St. Joseph Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to work
DIETARY OFFICE MANAGER/DIETITIAN (Former Employee) –  Lancaster, PAJanuary 26, 2018
A hospital great place to work with room for advancement started out on the food service line, and ended up in management and the dietary office. I also did my internship there in the radiology department.
Pros
Advancement, friendly, career oriented
Cons
Company sold
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
no
Registered Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Yonkers, NY 10701January 25, 2018
Great staff to worth with. Administration does not value its workers. Union benefits good. Some nurses are excellent and not recognized for their hard labor.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Saint Joseph Hospital
Medical Technologist (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 24, 2018
Saint Joseph Hospital provides care to thousands each year. Patients have access to physicians who are national experts in many areas. This is a fast paced facility.
Pros
Stable employment
Cons
Career advancement
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Room for improvement
Employee (Current Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJanuary 23, 2018
Understaffed in true healthcare fashion, high turnover, pay leaves more to be desired. Great people to work with and real compassion for care, but teamwork could improve.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Unstable
Nursing (Current Employee) –  NHJanuary 22, 2018
Unstable leadership can create uncertainty in job security. Benefits are costly, workforce in transition of leaving/retiring. Prefer to promote from without the organization.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy Emergency Department
Charge Nurse/Staff Nurse Level II (Former Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJanuary 18, 2018
This is a great hospital. It is staffed adequately. It is very busy. It is a challenging job and can be stressful due to the high acuity of patients. It requires a high level of critical thinking skills.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
This is one of the best Hospitals in Baltimore for patent care
RN Staff Nurse (Current Employee) –  Baltimore, MDJanuary 18, 2018
Excellent physicians, great communication among employees. Lots of resources and help avaliable. Very efficient with trsts and giving patients results.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Decent Place to work
Emergency Room Nurse (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJanuary 17, 2018
Many great people work at Saint Joseph hospital. Since CHS bought the hospital management changed and so did staffing. Unsafe staffing ratios are abundant.
Pros
Great Co-Workers
Cons
Poor Staffing
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Best place to get experience
Community Benefit Department Intern (Former Employee) –  Mission Viejo, CAJanuary 16, 2018
I only did a 6 months internship at the community benefit department at St. Joseph of Mission Viejo and I learned a lot. I definitely recommend it to all ne grads!
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Sjmc
Unit Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Bellingham, WAJanuary 15, 2018
After transitioning to EHR, my position became obsolete.
Wages were not fair. Very poor, if any, raises. People working years less then me were making around 2 dollars more than I.
Most enjoyable part was coworkers that I worked with.
Pros
coworkers
Cons
wages, management, administration, benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
woked with unit of people that were at the time like family
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 15, 2018
I was persuaded by friends to join another facility in town instead of go back to ST Joseph, but all in all a good facility. A day there was fast paced and challenging, but I like the acuity of patients.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Clinical Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXJanuary 15, 2018
High patient demand and fast paced environment. Great employees and management. The most enjoyable part of the job are the patients. The hardest part is the load of work you have at times.
Pros
co workers and culture of the hospital
Cons
high patient load and work
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Heart Cath Lab
Heart Cath Lab Tech (Former Employee) –  Lexington, KYJanuary 13, 2018
Good group of people to work with in critical situations. Fast paced high stress environment unfortunately riddled with drama in the down time. overall a good place to work
Pros
compensation
Cons
stress
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Dishonest staff looking to get rid of competition
Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Fort Wayne, INJanuary 12, 2018
Staff fails to finish job before leaving. Management plays favorites.
Staff looking to get rid of everyone not in their group. Most days are not enjoyable.
Pros
Insurance/Paid time off
Cons
Pay/Staff/Supervisor
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
love it
Unit Dietary Aide (Former Employee) –  Jersey City, NJJanuary 11, 2018
I love that job because they really take good care of the residents and they love working with them they really help them out alot you fall in love with the residents you can't help it.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
New to St. Joseph
Licensed Practical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Orange, CAJanuary 9, 2018
As a new employee it was good at the beginning. As time went on not so much. The manager at my particular department was not helpful or supportive to me and always found reasons of what I was doing wrong. She was not open to show me ways to keep improving in my job. After a short period of time I left the company to find a better place to work.
Pros
1 hour lunches
Cons
Bad manager at the location I worked at.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Very nice atmosphere and establishment to work.
RN Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Kokomo, INJanuary 8, 2018
Religious focused care. Very nice place to work. Nice patient to nurse ratio. Facility standards are high as per personal standards. Patient care is top priority.
Pros
Pleasant atmosphere
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced
Medical-surgical RN (Former Employee) –  Kansas City, MOJanuary 8, 2018
Very professional work environment. Continued education offered. High quality patient care. Respect and empathy for patients. Great learning environment.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Horrible place to work for
Clinical Nurse (Former Employee) –  Stockton, CAJanuary 8, 2018
Lack of advancement, horrible culture, always out of ratio, never a lunch break, mandatory float to untrained areas, slammed with patients, MD's yelling at staff, MD refused to come assess critical patients. Supervisor refuses to come out of office to assist nurses on floor
Pros
none
Cons
everything
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Run!
Medical Technologist II, Night Shift Lead (Former Employee) –  Saint Paul, MNJanuary 7, 2018
Without question the most unprofessional and outwardly racist place I've ever worked. Mean, awful, ignorant people work in the laboratory and racist management do nothing.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Joseph Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

4.0
Based on 1,189 reviews
5504
4385
3195
259
146

Ratings by category

3.9Work/Life Balance
3.9Compensation/Benefits
3.6Job Security/Advancement
3.6Management
3.9Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.3

1.9Personal Development

3.1Career Opportunities

2.2Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight