Stage Stores Employee Reviews

Found 400 reviews matching the search See all 402 reviews
Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Was Ok
Assistant Manager (Current Employee) –  Saint Johns, MINovember 12, 2018
Job was great at first then people started to group together a judge.
then it wasn't so nice working their Boss had her days off to where no one else could get it even for parents surgery.
Pros
income
Cons
manager was not a good trainer
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good company
Repacker (Current Employee) –  Omaha, NENovember 9, 2018
Every department makes the same amount of money and not every area is the same some do more physical work harder work then others but still get paid the same. Temps make more money then a regular worker they have the choice what time they want end there shift and if they want to work overtime
Pros
Employee discount
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I loved working at Goodys
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Chillicothe, MONovember 8, 2018
When I started working at Goodys, I never dreamed that I would make life long friends that I would have for ever. I loved working for Goodys because the manager at the time made working there fun. I worked with the manager before them and they made working there the worst experience.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good job for going to school
Counter manager (Current Employee) –  Floresville, TXNovember 5, 2018
Stage stores mostly works with if you go to school, not a ideal place to grow with the company. Expectations are beyond wanted with short pay. Depending on the store, some stores are more flexible with weekends, holidays & other events needed off.
Pros
Flexible schedule, commission for counter managers.
Cons
Unprofessional environment, underpaid, work all holidays thanksgiving & Christmas Eve New Year’s Eve
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun Yet Not Professional
Estee Lauder & Clinique Counter Manager (Former Employee) –  Dumas, TXNovember 4, 2018
Being a counter manager for Estée Lauder, & Clinique, was a very interactive job that included very responsible duties and responsibilities. Although I managed my own counter, with having a Clinique counter also in the same store, you sometimes had to be in charge of their duties when needed as well as your own. My head store manager made it difficult to focus on two counters already, but had no problem adding regular store associates uncompleted responsibilities as well as your own. Very unprofessional, extremely unorganized, and never fulfilled anything on time or correctly within the store itself. I feel as if under better, professional management, the beauty counters would have been well organized, more effective in sales, and successful overall.
Pros
Great Pay, Great Management Experience
Cons
Poor Management, Lack of Organization, Very Unprofessionall
Was this review helpful?Yes 2NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a fun place to work. Lots going on. Never boring.
STORE SUPERVISOR (Former Employee) –  McAlester, OK 74501October 25, 2018
I learned customer service. How my reaction influences the reactions of others. I would have the ability to tone down a situation by staying calm and listening to the customers concern. Customers mostly just want to be heard.
Pros
Flexible hours, store discounts
Cons
Low pay; hard work.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working the Stage Stores was decent up until the end with New Management
Sales Associate/Cashier (Current Employee) –  Wichita, KSOctober 24, 2018
I started under management that was fun and outgoing by the time I was ready to leave there was New Management who had new rules she was trying to do illegal things. She made the workplace less enjoyable than it use to be.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Family oriented/trendy workplace
Import Coordinator (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 23, 2018
A typical day at work at Stage Stores would entail a lot of tracking of product/shipments, buying of new product/keying new PO's, customer service, and allocation meetings. The culture at Stage Stores was family-oriented. Retail is a challenging career, but the most rewarding part of my job was assisting customers and the outside community and volunteer opportunities the company took advantage of.
Was this review helpful?Yes 4NoReport
3.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Good People Poor Work Environment
Senior Director, Omni Channel Projects (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXOctober 17, 2018
Made great life long friends at Stage. New offices very difficult to work in as there is a lot of disruption with open concept cubicles. Middle Management is great but Senior Management could be improved
Pros
People
Cons
No work life balance
Was this review helpful?Yes 4No 1Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Friendly Work Environment
Freight Associate (Current Employee) –  Idabel, OKOctober 12, 2018
Employee's are treated equally and with respect. This is the first job I've ever truly loved. My only criticism would have to be that there isn't near enough hours, nor do we get health benefits.
Pros
Employee Discount. Flexible Hours.
Cons
Pay. No Benefits. Not enough hours. Not enough space to properly store merchandise.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great place to start working
Licensed Cosmetologist (Former Employee) –  Mountain Home, AR 72653October 8, 2018
Working at Stage is a high place environment / atmosphere, yet it builds your skills quickly and efficiently; get to make good repour with the customers.
Was this review helpful?Yes 6NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Security Guard
Store Security Officer (Former Employee) –  Beaumont, TXOctober 5, 2018
Observed all customers entering and exiting through main door, walked and observed customers shopping for possible theft. During evening hours observed and walked customer to cars in parking area for safety.
Pros
discounts
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great part-time job, not a stressful job, easy money
Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Orange, TXOctober 3, 2018
Great part-time job for students still in high school or college. Managers were very flexible with scheduling. Co-workers and managers always willing to help!
Pros
Flexible scheduling, non-stressful job, great managers
Cons
Short staffed a lot
Was this review helpful?Yes 6No 1Report
5.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Loved being a assistant manager
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Dodge City, KSSeptember 30, 2018
Being on time learning fashion being friendly to customers and employees always be fair and honest help other employees have everything done and ready for the day
Pros
Working in clothes and being a assistant manager
Cons
Nothing
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Overall a good place to work.
Business Systems Manager/Project Manager (Current Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 26, 2018
Stage is a good place to work. The company has a lot going for it. The people are welcoming and collaborative. Most enjoyable part of the job is working with the people.
Pros
The people are awesome!
Cons
No work from home option anymore.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 2Report
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced with an expectation of excellence
Store manger (Current Employee) –  Nacogdoches, TXSeptember 23, 2018
I find that the culture of stage stores has changed in recent years. It has moved from being customer service oriented to more of a money motivated. The hours have been cut in the stores which requires fewer associates to handle more and more work load.
Pros
Employee discounts, paid vacation
Cons
High expectations and poor management. Very little training
Was this review helpful?Yes 7NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Company's morale and expectations are excellent. However store managers do not uphold the same company standards
Supervisor (Former Employee) –  Eden, NCSeptember 23, 2018
Poor management. Dishonesty and theft go unchecked. Honest employees are attacked and antagonized. High turnover rates, lack of proper training. Corporate recognizes great work because numbers do not lie, but management promises rewards and incentives but never deliver even though monies would be taken out (petty cash) for such they were not being used properly but for personal gain/use.
Pros
Flexible schedule
Cons
Lack of proper training, dishonesty and theft at the hands of upper management
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
1.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Okay
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Bellefontaine, OHSeptember 22, 2018
The job itself was enjoyable. The Manager was terrible. There is such a thing as a leader and a boss. She was a boss that didn't care about her employees.
Pros
flexible hours
Cons
the manager's attitude
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
2.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Employment
Assistant Manager (Former Employee) –  Thibodaux, LASeptember 19, 2018
Stage stores is a basic employment store. There is not much room for advancement. The attrition rate is extremely low. Could not see a long term career within this company.
Pros
flexible hours
Was this review helpful?Yes 5NoReport
4.0
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun place to work
PRICING ACCURACY ANALYST (Former Employee) –  Houston, TXSeptember 6, 2018
i enjoyed my almost 16 years at Stage. The company in very involved in the community and volunteers at different agencies throughout the year. The management was wonderful.
Pros
good benefits
Cons
departmentalized by floor so not as much interaction between departments
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 3Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Stage Stores. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.3
Based on 402 reviews
5101
491
391
248
171

Ratings by category

3.1Work/Life Balance
2.8Compensation/Benefits
2.8Job Security/Advancement
3.0Management
3.1Culture

Ratings from women

2.1InHerSight Score

1.8Personal Development

2.5Career Opportunities

2.0Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Powered by InHerSight