2019
a take a little time to get used to working day hours bu most work days end well,with no weekends or holiday work for me,,,i learned not to take pyxis access lightly,and furthered my knowledge base and respect for bariatric surgery and e c t therapy
Pros
good place to work
Cons
only has a day shift, i like nites
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice place to work
Unit Secretary (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 17, 2018
Answering phones
Admitting and discharging patients
I learned how hard nurses work
My Supervisor was great
Diverse
Patients with no family
Healing
Pros
Working with a great bunch of people, having fun, free lunches every now and again
Cons
Too many CEO's in 2 years
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A typical day at St. Alexius Hospital
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 16, 2018
Most of the upper management treat staff poorly. There is no employee appreciation and you are frequently "yelled" at.Patient to nurse ratio is much to high. A typical day is very stressful and it shows in the way the staff speaks to each other as well. Team work is only shared by a few employees.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Worked in the ER Department
Intake Coordinator (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJuly 2, 2018
Staff were friendly in the ER Department of the hospital. It appeared to be a team helping each other. I was able to learn some of the medical terminology.
Pros
Good environment to work in
Cons
short breaks
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Community facility
Student Nurse (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 22, 2018
St. Alexius is a community facility that supports a clientele in a blighted area of the city. The facility has a large inpatient Psyche population that requires more experienced staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved my team!
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 1, 2018
No stop day, great team work and nurses aides, a lot of meetings for management, more support needed for staff, nurses supporting nurses, would work there again.
Pros
staff
Cons
hard job
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staff is passionate about taking care of patients
Administration (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 17, 2018
Nursing is passionate about taking care of patients. The Mission is really followed at this hospital. Ancillary departments have long tenured leadership with little or no change creating a warm and caring atmosphere. I love working here and I love my job.
Pros
Catholic Directive Hospital
Cons
In a rough neighborhood
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good
Emergency Room Registration Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 9, 2018
A typical day at work...I have a routine that I follow on a day to day basis. The hardest part of my job is nothing. I adapt well. My supervisor is an excellent team player and very helpful.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
was good
Registration Clerk (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMay 9, 2018
I have learned a lot here. My staff that I work with are awesome. Hospital is very old but has character. The most enjoyable part of my job is helping people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A place where you can do overtime and make money
Psychiatric Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 18, 2018
I was excited when I got the job it's was my first time working in a facility. I love working but some people don't like doing team work and it makes your jod harder to do.
Pros
You can do all the over time you like
Cons
It's not a lot of team work
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Ok place
Patient Care Technician (Current Employee) –  Saint louis moMarch 8, 2018
No job security talks of closing other than that ok place to work poor management lots of meeting low salary high stress lots of hours to pick up no workers
Pros
Lots of hours
Cons
No help
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Gained experience and very friendly atmospehere
Stationary Engineer (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOMarch 5, 2018
Excellent work environment with opportunities for advancement.
Management was very friendly and instructive.
Downside would be making adjustments to rotating shifts.
Pros
Healthy environment and relaxed atmosphere
Cons
no problems or instances
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I met a lot of fun people. I only went to work to do just that. I communicated with co-workers when it was necessary and made sure my job was complete
Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJanuary 3, 2018
I met a lot of fun people. I only went to work to do just that. I communicated with co-workers when it was necessary and made sure my job was completed at all times. The hardest part was knowing that people did not enjoy or complete their jobs as I did. The most enjoyable part was the money of course but also knowing that a good service was performed as so it shall be rewarded.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was an okay place to work.
Pharmacy Buyer/Technician (Former Employee) –  St. Louis, MONovember 13, 2017
I worked there for twenty two years. I was laid off due to down sizing. That was big blow to my pockets. The job wasn't the best but it paid the bills.
Pros
It was a fulltime job.
Cons
They can lay you just like that.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 4Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great co-workers and pay
Staff RN (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOOctober 15, 2017
Pay is what you would expect for a staff RN, management helps on the floor when needed, trained appropriately for the job, management cares about the needs of the staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It's ok
Unit Secretary (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOAugust 8, 2017
Never know if your floor is open or if you are going to be pulled to another floor.
Understaffed.
Staff meetings get you no where. Complaints go in one ear & out the other.
Pros
None
Cons
took away bonuses.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
na
Registered Nurse (Emergency Room) (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 29, 2017
I work as a registered nurse in the ED, this was my first job as a RN. This is a small hospital with mostly mental health patients. I am thankful for the experience I have had so far.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Like the people but job got boring
Cook (Current Employee) –  St. Louis, MOJune 14, 2017
This job wasn't so bad, the majority of people are pretty nice, and it's not a super fast work environment.The only problem I had with it is it was too easy and gpt repetitive.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Claim this company page

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Alexius Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 62 reviews
527
416
314
23
12

Ratings by category

4.0Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.8Culture