Star Tribune Media Company, LLC. Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Super stressful
Newspaper delivery Without contact (Current Employee) –  Cheska Depot MinnesotaJanuary 16, 2018
No benefits no insurance no time off Pay only $7 an hour in 2016 Owner is cheap lot of people just got fired makes my job harder It's a Trap! Shhole!
Pros
Great part time But none
Cons
It's a Trap once you're in it you're in it they won't let you leave
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Collaborative team, exceptional leadership, quality work-life balance
SUBSCRIPTION SALES DIGITAL ACCOUNT MANAGER (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 12, 2018
Typical day would involve higher-up meeting,
objectives discussed,
relayed to subordinates
Creative brainstorming to acquire more readership
Learned how to use my natural people skills to engage potential customers
Enhanced SalesForce capability
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great people Great Company
Exec Admin Assist to the Editor Editorial Page (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 20, 2017
working with like minded, gifted and talented people whose goals were clearly journalistic in nature yet did include with that a desire to be essential in the world by helping to develop its employees foundational skills and talents!
Pros
a place that informed the world
Cons
none I can think of
Was this review helpful?YesNo 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Working different sbifts
Pressman Operator (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 28, 2017
I work star tribune 40 some i left because i retired good place to work but different shifts and changes at the company during thier bank ruptcy and cut backs still good place to work
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Place to work
Newspaper Assembler (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 22, 2017
I like working for the Star Tribune because its a great place to learn new skills and to building a great relationship with others. I like how I can work my schedule out with them as well.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
very satisfying work place
Mail-room Inserter (Current Employee) –  800 1st st. N,Minneapolis,MN,55401May 23, 2017
Working at Star Tribune involves good time management and team work skills. Full customer satisfaction is a number one priority at Start Tribune.This is the main reason why Start Tribune is the largest and the most successful newspaper company in Minnesota. This makes it a great privileging to be part of Start Tribune.
Was this review helpful?Yes 2No 2Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Newspaper Delivery
Newspaper Carrier (Former Employee) –  MinnesotaMarch 27, 2017
Working for the Star Tribune was a challenging job due to the demands, the hours, the weather and sometimes the pay with consistant expenses of cost of repair. It is great service that they provide for some individuals of the Star Tribune.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Passible part time job
Mailer (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 28, 2017
Assembled the newspaper. Made sure paper inserter machine stayed running. Cleared out jams if it was not running. Also did inserts by hand. Minor janitorial duties.
Pros
Pay, co-workers.
Cons
Strict, ink, location, stay past scheduled hours, & managers.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its was interesing work
hand stuffing (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 27, 2017
The work is great to work and you get a freedom to work with you friends and coworkers. However, sometime the management is bad because they don't show much respect like other company does.
Pros
fun place to be working
Cons
the rrspect we don't get much
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Not a good place to work at.
Part Time Employee (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJanuary 4, 2017
My experience at the Star Tribune is horrible, and I have never felt so ungrateful and unappreciated by people that I'm working with now. The managers are rude and it's a horrible place to work at.
Was this review helpful?Yes 3NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great company, great people
Driver (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNSeptember 22, 2016
challenging but simple work, would recommend to anyone looking for a job or to further their career. learn customer service and technical Dot knowledge
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun work place with great MN values
Digital (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNAugust 4, 2016
The people here are really what makes it so great! I love the culture and the work-life balance presented. The new building is beautiful and there's so many options around the skyway. If you go around and talk to people, you will learn that many have been here over 20 or 30 years - I find that very attractive in an employer.

Benefits are great and compensation is fair! PTO is also nice, except you have to use it for Holidays, which is weird.
Pros
Culture, Flexibility, Community-focused
Cons
Departmental division, Resistance to change
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
co-workers were great and helpful
Sales and Distribution (Former Employee) –  Alexandria, MNAugust 1, 2016
Getting a call between 1:30-2:00 in the morning
Getting all my papers together
Loading my car with papers and going on my route to deliver to residence and companys in Alexandria, Carlos, Parkers and MIltona.

Total mileage was a hundred miles a day to deliver to residence and companys that wanted the star tribune every morning.
Pros
Working early morning have me all day for appointments and life
Cons
Getting up in the middle of the night
Was this review helpful?Yes 3No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great locally owned company that provides strong ROI for clients
Advertising Account Executive (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNJuly 28, 2016
Typical day starts in the office for internal meetings and to prep for the day. The remainder of the day is out of the office, meeting with clients throughout the Twin Cities.

The sales team is collaborative, creative, fun, energetic, and works hard. The management team is supportive and listens to feedback from their teams.
Pros
Advertising products drive results for clients, Local-supportive management, Great co-workers Innovative Products
Cons
The new downtown office is beautiful, but can be difficult to get in an out. Parking can be expensive, but they do offer $45 a month towards parking.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
sorry but nothing good about that job
Machine operator (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 27, 2016
i'm trying my best do not say anything bad , but those people don't respect your breaks, and they don't care about your life outside work, it's a part time job, and they will always force you to stay even if your shift end, and if you refuse you will be the bad guy .
Pros
free lunches durning the holidays
Was this review helpful?Yes 8NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
great
Intern (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMarch 3, 2016
great. awesome. no big cons. great place to be. awesome people. great location. heart of downtown. older population but they're great people.
Was this review helpful?Yes 1NoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Liked working here very much, liked the variety of job duties,good mentoring from piers
Customer Service Representative (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNFebruary 4, 2016
Good place to work,friendly,helpful people. Management easy to work with and helpful, also co-workers. Extra incentives and contests for achieving service goals. I learned how to do payroll and how to manage and prepare our teams workload for the week. This was probably the hardest part of the job. The most enjoyable part was the variety of the work.
Pros
friendly, helpful staff
Cons
having to work a weekend shift
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun
Cleaner (Current Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNNovember 22, 2015
for a every other week job this job is pretty handy and nice when it comes to quick money and the employees are nice to work with.
Pros
giving people
Cons
early morning
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good place to work hard
Custodian/Janitor (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MNMay 19, 2015
With increased production you need to be able to work hard and work continuously. If you just do what you're assigned, pay attention, and aren't you will do just fine.
Pros
Pay, work experience
Cons
Hours per week
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 1Report
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Excellent Company to work for.
Human Resources Director (Former Employee) –  Minneapolis, MN 55488May 5, 2015
Excellent Company to work for; great teamwork environment and commitment to the mission. Now located in a new building with very modern furniture, access to skyway, and up-to-date technology.
Cons
None
Was this review helpful?Yes 1No 2Report
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at Star Tribune Media Company, LLC.. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.8
Based on 42 reviews
513
416
35
26
12

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.1Compensation/Benefits
3.2Job Security/Advancement
3.4Management
3.5Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
2.6

2.5Personal Development

2.2Career Opportunities

2.8Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight

Star Tribune Media Company, LLC. Reviews by Location