St. Elizabeth's Medical Center Employee Reviews

Showing all 67 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't work here especially as a new nurse
Nurse (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MAJuly 17, 2019
I have never been so bullied as a nurse in my 30 years of nursing as I was at my time at this facility. There is bullying culture among nurses and it is totally condoned. Many medical errors were made on the cardiac unit I worked on but if you were a "favorite" your mistake was covered up and/or overlooked. Also as a so called "Catholic" facility, hypocrisy runs rampant. I once heard a so called "Catholic" nurse remark to another nurse of a patient that had been a challenge with their call light comment that "They're on Mass Health. They're lucky to be here. They can wait." The supervisors are useless. They walk around with clipboards and do nothing to help with a patient issue. 3-11 shift and nights were the worst and also the time when you really needed a supervisor. Don't work here, especially if you're a new nurse. You will not be supported by staff that you work with.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Love helping others and interacting with the public
Emergency Room Technician II (Former Employee) –  Edgewood, KYJune 20, 2019
I enjoyed my time at SEMC but was let go when I went back to school to get my Paramedic license. Coworkers were easy to get along with. I worked on the TCU units as a CNA and Telemetry Tech. Then moved to the ER and worked as a ER Tech for 6 years. Patient care was always top priority. I collected lab specimens and took care of cleaning wounds and splinting broken limbs. Assisted Doctors with procedures and also nurses on a regular basis. I loved my job and helping people.
Pros
Benefits
Cons
Overwhelmed at times due to pt overload
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Stressful environment
Nurse Technician (Former Employee) –  Utica, NYMarch 14, 2019
Management/staff tedious requests made this job more stressful than it had to be, taking away from patient care. Always short staffed, and equipment was either broken or missing, making most tasks a hazard to staff or patients.
Pros
Flexible hours
Cons
Short staffed, poor equipment
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was there for internship
Medical Assistant Extern (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MAMarch 8, 2019
Was at St. Elizabeth's to do my hours for internship. Since i was on Oncology i was only allowed really to take vitals and file paperwork. I did like getting to see and interact with same patients many times throughout week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Meditech Trainer Job
Meditech Trainer (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MAFebruary 25, 2019
The hospital staff was very nice and a good magority of the providers were trained before go live. The most enjoyable part about this job was the other trainers. We worked well together
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Bad company
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MAJanuary 29, 2019
Departments are already minimally staffed and there is a high turnover rate since they underpay and never give raises. The good employees leave and the bad ones become managers. Managers are not educated or trained to do the jobs. Everyone is miserable. Hospital poorly run and compromises patient safety
Pros
Location
Cons
Short staffed high turnover no raises
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
payroll/staffing
Payroll Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 11, 2019
daily input of payroll,if staffing look over next 24 hours of staffing (3 shifts see what staff are needed for calls to be made) enter sick calls, census, floats, sitters from previous days 3 shifts, answer phone messages and emails, continue with proofing payroll using 2 systems ANSOS and Kronos. Updating missed punches, do interface to move all schedule changes and updated payroll into kronos. Update schedule changes, terminations, create new positions for new hires. Work on projects/reports
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clinical placement
Nursing Student Clinical Rotation (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 9, 2019
Nursing staff were willing to help nursing students learn. This hospital also gave me and my clinical group a remarkable experience. We were able to be hands on and interact with the whole medical team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 8, 2019
-Archaic systems and processes
-Constant turnover
-Extremely low pay for the area
-Poor communication from top down
-No support from manager
-No raises or bonuses unless you are a Union employee or a manager, even if you excel in your role
-No perks
-Departments are constantly understaffed, overworked, and underpaid
-Company is more interested in making money for the system, rather than advancing and providing appropriate pay for employees
-No staff recognition unless you are a manager
-Only part of job that was enjoyable was taking care of the patients and working with co-workers that cared as well
-Company doesn't care about or treat well the support staff
Pros
Good cafeteria, close to public transportation, the patients, nice co-workers, nice chapel for mass
Cons
No raises, no perks, consistantly understaffed and underpaid unless in a union, made to feel invisable
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Summary
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Brighton, MANovember 8, 2018
My first healthcare experience was at St. Elizabeths and in my opinion was PHENOMENAL place to start.

Work life culture is great the support system is great.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Senior Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 21, 2018
Dynamic fast paced
Ever changing
Hecti
Beurocratic
Hectic


HR does not have a secure place at the table, necessary to effecting positive change.
No succession plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great job
Clinical dietitian (Former Employee) –  Dayton, OHOctober 18, 2018
started here as a temporary and landed a job permanently. also gained a lot of experience from a wide variety of roles. Nutrition Support was the best experience, as well of the womens health clinic
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Nurse Technician CTICU/CTPCU (Former Employee) –  Utica, NYSeptember 4, 2018
The company cares about patient care, but cares little about the ware on the nurses and supporting staff. Many units are left understaffed and tired because of the need on other units. That being said the people that I worked with, the RNs and other NTs were great people and we all helped each other as much as we could.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace culture was superb
Administrative Coordinator/Chief (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 21, 2018
I worked for Caritas on 2 separate occasions with different job titles. When I began my career there, it was called St. Elizabeth's Hospital and was a lovely hospital to work for.

It then became Caritas which was comprised of 7 hospitals in Massachusetts. Again, quite pleasant with people staying there for many years.

When I left, it was about to be Steward Healthcare, and it then became more like a business, rather than a small hospital with excellent care.
Pros
Comaraderie, excellent patient care
Cons
Bought out by a large organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
So-So
CNA (Former Employee) –  Wabasha, MNMay 27, 2018
The job itself was good, if you worked hard and were efficient it wasn't hard. The residents were great and management did the best they could. The problem was with your co-workers who could range from friendly and helpful, to angry and lazy.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
rewarding career
Psychiatric Assistant (Former Employee) –  Utica, NYMay 11, 2018
I would say this was my favorite position unfortunately the pay was very low considering the the type of work that was expected. We dealt with patients in acute stages of psychosis and received minimum wage.
Pros
see patients stabilize and return to society.
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice work environment, fast paced, drives productivity
Phlebotomist/ Lab Assistant (Current Employee) –  Brighton, MAApril 26, 2018
St Elizabeth's Medical Center's work culture is putting patient first in everything we do. The employees in all departments, collectively work very hard in delivering quality patient care. It is a very busy hospital and management recognizes all we do in making this hospital one of the best in delivering quality patient care.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to get your feet wet
Intensive Care Unit and Staff Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 16, 2018
High paced, collaborative place of work. Patient still comes first with nursing care despite push from administration to turn beds more quickly for profit. Nursing school closed on site but many of its' graduates remain in practice there and continue to delivery exceptional bedside nursing care. Worked with top physicians from every discipline. Great teaching atmosphere and become apart of the patient care with collaboration nursing and physician interactions and daily rounds. More staff needed to support advanced acute care within facility.
Pros
friendly, teaching hospital environment with exceptional nurses
Cons
did not get breaks during shift and this would lead to high burnout rate.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 12, 2018
Poor management, lack of staff and resources. Management is hostile and doesn't care about the staff. Steward only cares about making money. Please find another place to work
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Smaller generalist hospital
Lead Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Wabasha, MNFebruary 13, 2018
I felt the lab was a great place to work while I was going to school at the same time. However I wanted a more fast paced environment and a more challenging atmosphere
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Elizabeth's Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.7
Based on 67 reviews
518
425
316
22
16

Ratings by category

3.6Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.3Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

St. Elizabeth's Medical Center Reviews by Location