St. John Knits Employee Reviews

Showing all 41 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Terrible company - would not recommend
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Chicago, IL 60611July 14, 2018
Would not recommend this company. Terrible, stressful work culture. No one ever took breaks and was pushed to bring in business. The company does not care about their employees.
Pros
Store hours
Cons
Culture - terrible
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Review
Luxury Stylist and Wardrobe Specialist (Former Employee) –  Naples, FLJune 22, 2018
At this time I do not wish to disclose any further information about the company that I have worked for.
Thank you very much and this will conclude my review.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 5Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Generalized Job
General Manager (Current Employee) –  Palm Desert, CAMay 26, 2018
Wonderful opportunity to motivate, lead, and develop a great group of diverse people. Excellent brand history. Daily interaction with interesting and highly loyal client base.
Pros
Good brand, work environment, people, culture
Cons
Income
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Starting sales position
Keyholder, Wardrobe Specialist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 22, 2018
This is a great starting Sales Position. Hours are great for retail and customers are loyal and have been going there for awhile. Can be slow and you have to make cold calls.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
store manager
Flagship Manager (Former Employee) –  Manhasset, NYMay 10, 2018
cut-throat environment with crazy upper management. There is no support and you will get thrown under the bus for everything. Sales people are only out for themselves and are over paid. Average salesperson earned six figures in my location.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
El ambiente de trabajo es tranquilo
Empacar inspección reparacion (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 30, 2018
Es una compañía sería los supervisores son responsables estuve muy agusto trabajando para esa compañía pero se termino el trabajo la compañía se movió a Tijuana
Pros
Seguro médico días 6 días de enfermedad al año
Cons
Dan dos descansando de 10 minutos
Was this review helpful?YesNo 3Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Manager had no idea what she was doing
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Aurora, ILNovember 16, 2017
Awful hours
Very cut throat with being commission
Everyone hated everyone
Awful return policy
Manager did not care about theft
Favorites were always chosen and gave more benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 5No 2Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Beware the upper retail management
Asst. Store Manager (Former Employee) –  Washington, DCNovember 13, 2017
Regional director of retail is a terminator. Micro manager and steals your ideas. They do not support you and I left for a better company.
The clothes are great and if you’re willing to put up with the competitive atmosphere you can make some money. I don’t recommend getting into management as it’s a pressurized dead end.
Pros
Clothing allotment, benefits
Cons
Terrible regional management
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 3Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
The Client Counts
Personal Styling Consultant (Current Employee) –  Charlotte, NCOctober 17, 2017
Working at the Boutique is a great learning experience. The culture is that of any environment with multiple personalities. Connecting with clients and delivering was the ultimate goal.
Pros
Embraces ideas for growth of your business
Cons
Teamwork coaching can be an asset
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Money can be made!
Key Holder (Current Employee) –  City of Sunrise, FLJune 23, 2017
I received training on CRM, which I had never used before. This program is extremely useful for client and sales information. Luckily, I also received great pointers from other associates on selling tips, which in most commission based jobs, this doesn't happen.
Pros
Money
Cons
Long time to reach the next level of leadership
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good comany
Product Development for Griffith & Gray Knit Lines (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJune 20, 2017
Allowed me to take my 20 years of experience and apply it to one of the top manufactures of women clothing. They were big on innovation and design. the culture was a little snobbish but that was what that business is about.
Pros
great learning experience
Cons
Job insecurity
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work, management put too much pressure on employers
WARDROBE SPECALIST ASSISTANT (Current Employee) –  Manhattan, NYJune 18, 2017
Great place to work, learn a lot but no room for growth. Management isn't great, doesn't really know how to be a leader. Makes employers anxious instead of motivated.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good environment ,very productive.
Maker maker (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJune 13, 2017
While at that company I feel like we still can improve things more but overall it good place to work at.Some times I feel it like I was at my own home
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Consistent and stable work environment.
Assistant General Manager (Former Employee) –  New York, NYApril 24, 2017
St. John provided a stable and focused work environment. The team was seasoned with a strong sense of client service. As a niche brand St. John was consistent in its offerings and defined its image. It was a nice environment with family values and pride in its products.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 6Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place To Work
Store Manager, Retail (Former Employee) –  New YorkMarch 9, 2017
I enjoyed my time with the brand. The people are helpful and want nothing more than for everyone to succeed. A healthy work life balance, which is nice considering our line of work.
Pros
Great partnerships, close teams
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 6Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Don't waste your time!
Assistant Store Manager (Former Employee) –  FloridaJune 30, 2016
A terrible company to work for -management is awful and only looking for you to do something wrong! No training, hostility among other salespeople, not a friendly place.
Pros
salary
Cons
everything else
Was this review helpful?Yes 17No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Place to work
HR Jr. Benefit and Wellness Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJune 10, 2016
The position I had at St. John Knits was great. Everyday there was something new to do. Co- Workers were amazing they were all so helpful. I learned so much at SJK and I'm ready to use my skills elsewhere.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 7Report
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work but mangers do not help you
Driver (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAApril 8, 2016
If you work as a driver, good luck. The work is fairly easy but your co-workers are heavy slackers. They send you to LA to do drop off and pick ups and that is where the hard work is. At times it is very stressful and you are on a deadline. Your boss will seem like he is there to help you, but is really just killing time. He makes decisions at times that seem logical to him, but in reality are horrible. If you decide to work here, just be ready for the stress that comes with it.
Was this review helpful?Yes 7No 5Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and driven workplace
Retail Operations Intern (Current Employee) –  Irvine, CAFebruary 1, 2016
As an intern I learned a lot about the whole Operations process for Boutiques and Outlets. The company is motivated and driven.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 8Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Affective
CRM Intern (Former Employee) –  Irvine, CAJanuary 6, 2016
It was unique work experience
I learned how to look at big picture
I learned how to use database and reach clients

My coworkers were amazing, they helped a lot.
My manager was so helpful.

Hardest part of the my internship that I had to present what I learned last day of the my internship.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 7Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. John Knits. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 41 reviews
59
415
35
24
18

See reviews about

3.4Work/Life Balance
3.5Compensation/Benefits
2.9Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
2.9Culture