State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company Employee Reviews

Sort by: Helpfulness | Rating | Date
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
State Farm
Account Manager (Former Employee) –  Akron, OHJune 20, 2018
Great culture. Great People. Great foundation and structure. Good work environment. Great customer service. Underwriters were fair. Service/products are good.
Pros
Foundation/Structure
Cons
No Benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
high expectations with excessive overtime
Auto Claims Specialist (Former Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 20, 2018
A typical day would be taking inbound calls, handling assigned tasks, taking recorded statements and handling disputed liability auto insurance claims.
Pros
Good Pay and Benefits
Cons
excessive overtime
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
claims
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  illinoisJune 20, 2018
overall the company is a good place to work, the people are good that we work with and the work can be rewarding when helping customers in need at the time of a loss
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
I would rather not talk at State Farm
Network Analyst (Former Employee) –  Bloomington, ILJune 20, 2018
Benefits are good.
Senior management needs to get a clue.
Lots of things going on now at State Farm.
Moral is not good
People leaving
Lots of turmoil
Pros
N/a
Cons
N/a
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fun and Growing Enviornment
Customer Service (Former Employee) –  Chicago, ILJune 20, 2018
At State Farm you learn how to better yourself in many areas. I have learned to be determined and hard working. To continue and push for a better result and purpose. I have learned to honestly help others in need and to give back to the community. The competitive environment helps with the drive to better yourself everyday while accomplishing goals. It was fun and innovating.
Pros
Coworkers
Cons
No benefits
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Productive work place
Claims Service Agent (Former Employee) –  Dunwoody, GAJune 20, 2018
State Farm is a great company to work for, they compensate very well and they make it a very comfortable environment to work in. The best job I ever had
Pros
Cafe
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
A good filler job
Call Center Representative (Former Employee) –  Greeley, COJune 20, 2018
Working in the call center at State Farm is a good filler job while you're looking for something better. They have decent benefits, but the pay is hardly worth putting up with the stress of having to meet certain metrics for call length, accuracy, number of calls taken, etc.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Be careful what agent you choose to work for
INSURANCE AGENT (Former Employee) –  South Florida, FLJune 20, 2018
The agent you work for with State Farm will make a huge difference in your career with the company. State Farm is one of the best to work for if you choose wisely.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Busy, challenging, productive workplace.
Office Assistant (Current Employee) –  Cary, ILJune 19, 2018
I call insured customers to make payments, make cold calls to get customers. Learned a lot about insurance. Hardest part is their computer system, older. Also, very minimal training - learn on your own or the hard way. Most enjoyable is the co-workers, they are awesome.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Its a very detailed job
Customer Service Representative (Current Employee) –  Jacksonville, FLJune 19, 2018
Customer focused job customer oriented. Very strict on attendance and tardies. over all great place to work . Holiday pay and swap board very effective for work life balance
Pros
pay and vacation time 401 k
Cons
breaks
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Great Company
Underwriting Assistant (Former Employee) –  Dunwoody, GAJune 19, 2018
Great place to work. Loved my supervisor and the benefits were excellent. They really know work/life balance. The commute is kind of long if you don't live in the area but it is accessible.
Pros
Nothing bad to say about this place. They value their employees
Cons
Long commute
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Get ready for Training
Auto Underwriter (Current Employee) –  Phoenix, AZJune 19, 2018
Constant training, need to meet/exceed daily goals, salary is not competitive, little to no opportunity to advancement, vacation days and benefits are fair.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Use to be a great company
Advise and counsel (Current Employee) –  Tempe, AZJune 19, 2018
Tis use to be a great company to work for- we now have a bean counter in charge and the customer relationship and caring about employees has diminished. Other companies had record breaking bonus times this year- not us....I was surprised we didn't have to pay the company.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
She is not what she used to be
manager (Current Employee) –  Atlanta, GAJune 19, 2018
This company is not the company I joined. I am dissatisfied with how we treat the customer and the employee.

The benefits are average and provide well for families.
Pros
paid benefits, generous PTO allotment
Cons
customer appreciation, work/life balance, upper leadership accountability.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Fast paced problem solving environment
CLAIM SPECIALIST - FIELD ASSIGNMENT (Former Employee) –  Dallas, TXJune 19, 2018
Claims is a high stress environment with daily conflict interaction. You need to have not only technical knowledge but also knowledge for customer interaction and conflict resolution.
Pros
Good salary
Cons
uncertainity for positions not located in the major hub offices
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
It was a good company to work for.
Office Manager (Former Employee) –  Plainfield, NJJune 19, 2018
My agent owner was a great person to work for, she allow me to grow and to advance to position of Office Manager. She took all my ideas into consideration and allow me to run her business as if it was my own. I am grateful to her for that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Better places to work
Customer Service Associate (Former Employee) –  New York, NYJune 19, 2018
Quality of environment was sad and depressing.
Finding myself working for such place made me realized how many companies out there take advantage of hard working people and the need of these working people of having a roof and food for their families make them work at places like that.
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
n/a
Claims Associate (Current Employee) –  Richardson, TXJune 19, 2018
the worst company to work for. they treat everyone just like a number. your life doesn't matter only the numbers matter. customer service doesn't even matter
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Independent agents run their office how they want to run their office
Team Member/Sales Associate (Former Employee) –  Genoa, ILJune 19, 2018
I loved the company State Farm but the independent agent I worked for made illogical decisions for the customer so I ended working for him. I assumed all State Farm agents operated a fully ethical operation but learned that each agent creates their own business to satisfy their own personal goals.
Pros
exciting career
Cons
independent agents are too independent
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Job Work/Life Balance
Compensation/Benefits
Job Security/Advancement
Management
Job Culture
Would Not Recommend - State Farm Insurance
Auto Claims Representative (Former Employee) –  Tempe, AZJune 18, 2018
Poor Leadership. Many changes within Claims Dept that simply do not make sense. Lack of reasonable Work/Life Balance. Reduction In Force. Company is losing many Insured Policies
Was this review helpful?YesNoReport
Claimed Profile

Want to know more about working here?

Ask a question about working or interviewing at State Farm Mutual Automobile Insurance Company. Our community is ready to answer.

Ask a Question

Overall rating

3.9
Based on 7,353 reviews
52.8K
42.1K
31.5K
2528
1382

Ratings by category

3.7Work/Life Balance
3.6Compensation/Benefits
3.4Job Security/Advancement
3.5Management
3.6Culture

Ratings from women

InHerSight Score
3.0

3.0Personal Development

3.5Career Opportunities

2.7Family Support

Women rate the female-friendliness of their workplaces on InHerSight