St. Joseph Hospital Culture reviews

Found 301 reviews matching the search See all 1,409 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and relaxing place to work
RN Charge Nurse/Supervisor (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXApril 19, 2019
Deal with mentally challenged patient , sometimes more depressive and often schizophrenic patients. I learned that every individual is unique and one size does not fit all.Management and work culture is great, most enjoyable part is the people I work with. Hardest part of the job is encountering patient that abuse the system just to get a bed.
Cons
no promotions, no pay increase
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Admin Assistant
ADMINISTRATIVE ASSISTANT - QUALITY (Current Employee) –  Orange, CAApril 9, 2019
St Joseph was an awesome place to work. My manager was always available to help and explain different projects. We had a great team that worked very well together.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Rn
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Denver, COApril 6, 2019
St. Joes has a great culture, I always feel supported and love my team. However, we barely get raises and management does not seemed concerned about losing staff to surrounding hospitals that pay more money. Overall I love the community and that it is a teaching hospital, just wish we were compensated fairly.
Pros
Coworkers, environment
Cons
pay
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
current employee (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXMarch 22, 2019
It is a create place to work, the staff are professional and the environment is wonderful. Although it can be stressful at times I would recommend working here to anyone.
Pros
great people
Cons
none
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Normal hospital job
Physician Assistant (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILMarch 18, 2019
I really don't have much memory of this position. It was years ago. I did like the job but was laid off. Again I felt there was favoritism and the culture was elitism and unless you were part of the "in crowd," you were left out.
Pros
Enjoyed my patients
Cons
Favoritism
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
In the downunder
Room Service Attendant (Current Employee) –  Denver, COMarch 12, 2019
The kitchen is a magical place to be if you strive in a fast paced working environment and enjoy being on your feet all day. A typical day is you delivering food trays to patient from the start of your shift to the end of your shift. The culture can be friendly if you stay positive and helpful. The hardest part is being on your feet all day.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice
Patient Access Representative/Scheduler (Former Employee) –  Philadelphia, PAMarch 11, 2019
Job was amazing, met great people and learned alot, area was scary in terms of waiting for public transportation. Staff was amazing. Hospital shut down
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work however compensation could be better
Nutrition Assistant (Current Employee) –  Paterson, NJFebruary 25, 2019
A typical day at work is one of none stop phone calls form patients ordering there food and some wanting to know where there food is. I learned how to work under press and also how to deal with individual who are less cooperative.
The hardest part of my job is when we experience system failures and have to result to down time protocol. This involve us resorting to writing every order or request for meals or anything else.
The staff present a community atmosphere and are very supportive of each other.
Pros
caring environment
Cons
monetary compensation
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
general nursing
RN Student (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILFebruary 18, 2019
St. Joseph Hospital is a great place to work, culture is excellent customer service is practice by everyone, Working with my team is rewarding we are all team players, working together to get the job done.
Pros
Great boss, great benefits, great insurance, great PTO
Cons
staff pay for parking
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Patient Acess for several years
Patient Access Representative (Current Employee) –  1401 st.joseph prwyFebruary 5, 2019
I have worked 11 yrs a St.Joseph worked in insurance verification and emergency room and i have truly enjoyed working in booth depts.In the past 11 years i have had four supervisors between two depts.Also i enjoy working with the physicians and nurses in the emergency room.
St.Joseph is a vary diverse culture company.
The haedest part of my job is dealing with vary out rate patients.
The most enjoyable part of my job is helping patients and people.
Pros
paid vactions and pto time
Cons
short breakes when its vary busy sometimes no lunch
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Nice Company to Work for
Patient Access Specialist (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXFebruary 4, 2019
*A typical day at work- registering patients
*Management great
*Workplace culture is good

*The Most enjoyable part of the job was helping patients
Pros
you could charge your lunch if you did not have lunch money
Cons
none noted
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
good place to start
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 26, 2019
Potential for learning but not a lot of autonomy. at time I felt there was a eat your young culture with the nurses. A lot of change in management. I did learn to fight for what I felt was needed for my patients
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
exceptional team work
Full Time Travel Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  Eureka, CAJanuary 1, 2019
I loved being a part of this team.I would love to be a permanent member of the staff. All the patients were treated well with top notch care. Great place to be
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Hospital
Clinical Mental Health Counselor (Current Employee) –  Nashua, NHDecember 30, 2018
The best part of working at SJH was the people and the culture. There were on-site training opportunities and continuous support for professional growth.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
registered nurse
Travel Nurse ER/ICU (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CADecember 28, 2018
my first travel job, it was amazing , the culture was great , so many different people , fast pace and excellent experience, everyday was different , it was high acuity , but the learning was great, coming from a challenging hospital was easy transiton
Pros
great learning experience
Cons
not enough staff
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly and fast paced with a daily goal
Administrative Assistant (Former Employee) –  Huntingburg, INDecember 13, 2018
Friendly and fast paced with a daily goal. Training was great. We were cross trained in some areas of the insurance billing. Sometimes they took us to lunch.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Emergency Technician (Former Employee) –  Orange, CANovember 23, 2018
Great place to work and feel like a team. I worked in the Emergency room and enjoyed every moment. They treat their staff and patients with the upmost respect.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great work experience
Dialysis Technician (Former Employee) –  Orange, CANovember 8, 2018
I loved the people i worked with, its a great place to work you learn so much
there.It was just to far for me living in chino and that became very hard on me.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive and helpful workplace
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Bangor, MENovember 6, 2018
Everyone at St. Joseph is so nice to one another. Majority of the staff there is willing to go above and beyond for one another. Patient care is always first. They are passionate about team building and growth as an individual.
Pros
positive energy in every department
Cons
Sometimes the opporunity to move up is not always available
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work,friendly co-workers
Certified Nursing Assistant (Former Employee) –  Elgin, ILOctober 5, 2018
Great hospital with many benefits. Outstanding staff and management. short staffed at times. Holiday parties with celebrated floors achievement's were fun.
Pros
friendly co-workers
Cons
short staff
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Joseph Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,409 reviews
5590
4447
3239
271
162

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.8Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

2.8InHerSight Score

2.3Personal Development

3.4Career Opportunities

2.6Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight