St. Elizabeth's Medical Center Employee Reviews in Boston, MA

Found 13 reviews matching the search See all 70 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great clinical placement
Nursing Student Clinical Rotation (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 9, 2019
Nursing staff were willing to help nursing students learn. This hospital also gave me and my clinical group a remarkable experience. We were able to be hands on and interact with the whole medical team.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible place to work
Support Staff (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 8, 2019
-Archaic systems and processes
-Constant turnover
-Extremely low pay for the area
-Poor communication from top down
-No support from manager
-No raises or bonuses unless you are a Union employee or a manager, even if you excel in your role
-No perks
-Departments are constantly understaffed, overworked, and underpaid
-Company is more interested in making money for the system, rather than advancing and providing appropriate pay for employees
-No staff recognition unless you are a manager
-Only part of job that was enjoyable was taking care of the patients and working with co-workers that cared as well
-Company doesn't care about or treat well the support staff
Pros
Good cafeteria, close to public transportation, the patients, nice co-workers, nice chapel for mass
Cons
No raises, no perks, consistantly understaffed and underpaid unless in a union, made to feel invisable
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy
Senior Human Resources Advisor (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 21, 2018
Dynamic fast paced
Ever changing
Hecti
Beurocratic
Hectic


HR does not have a secure place at the table, necessary to effecting positive change.
No succession plan
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The workplace culture was superb
Administrative Coordinator/Chief (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 21, 2018
I worked for Caritas on 2 separate occasions with different job titles. When I began my career there, it was called St. Elizabeth's Hospital and was a lovely hospital to work for.

It then became Caritas which was comprised of 7 hospitals in Massachusetts. Again, quite pleasant with people staying there for many years.

When I left, it was about to be Steward Healthcare, and it then became more like a business, rather than a small hospital with excellent care.
Pros
Comaraderie, excellent patient care
Cons
Bought out by a large organization
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Place to get your feet wet
Intensive Care Unit and Staff Charge Nurse (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 16, 2018
High paced, collaborative place of work. Patient still comes first with nursing care despite push from administration to turn beds more quickly for profit. Nursing school closed on site but many of its' graduates remain in practice there and continue to delivery exceptional bedside nursing care. Worked with top physicians from every discipline. Great teaching atmosphere and become apart of the patient care with collaboration nursing and physician interactions and daily rounds. More staff needed to support advanced acute care within facility.
Pros
friendly, teaching hospital environment with exceptional nurses
Cons
did not get breaks during shift and this would lead to high burnout rate.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very difficult place to work
Director (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAApril 12, 2018
Poor management, lack of staff and resources. Management is hostile and doesn't care about the staff. Steward only cares about making money. Please find another place to work
Pros
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Solid Place to Work
Financial Analyst (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 25, 2018
Nice place to work. It's been a while, but I remember it being very laid back and not overly demanding. I'm sure it has changed quite a bit since I was last there.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job but not what I was expecting
Project Manager, Facilities & Support Services (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 6, 2018
I did enjoy my role as a project leader, but I was mainly an administrative assistant which was not the job I was looking for. I had a great working relationship with my manager.
Pros
Learning
Cons
Commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This was an excellent place to work for.
Medical Assistant (Intern) (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJune 13, 2017
This was the up most pleasant experience I Had working here. the staff was wonderful. Patients were great. Great hospital. Great food. Great location as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved living/working in Boston
Electrophysiology Technologist (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 15, 2014
First job working in a hospital setting which ultimately lead me to my career in ultrasound.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible management and work environment
Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Boston, MAJanuary 7, 2014
The lab I worked in was old and antiquated. The building was moldy and nothing was done to improve it.

Lab managers did not manage, but played favourites choosing incompetence over competent workers. Pay raises always went to these employees.

As a lab tech, I would not recommend St. E's as a good place to work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced Boston Hospital with Meditech 6.0 and CPOE.
Clinical Staff Pharmacist (Current Employee) –  Boston, MAOctober 18, 2013
Nice Hospital to work at. Co-workers are good. Managent is good in my department.
Pros
Hours
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport

See more St. Elizabeth's Medical Center reviews

You may want to try:

Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Elizabeth's Medical Center. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.6
Based on 70 reviews
519
425
316
22
18

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.3Management
3.2Culture

Ratings from women

2.6InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.2Career Opportunities

2.4Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

St. Elizabeth's Medical Center Reviews by Location