St. Luke's Baptist Hospital Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
poor management/work on holidays
Registrar/Patient Access II (Current Employee) –  Medical center areaAugust 13, 2018
ER department is treated ugly
supervisor never has your back
main admitting closes early and er dept. ends up doing their work
no holidays off
if anything goes wrong its er registrations fault
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
August 14, 2018

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience but appreciate you voicing your concern.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
review summary
Certified Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 5, 2018
3/ 12 hour shifts a week
collaboration with midwives
management not always visible
great teamwork
very busy labor department
not enough hours in the day
delivering babies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
July 6, 2018

Thank you for the positive review. We're so glad you were happy in your role.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive
Surgical Technologist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 23, 2018
As a surgical technologist what you put into learning your skill is what you get in return. The technology in doing surgery in operating room is always changing.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
April 25, 2018

Thank you for your review. We’re thrilled to hear you’re happy in your role.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Staffing ratios are not set with nurses in mind
Licensed Vocational Nurse (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXApril 17, 2018
it is common to have anywhere from 6-7 patients on an acute floor, and when staffing is good (4-5 patients per nurse) they will send someone home to save money. There are many days that the floor staff will go without a patient care tech and nurses will have to provide total care for up to 7 patients.
Pros
good health benefits paid time off is accrued quickly
Cons
no breaks, 30 min lunches, understaffed
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
April 18, 2018

Thank you for leaving an honest review about St. Luke's Baptist Hospital. It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Hospital work environment
Staff Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 14, 2018
Three 12 hour shifts provides outstanding work life balance. The work is hard and under appreciated by patients. Advancement is very difficult since there are few manager positions and many experienced staff members interested.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
March 16, 2018

Thank you for your review. We are sorry to hear about your experience but appreciate you voicing your concern.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Punitive work environment
RN (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMarch 8, 2018
Lots of extra responsibilities and expectations. Difficult to be able to take care of our patients. When something went wrong, the fingers start to point and something punitive would happen. Never saw administrators, they sat in their offices.
Pros
Plenty of hours/overtime for staff
Cons
Punitive, untrusting
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
March 9, 2018

Thank you for leaving an honest review about St. Luke's Baptist Hospital. We are sorry to hear about your experience but appreciate you voicing your concern.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good place to work
Dietary Aide (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXFebruary 6, 2018
I enjoyed working there but I need a job that gives me benefits and more hours. Co-workers are friendly. The manager is also nice but I found that problems were not quickly resolved.
Pros
Free food
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
February 8, 2018

Thank you for your review. It is important that our employees feel they can be heard at all times.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Family Oriented Hospital
Director of Nursing (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 15, 2018
St. Luke's is a small hospital and is a wonderful place to work. I have been there for 10 years and has a lot of opportunity to grow in many different areas of nursing.
Pros
Teamwork, support, growth opportunity
Cons
nurse to patient ratios
Was this review helpful?YesNo 2Report
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
January 17, 2018

Thanks for your review! Our employees are the heart of our organization. At St. Luke's we look to provide successful careers for all employees.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Work place
Volunteer, Patient Services (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 3, 2018
Great place to work. I volunteered at St. Lukes and worked in the Patient Services section. I enjoyed the relaxed environment and friendly staff and personnel.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
January 4, 2018

We appreciate your positive review! Our employees are the heart of our organization and are crucial to St. Luke's success.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
didn't like it
Patient Care Associate (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXNovember 8, 2017
Chronically under staffed, low pay, administration doesn't care about the employees or patients. cuts corners to save money at every turn and very poorly managed
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
November 10, 2017

Thank you for your feedback. We are sorry to hear about your experience but appreciate you voicing your concern.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
excellent
Occupational Therapist Registered (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 7, 2017
Overall good place to work. I started working there post graduation and I was able to gain a good foundation of OT in an acute setting. i would definitely recommend St. Luke's.
Pros
Manager
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Official response from St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
October 8, 2017

Thank you for your positive feedback! At St. Luke's, we look to provide successful careers for all employees.

Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
OK place to work
Operating Room Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJuly 6, 2017
Culture really is horrible here which is why most people leave. Understaffed due to turn over. Benefits are good as well as pay but just the culture is not worth the former.
Pros
Pay, discounts at cafeteria, benefits
Cons
Culture, Micro managing, turnover
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Professional and caring workplace
Clinical Assistant (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJune 8, 2017
experienced job fulfillment during a day when the technology information center was down and all labs had to be verified and collected for all different departments.
Was this review helpful?YesNo 4Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Na
Registered Nurse (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 24, 2017
Working at this company is very stressful, it does not provide a work/life balance. The most enjoyable part of the job is working with the patients. The hardest part of the job is working with the negative energy and attitudes of the staff.
Pros
Na
Cons
Na
Was this review helpful?Yes 9No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great hospital in a great health system
Respiratory Therapist (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 19, 2017
This was a travel assignment that became a perm job. REALLY nice people. Lots to do in the city.
Float between NICU and adults.
Good management. Fair pay.
Pros
Great city
Cons
no real cons
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay place to work
LVN (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 17, 2017
Loved it more for the first ten years last year there too many changes in administration and policies. Hiring a lot of G.N.'s to work in critical care areas of the hospital in the ICU I personally don't think that's a good idea
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management and especially Administration are ruthless and back stabbing
Registered Nurse (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXMay 4, 2017
Safe Harbor is called quite frequently, it is a excellent place to put your license on the line.
There is no job security because the moment you rubbed Management or Administration wrong they will terminate you (for example, not floating to another unit or coming extra to work). Always under staffed but still surprised because patient satisfaction scores are low. I saw a lot of incidents that should never happen in a hospital. Delivering safe patient care is clearly not a priority for this facility.
Pros
None
Cons
Administration and Management, always under staffed
Was this review helpful?Yes 10NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great atmosphere
RN Case Manager (Former Employee) –  San Antonio, TXJanuary 3, 2017
While working here, they had an awesome atmosphere with great associates working there. They were a very busy place, but the leadership made it a peaceful place for everyone to work.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 3Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Management
RN (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXDecember 12, 2016
Management is not very organized. They are often understaffed. I feel employees are left out of what is going on with the unit. The compensation is great, as well as the benefits.
Pros
Great pay and great benefits.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
St. Luke's Baptist Hospital
Radiologic Technologist (Current Employee) –  San Antonio, TXOctober 7, 2016
This is a very great place to work, very team orientated. From the management to the house keeping staff...everyone knows one another.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at St. Luke's Baptist Hospital. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 34 reviews
514
48
35
25
12

Ratings by category

3.5Work/Life Balance
3.7Compensation/Benefits
3.5Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.6Culture

St. Luke's Baptist Hospital Reviews by Location